Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 8Grades 7 - 8n/a6.582762
In July 1942, thirteen-year-old Anne Frank and her family, fleeing the horrors of Nazi occupation, went into hiding in an Amsterdam warehouse. Over the next two years Anne vividly describes not only the daily frustrations of living in such close quarters, but also her thoughts, feelings and longings as she grows up. Her diary ends abruptly and tragically when, in August 1944, Anne and her family were all finally betrayed. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank remains the single most poignant story to emerge from the Second World War, and her diary has come to symbolize not only the horrors of the Holocaust but the strength of the human spirit in adversity.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on October 19, 2010 by Everyman's Library
ISBN-10: 0307594009
ISBN-13: 9780307594006
54 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gold3nglar3
    gold3nglar3Wednesday, November 18, 2020 at 10:53 am33 stars
    Okay, it takes me like 30 minutes to read two pages. There are so many pages, but the words are so small, so there are so many words on each page, but I want to learn more about Anne Frank, and what it was like to be a Jew that went into hiding. I'm sad that she had to die at such a young age though :(
    • willow123goma
      willow123gomaSunday, May 31, 2020 at 6:14 am55 stars
      This is the story of Anne Frank, a Jewish girl that tried to flee the Nazis with her family, and go into hiding. They endured persecution, hatred, constant fear, starvation, and sadness. Still, Anne finds a way to express her feelings inn a beautiful,hopeful way, without despairing. Although unfortunately most of the Frank family do not survive the holocaust, Otto, Anne's father, spreads her daughter's legacy,and we are able to understand what really happened during the holocaust. Although it is sad, if people don't educate themselves with it, history will repeat itself. Definitely read this book.( Anybody above the age of 11-12)
      • mhkgc235
        mhkgc235Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 12:36 pm55 stars
        omg this book is good!!
        • bookfan2008
          bookfan2008Friday, May 15, 2020 at 6:51 am55 stars
          You should read this book if you are jewish, I am! Ok so it's about a girl named Anne Frank. She is a writer that hid from the Nazsis during a world war. She has one sibling and she is a bit poor. She is also a bit German. She actually lived behind a closet bookshelf for some of her life until she became captured by police and got token to a very bad camp. This book is her diary! It talks about Anne's life in her perspection!
          • BookWormThursday, January 2, 2020 at 2:32 pm
            The first time I read “The Diary of a Young Girl” I was in the 2nd grade. I’ve always loved books, and this is one of the earliest books I remember completely falling in love with. I ended up reading it once more when I was older, and I highly recommend it.
            • BookLoverJDSunday, December 29, 2019 at 11:36 pm
              OUTSTANDING. I was left literally speechless when I finished reading it. I can't describe how I felt by words. Sad but amazing.
              • ohannameansFriday, May 24, 2019 at 6:39 am
                I am lerning about her now i am in 6th grade an I just took the quizz an it is very interesting and fun lerning about her
                • debbieWednesday, January 2, 2019 at 12:38 pm
                  great hope you enjoy
                  • unicorngirl65
                    unicorngirl65Thursday, August 9, 2018 at 8:02 pm55 stars
                    I learned about Anne Frank in the first day of 6,th grade it is so interesting
                    • ajg16
                      ajg16Wednesday, August 8, 2018 at 8:02 pm55 starsFeatured
                      First I must say...Read this book if you are 13 and older - Anne Frank was a young Jewish girl who was growing up at a time when Adolf Hitler was "in rule". Anne and her mother, father & sister - the Van Pels family - & Fritz Pfeffer loved in a little area behind her father's business called the Annex. Anne was such an amazing young girl who had love, compassion and hopefulness in her even if she fought with her family and felt sad and alone at times. Anne kept a diary for two years before she died in a prison camp after her and her family & friends were found. Nobody survived the Camps, except for Anne's father Otto Frank. I got sadder & sadder the closer I got to the end, even if it has been a long long time it hurt to see that people were treated a horrible way. Thank you for reading -Ajg15's Reviews