Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.9101794
"A strong . . . new trilogy, invoking just a little Harry Potter and Series of Unfortunate Events along the way."—Realms of Fantasy

Siblings Kate, Michael, and Emma have been in one orphanage after another for the last ten years, passed along like lost baggage.

Yet these unwanted children are more remarkable than they could possibly imagine. Ripped from their parents as babies, they are being protected from a horrible evil of devastating power, an evil they know nothing about.

Until now.

Before long, Kate, Michael, and Emma are on a journey through time to dangerous and secret corners of the world . . . a journey of allies and enemies, of magic and mayhem. And—if an ancient prophesy is true—what they do can change history, and it's up to them to set things right.


"A new Narnia for the tween set."—The New York Times


"[A] fast-paced, fully imagined fantasy."—Publishers Weekly


"Echoes of other popular fantasy series, from "Harry Potter" to the "Narnia" books, are easily found, but debut author Stephens has created a new and appealing read . . ."—School Library Journal, Starred Review
Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on April 5, 2011 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375868704
ISBN-13: 9780375868702
62 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jynyhivafi
    jynyhivafiWednesday, September 27, 2017 at 8:02 am55 stars
    this book is good. its about 3 orphans who try to find out there parents history and where they are if i say anymore its spoiling it its not just about that
    • ;pMonday, March 6, 2017 at 6:51 am
      this sounds really good
      • birdfantasy
        birdfantasySunday, March 5, 2017 at 5:13 pm44 stars
        im still reading this but if you like fantasy, this is the book
        • caramelcorn
          caramelcornThursday, December 4, 2014 at 1:03 pm
          My friend told me to get this book. I haven't read that much, but it's REALLY good so far. A bit confusing, but still really good.
          • flores101
            Miss FloTuesday, September 30, 2014 at 4:23 pm55 stars
            My class loved this book so I read it myself it is a great book for middle schoolers. I enjoyed this book a lot.Thank you.
            • chocolatecandy5
              chocolatecandy5Tuesday, September 30, 2014 at 2:17 pm
              This book seams interesting. When I look at the cover it looks interesting to read so I think it is a very good book to read.
              • asma234
                asma234Saturday, September 27, 2014 at 9:59 am22 stars
                This book was pretty interesting,and adventurous.It's about 3 orphans who's parent's had to leave them because of a power they didn't want hem to find out about.They are taken to orphanage after orphanage.They start finding out about the powers there parent's where hiding from them.It kind of reminded me of A Series or Unfortunate event's.I do think the author could have been more original.It would have made the book really cool and interesting.
                • mydogdiva2
                  mydogdiva2Saturday, September 27, 2014 at 7:46 am44 stars
                  : Similar to the Percy jackson series I loved the adventure. THank you dogo books for giving me this amazing book. I would recommend this book to all.
                  • redheadperson22
                    redheadperson22Tuesday, September 16, 2014 at 7:09 pm22 stars
                    What I thought of it: I started this book, but I couldn't finish it. First of all, it was VERY cliché. It's about 3 orphans who's parents have abandoned them, but they think their parents are eventually coming back to them. Kate (the oldest) tries to be all responsible one and whatnot, because she's the oldest and her mom told her to take care of siblings (kind of like Violet Baudelaire). Michael is the middle child and he's a nerd who likes to read and wears glasses (remind you of Clause Baudelaire?). Emma is the youngest and she's somewhat rude and kind of pugnacious (a little bit like Sunny Baudelaire). So this book basically seemed like A Series of Unfortunate Events and The Sisters Grimm smashed together. I couldn't really get past that, and that's why I didn't finish it. It just couldn't hold my attention. A lot of other people probably liked it, but it just wasn't for me.
                    • super
                      superMonday, September 15, 2014 at 1:32 pm33 stars
                      I recently read this book. It was good. It didn't take me long to read/. It seemed to be a relatively easy read. The book seemed to be aimed at an age group slightly younger than mine. But I do recommend it.