Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T4.149527
Best-selling author Chris d'Lacey brings us a magical story about mysterious hand crafted clay dragons who have unusual powers.

When David moves in with Liz and Lucy, he discovers a collection of hand crafted, clay dragons that comes to life and has magical powers. David's personalized dragon, Gadzooks, can forecast the future, and inspires him to write a story which reveals the truth behind an unsolved mystery close to home. The story has an unhappy ending, and when David realizes the consequences of it he is angry. Then David finds Gadzooks crying and near death, and he discovers that these special dragons die when they are not loved. Soon David is forced to save his friend and unlock the powers of the fire within.

Don't miss Chris d'Lacey's addition to his rich dragon mythology in his next series, The Erth Dragons!
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on May 1, 2005 by Orchard Books
ISBN-10: 0439672430
ISBN-13: 9780439672436
44 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • RajThursday, January 31, 2019 at 8:34 am
    Really nice,very suspicious book
    • drac
      dracTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 4:53 pm55 stars
      I already read this book and I read this book because I love mythical creatures {especially dragons!}, fantasy, and fiction. If you are a dragon slayer or are afraid of dragons, I'm the one to talk to.
      • donutWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 10:27 am
        i like the fire ascending best!
        • donutWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 10:21 am
          you forgot to mention "the dragons of wayward crescent
          • donutWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 10:18 am
            read the entire series #loved it #last dragon chronicles
            • .....ASaturday, September 8, 2018 at 1:03 pm
              Good book.
              • dragonfireboss
                dragonfirebossTuesday, June 26, 2018 at 9:03 am55 stars
                The book is the best. I read it when I was in 3rd or 4th grade. I love anything dragon's!! There so cool. I totaly recomend it.
                • 25evie
                  25evieFriday, March 9, 2018 at 6:03 am
                  omg i loveeeeeeeeee dragons sooooooooo i really want it so that way i can read it then give it to my mom to read then ill give it to the public libary
                  • mrskull99
                    mrskull99Thursday, February 8, 2018 at 9:32 am44 stars
                    i like it bc its really good but it went off doing some thing ells but its good im reading the other one cant wait to read it
                    • musefehawa
                      musefehawaMonday, October 30, 2017 at 11:15 am55 stars
                      I loved this book! It was very entertaining and the last day I read it, I did not want to stop.