Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.874488

The second book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series, The Elite is a must-read for fans of fairy tales, The Bachelor, and dystopian YA fiction. This sequel to The Selection delivers even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, and will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Ally Condie's Matched, and Lauren Oliver's Delirium.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon’s heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever. But America Singer’s heart is torn. Is it Prince Maxon—and life as the queen—that she wants? Or is it still Aspen, her first love?

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on April 23, 2013 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062059963
ISBN-13: 9780062059963
36 Book Reviews
  • kittiesmama
    kittiesmamaover 1 year55 stars
    America is at the palace but so is Aspen she is secretly loving and hanging out with him while she tries to love maxon too but then something happens to her best friend in the selection and it makes her rethink everything.
    • sokeefe_forever
      sokeefe_foreverover 1 year55 stars
      This is the second book in the series "The Selection" by Kiera Cass. It is an amazing book by an awesome author! Again, get permission from an adult before reading as I said about the first one. America Singer has fallen in love with Prince Maxon, but she still can't shake her love for Aspen! Prince Maxon said she coupd go at any time she wanted, and he wasn't going to keep her there if she wanted to leave to go back to her family, but she doesn't. What's making it worse is that Aspen is a guard at the castle now! What is going to happen? Which one does she love enough to marry? Hiw about you guys read it to find out!!! It's a great book, and I think you would like this series, so if you get permission, go for it! : )
      • sokeefe_forever
        sokeefe_foreveralmost 2 years55 stars
        I so want to read this because the first book was soooooooo good!!!
        • kkgautamm
          kkgautammabout 2 years55 stars
          this was an amazing second book in the selection series!! the love triangle between aspen, america, and maxon is super intense, but its really enjoyable.
          • swirlycool
            swirlycoolabout 2 years55 stars
            There were only six girls left in the competition. America Singer was one of them. She thought Maxon was what she wanted, however when Aspen appears at the palace as a soldier, America is unable to ignore her emotions towards him. She has trouble deciding between Maxon and Aspen. You could say she was having her own Selection. Will she decide her heart belongs with Maxon, or with who it always was with, Aspen? I rate this book 5/5, and recommend it to people who like the Hunger Games series. I also recommend it to people who enjoy dystopian and utopian novels.
            • girlpower4ever
              girlpower4everabout 2 years55 stars
              The second installment of Kiera Cass's "The Selection" series is every bit as beautiful as the first. Even though she is now one out of six of the Elite left in the Selection to compete for Maxon's hand in marriage, America's feelings are still muddled. Aspen, her childhood lover, and Maxon both love her and are seemingly oblivious to the others' affection for her. Meanwhile, America is stuck in the love triangle, trying to reassure herself that she has time, but the clock is ticking. As America dances in Maxon's arms during the day and kisses Aspen at night, her confusion is at an all-time high, but when sudden events bring both men's flaws into light, America's internal struggle is harder than ever.
              • swirlycool
                swirlycoolabout 2 years55 stars
                There were only six girls left in the competition. America Singer was one of them. She thought Maxon was what she wanted, however when Aspen appears at the palace as a soldier, America is unable to ignore her emotions towards him. She has trouble deciding between Maxon and Aspen. You could say she was having her own Selection. Will she decide her heart belongs with Maxon, or with who it always was with, Aspen? I rate this book 5/5, and recommend it to people who like the Hunger Games series. I also recommend it to people who enjoy dystopian and utopian novels.
                • jdoodles35
                  jdoodles35over 3 years55 stars
                  I love this book!!!! How would one express love like this, you ask? I say, this book is magic in your hands.
                  • dwightschrute
                    dwightschrutealmost 4 years55 stars
                    This is a great book and sequel to the selection. I really connected to the characters in this book and I feel like the relationships of all the characters of one another grow and change in ways that improve the series as a whole. would totally recommend this to anyone who is into the romance /dystopian /drama thing like me :)
                    • grapefruit
                      grapefruitover 4 years44 starsFeatured
                      In the 2nd book in the Selection series, the original 35 girls competing for the crown has been quickly narrowed down to six. America is still stuck in the worst situation. The Prince is cute and nice, yeah, but she can't let go of Aspen, who, unluckily for America, is chosen as a palace guard. Celeste is the mean girl, Marlee gets kicked out for making out with someone else, and Kriss is getting too much attention--many problems in the girls. The book was, overall, fast-paced and good, but it focuses too much on the (endless) rebel attacks and girlish quarrels. I give this 4 out of 5 stars. -grapefruitreviews