The Earth Dragon Awakes: The San Francisco Earthquake of 1906

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5S3.717371

A gripping portrait of the 1906 San Francisco earthquake by Laura Ingalls Wilder Award winner Laurence Yep.

When the quake subsides, Chin and Henry and their families are lucky to be alive. But now they must escape the fires that have broken out and find their way to safety–before it's too late.

Based on actual events and told from the alternating perspectives of two young friends, The Earth Dragon Awakes is a suspenseful novel about the 1906 San Francisco earthquake by Newbery Honor author Laurence Yep.

Paperback, 128 pages
Published on March 25, 2008 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060008466
ISBN-13: 9780060008468
7 Book Reviews
  • laceyi
    laceyiThursday, March 7, 2013 at 4:47 am55 stars
    this is a book about two families that are both in the the San Francisco earthquake of 1906.you will love reading this book and you won't want to put the book down and it will give u susspence.
    • mcmahp
      Mrs. McmahonFriday, March 1, 2013 at 7:08 pm55 starsFeatured
      I had not read much about this terrible event until I read this account. I loved the way the author wrote this story about two boys who were best friends who were caught in this earthquake. The author uses many similes and language that completely gives the reader such a sense that you are really there. It is well written and the chapters are short so it is an easy read.
      • tyquawn
        tyquawnThursday, February 28, 2013 at 12:53 pm55 stars
        this book was one of the best books I have ever read. I would reacamend it because it was about an earthquacke.
        • jeremyk
          jeremykThursday, February 28, 2013 at 12:39 pm44 stars
          earth dragon awakes is really a great book.even know the people in the story aren't real the deatles are very good
          • taliar
            taliarThursday, January 31, 2013 at 7:01 am
            i love the earth dragon awakes! it is about the earthquake of 1906 in SanFrancico. 2 families aerin danger! i love this book!
            • rebeccag
              rebeccagTuesday, January 29, 2013 at 3:41 pm55 stars
              This is a great historical fiction about the earthquake in San Francisco in 1906. The author does a good job describing the earthquake.
              • cordeliap
                cordeliapTuesday, January 29, 2013 at 3:27 pm55 stars
                i really liked the earth dragons awakens because it explained how bad the earthquake was and explained what happened to two family's in one chapter a time that's why i like the earth dragon awakens.