Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 3 - 4n/an/an/a
Leaving the safety of the demigod training ground, a disgraced Apollo embarks on a quest across North America to find a dangerous ancient-world Oracle while navigating the challenges of the evil Triumvirate.
Hardcover, 539 pages
Published on May 3, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1410495884
ISBN-13: 9781410495884
40 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • magicalmythical
    magicalmythicalTuesday, August 4, 2020 at 8:40 am55 stars
    Loved this book so much!
    • the-odd1sout
      the-odd1soutFriday, July 31, 2020 at 7:41 am55 stars
      Wow. Great book!
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolFriday, July 10, 2020 at 2:01 pm55 starsFeatured
        Apollo has been turned into a mortal named Lester. In order to gain his godly form back, he must restore the Oracles, all while being under the command of Meg, the daughter of Demeter. They must defeat the evil Roman emperors who want to get the Oracles so they can influence and control the future. These Roman emperors are apart of the Triumvirate Holdings, which consists of Nero, Commodus, and Caligula. In this book, Apollo and Meg are joined by Calypso and Leo. Overall, I enjoyed this book and recommend it to people who like the Percy Jackson and the Heroes of Olympus series, or the Heroes of Olympus series. I rate this 5/5.
        • bucinegy-158515157526
          bucinegy-158515157526Wednesday, June 17, 2020 at 8:27 am
          i want to read it bad
          • big_bobby_2008
            big_bobby_2008Wednesday, December 4, 2019 at 2:43 pm55 starsFeatured
            This book is an amazing work of art. When Apollo is going on a flight with Leo Valdez and Calypso they experience dragon turbulence. Once they get to Indianapolis they start to find the Waystation. The people running the Waystation are 2 women called Josaphine and Mary. They are kind women that always help Apollo and his friends. Later on in the story, Apollo and his friends find Meg and her Karpos Peaches, but he is dangling from a football pole attached to a rope. Will Meg get her friend back? Will Apollo defeat the 3rd emperor? read the trials of Apollo to find out. I would recommend this book for 7th graders and higher-level readers in 6th grade.
            • tapipodokigohy
              tapipodokigohyFriday, March 29, 2019 at 9:34 am55 stars
              Rick Riordan is amazing at making sequels. The plot line is great at following the previous book. There are some cliffhangers (Rick Riordan is good at those). Making you love and hate the book and author at the same time. I enjoyed reading this book and hope you will too.
              • misterchief84
                misterchief84Monday, December 31, 2018 at 9:10 amFeatured
                This book is about Apollo-god of the sun, music, archery, poetry, and more- whose father, Zeus has punished him by casting him down to earth in the form of a gawky, acne-covered sixteen-year-old mortal named Lester. The only way Apollo can reclaim his rightful place on Mount Olympus is by restoring several Oracles that have gone dark. After experiencing a series of dangerous-and frankly, humiliating-trials at Camp Half-Blood, Lester has to leave the relative safety of the demigod training ground and embark on a hair-raising journey across North America. In Indiana, he and his companions find the most dangerous Oracle from ancient times: a haunted cave that holds answers for Apollo in his quest to become a god again. Standing in Apollo's way is Commodus, a Roman emperor whose love of bloodshed and spectacle makes even Nero look tame. To survive the encounter, Apollo gets the help of son of Hephaestus Leo Valdez, the now-mortal sorceress Calypso, the bronze dragon Festus, and other unexpected allies-some familiar, some new-from the world of demigods. This book is a harrowing, hilarious, and haiku-filled ride that I totally reccomend!
                • BartholomewMonday, November 26, 2018 at 6:46 am
                  The Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy is an action novel about Greek mythology and the sequel to the Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan. In the book, Apollo gets sent down to fix the Dark Oracles and become a god again while being a 16 year old boy named Lester. Meanwhile, the antagonist Commodus tries to become the next Hercules and Apollo has to stop him. I think overall this book was pretty good. The characters were well developed. One criticism is that it’s really hard to understand unless you have read all of Rick Riordan’s books. The setting takes place in the modern day all over North America. I recommend this book for grade 6 and up. The book had a very artsy cover.I don’t think that this is one of Rick Riordan best books, but it was still good and I look forward to reading the sequel.
                  • freckleface04
                    freckleface04Monday, October 22, 2018 at 5:38 pm55 stars
                    I decided to read this book because my friend's brother was reading it and he said it was good. I really enjoyed this book and love how Meg drags Apollo(Lester haha evil) around. ;)
                    • septembergirl
                      septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:54 pm44 stars
                      These books are so good!! Rick Riordan is one of my favorite authors! I have to say though I still love Percy Jackson more.