When a bullying incident sends twelve year-old Nico Holland over the edge of a cliff into the icy waters of Still Cove, where no one ever goes, friends Tyler and Ella--and even “cool kid” Opal--rush to his rescue . . . only to discover an island hidden in the swirling mists below.

Shrouded by dense trees and murky tides, the island appears uninhabited, although the kids can't quite shake the feeling that something about it is off. Their suspicions grow when they stumble upon an abandoned houseboat with an array of curiosities inside: odd-looking weapons, unnerving portraits, maps to places they've never heard of, and a glass jar containing something completely unidentifiable.

As the group delves deeper into the unknown, their discoveries--and their lives--begin to intertwine in weird and creepy ways. Something ancient has awakened . . . and it knows their wishes and dreams--and their darkest, most terrible secrets. Do they have what it takes to face the shadowy things that lurk within their own hearts?

Told from Nico's and Opal's alternating points of view, this tale from bestselling duo Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs kicks off a suspenseful and spooky new series, perfect for fans of Stranger Things.

Paperback, 320 pages
Published on October 4, 2018 by Pan Macmillan
ISBN-10: 1529003954
ISBN-13: 9781529003956
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • rinf
    rinfFriday, October 12, 2018 at 11:24 am55 stars
    good book
    • edgarcFriday, October 12, 2018 at 7:40 am
      to be honest i did not like it
      • AshlynnTuesday, October 9, 2018 at 12:25 pm
        Good book
        • CAN I GETA HUYATuesday, October 2, 2018 at 5:51 pm
          IDK WHAT DO YOU THINK CAUSE I THINK THIS BOOK IS OK! PEOPLE SHOULD DEF READ THIS
          • veltraTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 3:00 pm
            I wanted this book sence I was a 6 year old
            • pumpkin40107
              pumpkin40107Tuesday, October 2, 2018 at 1:35 pm55 stars
              I think I want this book is that I could read it or give it to my family to read.
              • spacey030
                spacey030Tuesday, October 2, 2018 at 12:37 pm44 stars
                Good book would reccomend left me on my seat
                • unknownTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 11:51 am
                  its bad
                  • AnonymousTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 11:47 am
                    From the preview it shows above, the book looks amazing so far! I rate it 9/10!
                    • eliseimo
                      eliseimoTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 9:08 am44 stars
                      I really want to read this book!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      deweyduck
                      deweyduck wrote:

                      amazing story, amazing humor, am...
                      The Secret of the Fortune Wookie...

                      deweyduck
                      deweyduck wrote:

                      Great book, Great humor, Great f...
                      Blubber

                      24tfontana
                      24tfontana wrote:

                      I recommend reading this book be...
                      Catching Fire (The Hunger Games)

                      ash21
                      ash21 wrote:

                      Really good book I was hooked by...
                      Drama

                      Our Apps and Plugins