The Crossover

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X4.316888

2015 Newbery Medal Winner
2015 Coretta Scott King Honor Award Winner
New York Times Bestseller



"With a bolt of lightning on my kicks . . .The court is SIZZLING. My sweat is DRIZZLING. Stop all that quivering. Cuz tonight I’m delivering," announces dread-locked, 12-year old Josh Bell. He and his twin brother Jordan are awesome on the court. But Josh has more than basketball in his blood, he's got mad beats, too, that tell his family's story in verse, in this fast and furious middle grade novel of family and brotherhood from Kwame Alexander.


Josh and Jordan must come to grips with growing up on and off the court to realize breaking the rules comes at a terrible price, as their story's heart-stopping climax proves a game-changer for the entire family.

Paperback
Published on November 5, 2015 by Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN-10: 1783443677
ISBN-13: 9781783443673
26 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • domanikWednesday, March 15, 2017 at 6:25 am
    i like this book
    • domanikWednesday, March 15, 2017 at 6:22 am
      This book is asom
      • ;)Tuesday, March 14, 2017 at 5:45 pm
        great book
        • AwesomesauceFriday, March 10, 2017 at 2:20 pm
          This book is amazing, I also like basketball, even though i am bad at it!
          • BFFTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:06 am
            best book ever
            • dabWednesday, November 30, 2016 at 12:25 pm
              it was so awesome
              • c-breezy
                c-breezyWednesday, November 30, 2016 at 11:33 am55 stars
                This book is about 2 brothers who are trying to win the Champions, There Father ended up passing away and that made them strive even more. I recommend this book to people who LOVE basketball like me. I say this because it really makes you think about the reason to play and why you want to play it.
                • genouisking
                  genouiskingThursday, November 10, 2016 at 11:15 am55 stars
                  I like this book because Josh or filthy says cool rhythm when he plays Basketball and Jordan cares about Josh.
                  • genouisking
                    genouiskingThursday, November 10, 2016 at 10:56 am55 stars
                    Crossover is one of my favorite books because the rhythm is really good. I like this book because I like Josh nickname filthy.
                    • Jack4isuFriday, October 14, 2016 at 10:48 am
                      Crossover is a great book it is exiting sad and has good rhythm by pages. I could read this book over and over and over it is that good of a book! And once you are done reading that there is a second book to the series, Booked

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      coco wrote:

                      Book reviews are in! There are ...
                      The Wearle (The Erth Dragons #1)

                      bookgeek101

                      It kept me reading even through ...
                      Hunger Games Trilogy (3 Book Ser...