Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 8Grades 7 - 8n/a6.582762
In July 1942, thirteen-year-old Anne Frank and her family, fleeing the horrors of Nazi occupation, went into hiding in an Amsterdam warehouse. Over the next two years Anne vividly describes not only the daily frustrations of living in such close quarters, but also her thoughts, feelings and longings as she grows up. Her diary ends abruptly and tragically when, in August 1944, Anne and her family were all finally betrayed. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank remains the single most poignant story to emerge from the Second World War, and her diary has come to symbolize not only the horrors of the Holocaust but the strength of the human spirit in adversity.
Paperback, 144 pages
Published on January 27, 2017 by B Jain Publishers Pvt Ltd
ISBN-10: 8131936791
ISBN-13: 9788131936795
46 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • unicorngirl65
    unicorngirl65Thursday, August 9, 2018 at 8:02 pm55 stars
    I learned about Anne Frank in the first day of 6,th grade it is so interesting
    • ajg15
      ajg15Wednesday, August 8, 2018 at 8:02 pm55 starsFeatured
      First I must say...Read this book if you are 13 and older - Anne Frank was a young Jewish girl who was growing up at a time when Adolf Hitler was "in rule". Anne and her mother, father & sister - the Van Pels family - & Fritz Pfeffer loved in a little area behind her father's business called the Annex. Anne was such an amazing young girl who had love, compassion and hopefulness in her even if she fought with her family and felt sad and alone at times. Anne kept a diary for two years before she died in a prison camp after her and her family & friends were found. Nobody survived the Camps, except for Anne's father Otto Frank. I got sadder & sadder the closer I got to the end, even if it has been a long long time it hurt to see that people were treated a horrible way. Thank you for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
      • wiccanbat666
        wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 1:09 pm55 stars
        If only Anne Frank's diary was the figment of someone's imagination. If it meant that this spirited, intelligent and articulate girl hadn't died along with so many others in Belsen concentration camp, and that the holocaust had never happened, that would be a wonderful thing, but it did happen, and that makes the reading of this diary even more heartbreaking.
        • livlovesdogs
          livlovesdogsSunday, December 24, 2017 at 5:01 am44 stars
          Ok this was a really good book. Though it was sad, I really liked it. Stay away from tilt if you don't like sad stories!
          • allbla1718
            allbla1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 11:42 am55 stars
            i loved reading this book. It tells you what life was for the franks while in hiding from the nazis. In this book Anne tells you about her feelings her hopes her dreams she also rights storys. Anne shares her feelings about everyone she is hiding with
            • lemonpie101
              lemonpie101Friday, January 27, 2017 at 3:19 pm55 stars
              I'm sad that she had to stay in an attic, had to keep quiet and make no move for 2 years!!!!!😭
              • lemonpie101
                lemonpie101Friday, January 27, 2017 at 2:52 pm55 stars
                I'm reading it in class and I'm very fascinated by the book!
                • lil_lil101
                  lil_lil101Friday, November 4, 2016 at 2:11 pm
                  I have read because I love history but it is so sad defiantly ask your parents before you read and do not rread it to little kids
                  • kiwikat
                    kiwikatThursday, June 23, 2016 at 7:07 am
                    I'd think I would like this book. It sounds like it teleports you to the past.
                    • beanblob
                      beanblobThursday, June 23, 2016 at 6:28 am33 stars
                      I really love history, and historical fiction. This book was in the WWII time period and the perspective of a young jewish girl. This book reminds me of a real version of Odette's Secret.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Tess wrote:

                      You should read Ellies story
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      atrama
                      atrama wrote:

                      just read and is just as awesome...
                      The Curious World of Calpurnia Tate

                      #SCHOOLFORGOOD wrote:

                      This book is so good. I picked i...
                      The School for Good and Evil

                      #BOOKWORM wrote:

                      This is the BEST series ever!!! ...
                      Keeper of the Lost Cities

                      Our Apps and Plugins