The Maze Runner 3. The Death Cure. Movie Tie-In

Book 3 of 5 in the The Maze Runner Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.387385

Read the third book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The first book, The Maze Runner, is soon to be a major motion picture starring Dylan O’Brien, Kaya Scodelario, Thomas Brodie Sangster, Will Poulter, and Aml Ameen and hits theaters September 19, 2014!

It’s the end of the line.

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

Will anyone survive?

What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.

The truth will be terrifying.

Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all.

The time for lies is over.

Praise for the Maze Runner series:

“[A] nail-biting must-read.” —Seventeen.com

“Wonderful action writingfast-paced…but smart and well observed.” Newsday

“Breathless, cinematic action.” Publishers Weekly

“Heart-pounding to the very last moment.” Kirkus Reviews

“Exclamation-worthy.” Romantic Times

“Gripping reading.” Booklist


From the Hardcover edition.

Hardcover, 327 pages
Published on October 11, 2011 by Delacorte Press
ISBN-10: 0385738773
ISBN-13: 9780385738774
76 Book Reviews
  • sammmmmmmgracee
    sammmmmmmgraceeThursday, April 29, 2021 at 7:06 am55 stars
    I really enjoyed this book, the author dosent have my favorite writing style but he has an outstanding imagination and i felt so attatched to the characters and cried in class when Newts death came. I deffinetly liked this serries and do recomed to ages 8 to 13 and up i read this a couple of years ago and re read the serries two times because i enjoyed it so much the author deffinetly has a unique writing style.
    • swirlycool
      swirlycoolThursday, November 26, 2020 at 5:01 pm22 stars
      This book kinda made me regret reading the whole series because the ending was disappointing. I think the first book is better than the rest.
      • chromatic1
        chromatic1Monday, October 19, 2020 at 10:12 am55 stars
        very interesting series
        • woof0566
          woof0566Thursday, August 6, 2020 at 4:59 pm55 stars
          It's a really good book. There is a lot of action and it keeps me entertained.
          • lovetoread26
            lovetoread26Saturday, June 6, 2020 at 7:53 am55 stars
            I loved this book! The ending was sooooo good. Unfortunately, there was a fair amount of main character death in it. It has a lot of cliffhangers which is really nice. Thomas escapes from WICKED, along with many of his friends. Gally turns out to be good, and Newt turns into a Crank. WICKED tries to persuade Thomas to come back by saying that the cure will save Newt, but Thomas learns that WICKED won't get the cure done anytime soon. Thomas teams up with the Right Arm to trick WICKED, and he barely escapes death. He and his friends defeat WICKED, and Chancellor Ava Paige sends them to a peaceful place where she hopes they will be able to start a civilization. That is where the book ends, and I hope that the next one explains more about what happens in the peaceful place! I hope that you enjoy this book too.
            • devyn889
              devyn889Friday, January 31, 2020 at 8:49 am55 starsFeatured
              The Death Cure was an amazing book! It's got action, romance, sadness, and happiness. The Death Cure is about a boy named Thomas and his quest to find answers and a way out of the world WICKED has trapped him in. Thomas and his friends join up with an organization meant to take down WICKED. The book is full of unexpected things, so I won't give away too much. I disliked how Thomas and Brenda have such a close relationship. I wanted Teresa and Thomas to make it through together. Ther were so many good plots twists, though. I also liked how there was a cliffhanger at the end. It really made me want to read the next book. There were a lot of losses in this book. I loved how James Dashner really made me feel for the characters. I read this for a book club, and this book made us really question reality. I really loved this book, and I hope other readers will, too.
              • thepurpleshadow
                thepurpleshadowThursday, January 30, 2020 at 8:47 am44 stars
                I enjoyed the action and sorrow in this book. You do have to read the first two books however because if you don’t, you miss a lot of details. I was very upset by how it ended, as it is the last book in the series. At the end of this book, the epilogue helps to understand what just happened. I enjoyed this book, and I hope others do too!
                • Anonomyse Tuesday, October 1, 2019 at 8:29 pm
                  Love books read the series in a week, cliffhangers at the end of each book.
                  • pdfWednesday, April 24, 2019 at 1:35 pm
                    want to see move
                    • septembergirl
                      septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 7:05 pm55 stars
                      I always read fiction and thats ok because I find so many books that I love. I can never put these books down there so good.