The Ember Stone: A Branches Book (The Last Firehawk #1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 1 - 3Grades 2 - 3n/an/an/a
Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and stamina. Branches books help readers grow!

A terrible darkness is spreading across Perodia. Thorn, a powerful vulture, is using dark magic (and his dark army of spies!) to destroy the magical land. A young owl named Tag may be the only one who can save it! Tag dreams of one day becoming a brave warrior, but he is small . . . In this first book, Tag and his best friend -- a squirrel named Skyla -- meet the last firehawk. Together, the three friends learn about a magical stone. Could this stone be powerful enough to defeat Thorn? This action-packed series makes a great introduction to fantasy and quest stories for newly independent readers. Realistic black-and-white artwork appears on every page!

Paperback, 96 pages
Published on September 26, 2017 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 1338122134
ISBN-13: 9781338122138
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pizzagirl7
    pizzagirl7Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 11:02 am33 stars
    Tag is trying very hard to become an owl of valor . But he is the smallest one and no one thinks he could do it. Now a crazy powerful vulture (Thorn is his name ) is trying to destroy perodia! . skyla is Tags best friend one day they are together ..and they find a big golden egg that's very hot .it is in a batcave so they try to rescue it from the bats and they take it by a tree where they sleep for the night . They wake up and around they is on fire and they freak out ! They they put out the fire. They didn't know that firehawks hatch in fire. skyla thinks its a firehawk since it did hatch in fire and it had a big hot , crazy looking egg . but tag doesn't think so .but they figure out it's a firehawk so they name is blaze . And are trying to bring it to safety. It's a pretty good book . I rate it 3/5 stars . I actually won this from dogo a long time ago. ( thank u dogo. ) I recommend this to all ages . - Pizzagirl7 😉
    • dlight18
      dlight18Saturday, April 4, 2020 at 3:55 pm55 stars
      This book is about an owl named Tag that wants to become an Owl of Valor. He finds a golden egg. Tag and his friend go on a mission to find the Ember Stone to prevent Thorn from taking over Valor. I liked when the firehawk flew in the volcano. I thought this book was exciting and recommend for 1st graders and up. 4.5-5/5 stars. I wish it was longer!
      • dlight18
        dlight18Saturday, April 4, 2020 at 3:49 pm55 stars
        This book is about an owl that wants to become an Owl of Valor. He finds a golden egg. He and his friend go on a mission to find the ember stone to prevent Thorn from taking over Valor. I liked when the firehawk flew in the volcano. It is an exiting book. I recommend it for 1st grade and up rate it 4/5 stars. I wish the book was longer.
        • pizzagirl7
          pizzagirl7Monday, June 3, 2019 at 1:24 pm33 stars
          Tag and skyla are best friends and one day they are together ❤ and they find a big golden egg and it is very hot.it is in a batcave so they try to rescue it from the bats and they take it by a tree where they are going to sleep.they wake up and around they is on fire and they freak out and put it out (it turns out that firehawks hatch in fire ) 🔥🔥 🔥 skyla thinks its a firehawk but tag doesn't think so .but they figure out it's a firehawk and they name it blaze .it is a good book . 😃 I recommend to 8 to 12 year olds and I rate this book 4/5 stars 😁 😁 😁
          • DrakeWednesday, February 6, 2019 at 1:57 pm
            I like this book a lot. I am on third grade.
            • unicorn992
              unicorn992Thursday, January 4, 2018 at 6:41 pm
              this is a really good book and i recommend it to other readers, but before i got it i expected it to be bigger. but it is still a very good book!
              • pizzagirl7
                pizzagirl7Tuesday, November 14, 2017 at 1:09 pm33 stars
                I won this!thank you dogo!
                • borntoswim
                  borntoswimMonday, October 16, 2017 at 8:42 pm
                  this looks like such a fun series and I love fantasy books so it's perfect for me!!!
                  • unicorn992
                    unicorn992Friday, October 13, 2017 at 6:54 am
                    this looks like a good book and i love owls
                    • Justin Beirber1Thursday, October 12, 2017 at 7:04 am
                      The book is great and I am going to getting and I have too.