The False Prince (The Ascendance Trilogy, Book 1)

Book 1 of 3 in the Ascendance Trilogy Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.176938
In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king's long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner's motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword's point -- he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage's rivals have their own agendas as well.

As Sage moves from a rundown orphanage to Conner's sumptuous palace, layer upon layer of treachery and deceit unfold, until finally, a truth is revealed that, in the end, may very well prove more dangerous than all of the lies taken together.

An extraordinary adventure filled with danger and action, lies and deadly truths that will have readers clinging to the edge of their seats.
Library Binding, 352 pages
Published on February 1, 2013 by Turtleback
ISBN-10: 0606314911
ISBN-13: 9780606314916
66 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pandarule6
    pandarule6Sunday, November 3, 2019 at 7:26 pm55 stars
    Favorite book of all time!
    • mimiv
      mimivThursday, October 17, 2019 at 11:47 am55 stars
      I really loved this book because it was very interesting. Sage the main character and was recruited by Connor to make an evil plan to lie to the kingdom. Conner also took some other boys and there are battle to win because if they don't then something bad will happen to them.
      • reader_red
        reader_redSaturday, August 17, 2019 at 8:24 am44 stars
        Sage is an orphan that was is recruited by Conner, a nobleman of the court. In order to survive Sage must work hard to try to be picked to be the long-lost prince. But Sage has a mysterious past.
        • queen_luna
          queen_lunaTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 4:25 pm55 stars
          I loved this book sooo much! It is an incredible story with so much adventure and mystery. The ending will leave you breathless and wanting more.
          • reader_red
            reader_redFriday, May 25, 2018 at 3:46 pm44 stars
            This was really fun. I really liked the whole series but I had one problem with the first book. I got really upset when the sort of bad guy cruelly killed someone. Other than that this book was great!
            • tia9
              tia9Thursday, January 11, 2018 at 11:50 am55 stars
              This is one great book!Sage is a orphan living in an orphanage when Bevin Conner a noble takes him from the orphanage and he is forced to change his way of living and live in a world of lies.A story with twists and turns as you meet new characters and deaths.A relationship here and a fight here.If you like a book full of suspense,suprise,and wonders.If you like Percy Jackson I reccomend this book for you!
              • SCARLET Sunday, November 19, 2017 at 3:23 pm
                LOLOL
                • scarletnews101
                  scarletnews101Monday, November 13, 2017 at 5:37 pm
                  So far, one person got killed (sorry for the spoiler) and the main character has a really clever mind. Quit like myself (If I do say so)
                  • brain2145
                    brain2145Tuesday, March 28, 2017 at 6:41 pm44 stars
                    This was a great book on the whole. Sage is an orphan who fled from Avenia, the neighbouring country next to Carthya. He lives in an orphanage, the only reason he's allowed to stay that he thieves to give to the headmistress. But suddenly his life flips upside down as a rich noble, Bevin Conner takes him away for unknown reasons that he will soon find out. A story that leaves you puzzled a bit with the uncertain friendships and *cough*other*cough*stuff but altogether satisfied at the end.
                    • babybunny02
                      babybunny02Saturday, July 9, 2016 at 6:24 pm
                      This is one of my favorite back time-ish books, I can't get enough! I'm amazed that someone would come up with the idea to IMPERSONATE a royal, but everything worked out since Sage was the "winner" of sorts. I've probably read this book 6 or 7 times all the way through, but i still have the parts I love.