Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.874488

The second book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series, The Elite is a must-read for fans of fairy tales, The Bachelor, and dystopian YA fiction. This sequel to The Selection delivers even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, and will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Ally Condie's Matched, and Lauren Oliver's Delirium.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon’s heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever. But America Singer’s heart is torn. Is it Prince Maxon—and life as the queen—that she wants? Or is it still Aspen, her first love?

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on April 23, 2013 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062059963
ISBN-13: 9780062059963
35 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kkgautamm
    kkgautammMonday, July 20, 2020 at 4:59 pm55 stars
    this was an amazing second book in the selection series!! the love triangle between aspen, america, and maxon is super intense, but its really enjoyable.
    • swirlycool
      swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:29 pm55 stars
      There were only six girls left in the competition. America Singer was one of them. She thought Maxon was what she wanted, however when Aspen appears at the palace as a soldier, America is unable to ignore her emotions towards him. She has trouble deciding between Maxon and Aspen. You could say she was having her own Selection. Will she decide her heart belongs with Maxon, or with who it always was with, Aspen? I rate this book 5/5, and recommend it to people who like the Hunger Games series. I also recommend it to people who enjoy dystopian and utopian novels.
      • girlpower4ever
        girlpower4everMonday, June 1, 2020 at 5:32 pm55 stars
        The second installment of Kiera Cass's "The Selection" series is every bit as beautiful as the first. Even though she is now one out of six of the Elite left in the Selection to compete for Maxon's hand in marriage, America's feelings are still muddled. Aspen, her childhood lover, and Maxon both love her and are seemingly oblivious to the others' affection for her. Meanwhile, America is stuck in the love triangle, trying to reassure herself that she has time, but the clock is ticking. As America dances in Maxon's arms during the day and kisses Aspen at night, her confusion is at an all-time high, but when sudden events bring both men's flaws into light, America's internal struggle is harder than ever.
        • willow123goma
          willow123gomaSaturday, May 30, 2020 at 6:20 am44 stars
          This book is centered around America Singer, one of the Elite(The last six women trying to win Prince Maxon's heart) in the selection. This is an very romantic novel, and I would recommend it to anyone that is above the age of 12 or 13.
          • swirlycool
            swirlycoolThursday, May 28, 2020 at 11:34 am55 stars
            There were only six girls left in the competition. America Singer was one of them. She thought Maxon was what she wanted, however when Aspen appears at the palace as a soldier, America is unable to ignore her emotions towards him. She has trouble deciding between Maxon and Aspen. You could say she was having her own Selection. Will she decide her heart belongs with Maxon, or with who it always was with, Aspen? I rate this book 5/5, and recommend it to people who like the Hunger Games series. I also recommend it to people who enjoy dystopian and utopian novels.
            • willow123goma
              willow123gomaThursday, May 28, 2020 at 7:27 am44 stars
              The girls that started up are down to 6, the elite, and are now competing for prince Maxon's hand. This is an amazing loves story and it made my heart beat as I read it. Please try it out! I thought it was really touching that America had devotion for Maxon, her family, and Illea, her country.
              • jdoodles35
                jdoodles35Tuesday, April 30, 2019 at 2:35 pm55 stars
                I love this book!!!! How would one express love like this, you ask? I say, this book is magic in your hands.
                • dwightschrute
                  dwightschruteMonday, November 5, 2018 at 1:53 pm55 stars
                  This is a great book and sequel to the selection. I really connected to the characters in this book and I feel like the relationships of all the characters of one another grow and change in ways that improve the series as a whole. would totally recommend this to anyone who is into the romance /dystopian /drama thing like me :)
                  • grapefruit
                    grapefruitWednesday, January 10, 2018 at 3:14 am44 starsFeatured
                    In the 2nd book in the Selection series, the original 35 girls competing for the crown has been quickly narrowed down to six. America is still stuck in the worst situation. The Prince is cute and nice, yeah, but she can't let go of Aspen, who, unluckily for America, is chosen as a palace guard. Celeste is the mean girl, Marlee gets kicked out for making out with someone else, and Kriss is getting too much attention--many problems in the girls. The book was, overall, fast-paced and good, but it focuses too much on the (endless) rebel attacks and girlish quarrels. I give this 4 out of 5 stars. -grapefruitreviews
                    • Hannah RoachMonday, October 30, 2017 at 12:58 pm
                      This book was a great book i only read this book out of the books because it was the first one i found and everything that had happen in the book was great and a lot of wars happen and its easy to tell what the book is about after 3 chapters but its just a great book and i rec-emend everyone to read this book.