Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.874488

The second book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series, The Elite is a must-read for fans of fairy tales, The Bachelor, and dystopian YA fiction. This sequel to The Selection delivers even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, and will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Ally Condie's Matched, and Lauren Oliver's Delirium.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon’s heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever. But America Singer’s heart is torn. Is it Prince Maxon—and life as the queen—that she wants? Or is it still Aspen, her first love?

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on April 23, 2013 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062059963
ISBN-13: 9780062059963
38 Book Reviews
  • kittiesmama
    kittiesmamaFriday, January 22, 2021 at 11:48 am55 stars
    America is at the palace but so is Aspen she is secretly loving and hanging out with him while she tries to love maxon too but then something happens to her best friend in the selection and it makes her rethink everything.
    • sydney_zepp
      sydney_zeppWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 11:21 am55 stars
      This is the second book in the series "The Selection" by Kiera Cass. It is an amazing book by an awesome author! Again, get permission from an adult before reading as I said about the first one. America Singer has fallen in love with Prince Maxon, but she still can't shake her love for Aspen! Prince Maxon said she coupd go at any time she wanted, and he wasn't going to keep her there if she wanted to leave to go back to her family, but she doesn't. What's making it worse is that Aspen is a guard at the castle now! What is going to happen? Which one does she love enough to marry? Hiw about you guys read it to find out!!! It's a great book, and I think you would like this series, so if you get permission, go for it! : )
      • sydney_zepp
        sydney_zeppTuesday, October 13, 2020 at 7:00 am55 stars
        I so want to read this because the first book was soooooooo good!!!
        • kkgautamm
          kkgautammMonday, July 20, 2020 at 4:59 pm55 stars
          this was an amazing second book in the selection series!! the love triangle between aspen, america, and maxon is super intense, but its really enjoyable.
          • swirlycool
            swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:29 pm55 stars
            There were only six girls left in the competition. America Singer was one of them. She thought Maxon was what she wanted, however when Aspen appears at the palace as a soldier, America is unable to ignore her emotions towards him. She has trouble deciding between Maxon and Aspen. You could say she was having her own Selection. Will she decide her heart belongs with Maxon, or with who it always was with, Aspen? I rate this book 5/5, and recommend it to people who like the Hunger Games series. I also recommend it to people who enjoy dystopian and utopian novels.
            • girlpower4ever
              girlpower4everMonday, June 1, 2020 at 5:32 pm55 stars
              The second installment of Kiera Cass's "The Selection" series is every bit as beautiful as the first. Even though she is now one out of six of the Elite left in the Selection to compete for Maxon's hand in marriage, America's feelings are still muddled. Aspen, her childhood lover, and Maxon both love her and are seemingly oblivious to the others' affection for her. Meanwhile, America is stuck in the love triangle, trying to reassure herself that she has time, but the clock is ticking. As America dances in Maxon's arms during the day and kisses Aspen at night, her confusion is at an all-time high, but when sudden events bring both men's flaws into light, America's internal struggle is harder than ever.
              • willow123goma
                willow123gomaSaturday, May 30, 2020 at 6:20 am44 stars
                This book is centered around America Singer, one of the Elite(The last six women trying to win Prince Maxon's heart) in the selection. This is an very romantic novel, and I would recommend it to anyone that is above the age of 12 or 13.
                • swirlycool
                  swirlycoolThursday, May 28, 2020 at 11:34 am55 stars
                  There were only six girls left in the competition. America Singer was one of them. She thought Maxon was what she wanted, however when Aspen appears at the palace as a soldier, America is unable to ignore her emotions towards him. She has trouble deciding between Maxon and Aspen. You could say she was having her own Selection. Will she decide her heart belongs with Maxon, or with who it always was with, Aspen? I rate this book 5/5, and recommend it to people who like the Hunger Games series. I also recommend it to people who enjoy dystopian and utopian novels.
                  • willow123goma
                    willow123gomaThursday, May 28, 2020 at 7:27 am44 stars
                    The girls that started up are down to 6, the elite, and are now competing for prince Maxon's hand. This is an amazing loves story and it made my heart beat as I read it. Please try it out! I thought it was really touching that America had devotion for Maxon, her family, and Illea, her country.
                    • jdoodles35
                      jdoodles35Tuesday, April 30, 2019 at 2:35 pm55 stars
                      I love this book!!!! How would one express love like this, you ask? I say, this book is magic in your hands.