Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 5 - 8V4.458423
A confection of a novel, combining big city sophistication with small town charm.

When her mother moves them from the city to a small town to open up a cupcake bakery, Penny?s life isn?t what she expected. Her father has stayed behind, and Mom isn?t talking about what the future holds for their family. And then there?s Charity, the girl who plays mean pranks almost daily. There are also bright spots in Hog?s Hollow?like Tally, an expert in Rock Paper Scissors, and Marcus, the boy who is always running on the beach. But just when it looks as though Penny is settling in, her parents ask her to make a choice that will turn everything upside down again. A sweet novel about love, creativity, and accepting life?s unexpected turns.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on September 17, 2009 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0525421572
ISBN-13: 9780525421573
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • GirlyTiger13Friday, January 15, 2016 at 9:18 am
    This book looks so cool!!
    • Rachel KeitaFriday, January 15, 2016 at 7:26 am
      I did not read this book, but I love cupcakes! This would be the perfect book for me! Plus, it is a chapter book!
      • cheetahluver
        cheetahluverThursday, January 14, 2016 at 5:51 pm44 stars
        The Cupcake Queen is about a girl named Penny who moves from big-city NY to Hog's Hollow. She has trouble fitting in, thanks to Charity and her group of followers, but soon earns many important friends, including Tally, the unique one, and Marcus, the mysterious guy. Having to deal with her parent's recent divorce and large orders from her mother's cupcake shop, it sometimes feels like everything is falling apart. But Penny grows to love Hog's Hollow. Will she leave, or stay? This is a good book, and fun to read, but I felt that it could have been written better. I DO recommend it though.
        • ajjeanette
          ajjeanetteSaturday, November 22, 2014 at 9:39 pm
          This story I can really relate to because Penny had to move from the big apple to hogs hollow, a small town. I moved from New Jersey to North Carolina.
          • lchen
            lchenSaturday, May 16, 2015 at 6:32 pm55 stars
            Me too I moved from a big city to a small town
          • thomas_girl101
            thomas_girl101Thursday, October 30, 2014 at 7:32 am55 stars
            I chose to read this book because I love to bake and cook and I wondered what the book was about. It wasn't what I thought it was going to be, but I LOVE it!!! I hope you enjoy it too!
            • smanning
              Ms. ManningThursday, June 19, 2014 at 6:32 pm
              Level U/V
              • gymnastluv2253
                gymnastluv2253Sunday, April 13, 2014 at 1:22 pm55 stars
                I love this book! Has a lot of drama but you will totally like Penny a lot! You OF COURSE should read this because who doesn't love cupcakes and fun?
                • gymnastgirl5683
                  gymnastgirl5683Saturday, January 4, 2014 at 8:34 am55 stars
                  I love this book! It is full of drama and is very exciting. I would recommend it to all girls. Please read this book it is very good!
                  • rozeb
                    rozebMonday, December 16, 2013 at 3:27 pm33 stars
                    This book was good. It talked a lot about boyfriend-girlfriend kind of stuff, which is fine, but not particularly something I really love in a book. At the beginning, I wasn't so sure about this book, but it was a good book all in all.
                    • gymnasticsluv23
                      gymnasticsluv23Saturday, October 5, 2013 at 6:08 am55 stars
                      I loved this book it was very well written and had lots of drama in it. I really recommend this book to anybody of any age. Please read this book it is really good! P.S. I love cupcakes!