The Ersatz Elevator (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 6)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V6.639933

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.

Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on February 1, 2001 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064408647
ISBN-13: 9780064408646
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bizetlavender
    bizetlavenderWednesday, September 18, 2019 at 6:56 am55 stars
    this is one of the best book of the series!! I highly recommend the series to anyone who likes realistic fiction/mistery.
    • wolfchildren
      wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:08 pm55 stars
      9 year old: Best book series ever, but Count Olaf is a jerk. Lemony Snicket has lots of great books, but this series is my favorite. 7 year old: I liked it, because we read it together. 12 year old: It is the best book series, Lemony Snicket is a great author. Mom: Reading this series together as a family was incredible. We paused and discussed theories so much. We did end up watching both the film and Netflix show after, neither do the series justice, but it was fun to see how film portrayed our favorite series of all time.
      • hedgeguin2
        hedgeguin2Friday, June 14, 2019 at 10:50 am55 stars
        The Ersatz Elevator is about the Baudelaire children. They go to live with their parent’s friends before they died. At first, the Baudelaires are quite excited, but soon realize their life isn’t good here either. Count Olaf is hiding the Quagmire triplets, and when he shows up, the Baudelaires do everything they can to save them. Count Olaf escapes, but the Baudelaire orphans skills will help them through all of Count Olaf’s skills! This book is great for anyone who likes mystery and unfortunate events! :P
        • gymzonia
          gymzoniaMonday, March 18, 2019 at 7:58 pm44 stars
          This book is good. it introduces other important main characters. There are a lot of exciting moments and a lot of adventure in this book.
          • YoboypizzaThursday, October 11, 2018 at 6:15 am
            Good book but I don’t no know how to read
            • bookwormilg
              bookwormilgMonday, July 9, 2018 at 7:50 am55 stars
              I loved this book SO much!!! It has to be my favorite in the series after the Penultimate Peril. I love Esme and Jerome Squalor, and Count Olaf's most recent disguise! Great book, great series!
              • wiccanbat666
                wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:20 pm55 stars
                This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
                • 23unicorncat
                  23unicorncatTuesday, April 24, 2018 at 9:41 am55 stars
                  so far halfway
                  • Alex S.Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 8:40 am
                    This book was amazing. It had everything: black comedy, comedy, sad, exciting. It was just amazing and i couldn't put it down.
                    • dogethefighter
                      dogethefighterFriday, February 2, 2018 at 9:10 am55 stars
                      awesomeness to the end really good on Lemony Snicket