Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 3 - 4n/an/an/a
Leaving the safety of the demigod training ground, a disgraced Apollo embarks on a quest across North America to find a dangerous ancient-world Oracle while navigating the challenges of the evil Triumvirate.
Hardcover, 539 pages
Published on May 3, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1410495884
ISBN-13: 9781410495884
35 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tapipodokigohy
    tapipodokigohyFriday, March 29, 2019 at 9:34 am55 stars
    Rick Riordan is amazing at making sequels. The plot line is great at following the previous book. There are some cliffhangers (Rick Riordan is good at those). Making you love and hate the book and author at the same time. I enjoyed reading this book and hope you will too.
    • misterchief84
      misterchief84Monday, December 31, 2018 at 9:10 amFeatured
      This book is about Apollo-god of the sun, music, archery, poetry, and more- whose father, Zeus has punished him by casting him down to earth in the form of a gawky, acne-covered sixteen-year-old mortal named Lester. The only way Apollo can reclaim his rightful place on Mount Olympus is by restoring several Oracles that have gone dark. After experiencing a series of dangerous-and frankly, humiliating-trials at Camp Half-Blood, Lester has to leave the relative safety of the demigod training ground and embark on a hair-raising journey across North America. In Indiana, he and his companions find the most dangerous Oracle from ancient times: a haunted cave that holds answers for Apollo in his quest to become a god again. Standing in Apollo's way is Commodus, a Roman emperor whose love of bloodshed and spectacle makes even Nero look tame. To survive the encounter, Apollo gets the help of son of Hephaestus Leo Valdez, the now-mortal sorceress Calypso, the bronze dragon Festus, and other unexpected allies-some familiar, some new-from the world of demigods. This book is a harrowing, hilarious, and haiku-filled ride that I totally reccomend!
      • BartholomewMonday, November 26, 2018 at 6:46 am
        The Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy is an action novel about Greek mythology and the sequel to the Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan. In the book, Apollo gets sent down to fix the Dark Oracles and become a god again while being a 16 year old boy named Lester. Meanwhile, the antagonist Commodus tries to become the next Hercules and Apollo has to stop him. I think overall this book was pretty good. The characters were well developed. One criticism is that it’s really hard to understand unless you have read all of Rick Riordan’s books. The setting takes place in the modern day all over North America. I recommend this book for grade 6 and up. The book had a very artsy cover.I don’t think that this is one of Rick Riordan best books, but it was still good and I look forward to reading the sequel.
        • freckleface04
          freckleface04Monday, October 22, 2018 at 5:38 pm55 stars
          I decided to read this book because my friend's brother was reading it and he said it was good. I really enjoyed this book and love how Meg drags Apollo(Lester haha evil) around. ;)
          • septembergirl
            septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:54 pm44 stars
            These books are so good!! Rick Riordan is one of my favorite authors! I have to say though I still love Percy Jackson more.
            • raven772
              raven772Monday, April 23, 2018 at 12:01 pm55 stars
              I just finished the Heroes of Olympus series and I LOOOOVED it. I really hope Leo Valdez is in this series
              • willb2026
                willb2026Monday, January 22, 2018 at 2:41 pm55 stars
                it was absolutly awesome. action packed and full of funny parts
                • mybooksandi
                  mybooksandiSaturday, December 30, 2017 at 7:18 pm55 starsFeatured
                  Ahhhh…. My winter break read. Before we get started, I am just going to put it out there, Rick Riordan is an artist. (Speaking from an actual artist’s perspective). He writes with such flow and ease that it feels like he is simply moving a brush against a canvas. Too metaphorical? I know, I realized. My point is, is that Rick Riordan’s books are works of art. (Is that a better metaphor for you!?) His whole fandom is based on a sort-of fractured mythology. (That is a phrase that I just created). Now, let’s stop talking about the beautiful, enchanting works of Uncle Rick that I adore with a full passion, and start with TTOA; The Dark Prophecy. ***Characters*** As you all would know the main character is no other than (!) Lord Apollo himself, which you would know if you read the first book. In which case, WHAT THE HECK ARE YOU DOING READ THE FIRST BOOK (AND MY FABULOUS REVIEW). Apollo (or poor pimple-filled Lester) – Apollo (or Lester) was the sort of character that you could not-not like. I loved being in his first person mind and reading how his thoughts about puny mortals (which I certainly am not) changed throughout the novel. For example- “ ‘Let the girl go,’ I whimpered through the pain. ‘Kill me and let her go’ “ And then, after his life flashed before his eyes, he thought, “I surprised myself. These were not the last words I had planned.” Meg McCaffrey- Meg was pretty, um, outgoing? She was the kind of person that didn’t really care about what will happen to her. You could say that she was Lester’s (Apollo) sidekick? But technically by the book, he really is her servant. You know what, I cannot explain this in a review, so GO READ THE NOVEL! There were other characters out there like Leo, Calypso, Emmie, and that other lady that was with Emmie that I forgot her name. Was it Jorge? Joe? Yea, it was Joe. Oh, and you can’t forget my buddy Lit! JUST LISTEN TO ME AND READ THE BOOK, YOU’LL UNDERSTAND MY JIBBERING… ***Build-up*** As I said in my first paragraph, Uncle Rick’s wonderful world is completely amazing. I, if you do not already know, am a rising author. I am trying to type a wonderful, original novel. Rick Riordan is GOALS, his writing is (I repeat) magnificent. His writing flows like paint. HE IS AN ARTIST! Okay, I’ll stop with the art references. In all, I really enjoyed this winter read. It was completely amazing and entertaining. And now, I bestow upon you a five-star rating. Congratulations, you stole Lana’s heart.
                  • grapefruit
                    grapefruitThursday, January 4, 2018 at 3:41 am55 stars
                    Hi @mybooksandi let's just say: YOUR. REVIEW. IS. AMAZING. I have just pressed the follow button and let me just say again you are amazing at reviews. I LOVE the flair and fun in your review it is SO GOOD. Please follow me! We can be pals here :D -grapefruit
                    • turtlenicole
                      turtlenicoleTuesday, January 2, 2018 at 5:13 pm55 stars
                      brilliant review!
                    • booklover2017
                      booklover2017Saturday, December 30, 2017 at 5:33 pm55 stars
                      I literally finished this book yesterday. I like this series and it leaves me in suspense. I noticed that the books keep ending where Apollo is about to go on a quest.
                      • alien9098
                        alien9098Sunday, December 17, 2017 at 11:19 am55 stars
                        Percy Jackson is awesome and so is mortal Apollo!!!!!