The Crossover

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X4.316888

2015 Newbery Medal Winner
2015 Coretta Scott King Honor Award Winner
New York Times Bestseller



"With a bolt of lightning on my kicks . . .The court is SIZZLING. My sweat is DRIZZLING. Stop all that quivering. Cuz tonight I’m delivering," announces dread-locked, 12-year old Josh Bell. He and his twin brother Jordan are awesome on the court. But Josh has more than basketball in his blood, he's got mad beats, too, that tell his family's story in verse, in this fast and furious middle grade novel of family and brotherhood from Kwame Alexander.


Josh and Jordan must come to grips with growing up on and off the court to realize breaking the rules comes at a terrible price, as their story's heart-stopping climax proves a game-changer for the entire family.

Paperback
Published on November 5, 2015 by Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN-10: 1783443677
ISBN-13: 9781783443673
21 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • dabWednesday, November 30, 2016 at 12:25 pm
    it was so awesome
    • c-breezy
      c-breezyWednesday, November 30, 2016 at 11:33 am55 stars
      This book is about 2 brothers who are trying to win the Champions, There Father ended up passing away and that made them strive even more. I recommend this book to people who LOVE basketball like me. I say this because it really makes you think about the reason to play and why you want to play it.
      • genouisking
        genouiskingThursday, November 10, 2016 at 11:15 am55 stars
        I like this book because Josh or filthy says cool rhythm when he plays Basketball and Jordan cares about Josh.
        • genouisking
          genouiskingThursday, November 10, 2016 at 10:56 am55 stars
          Crossover is one of my favorite books because the rhythm is really good. I like this book because I like Josh nickname filthy.
          • Jack4isuFriday, October 14, 2016 at 10:48 am
            Crossover is a great book it is exiting sad and has good rhythm by pages. I could read this book over and over and over it is that good of a book! And once you are done reading that there is a second book to the series, Booked
            • unknownFriday, October 14, 2016 at 7:54 am
              This book is a thrilling book because you never know what is gonna happen or what he is gonna do. Theis book is about filthy or Josh his real name and how he does his crossover in basketball.Then he gets's jealous of his brother's girlfriend because he doesn't have one.
              • catlover045
                catlover045Wednesday, April 6, 2016 at 8:37 am55 stars
                Really great book I love it😜
                • table
                  tableThursday, March 3, 2016 at 3:33 pm55 stars
                  The crossover is the best book I have ever read during the second semester. It is a short book but filled with awesome parts and sad parts. IT IS THE BEST BOOK.
                  • gymnastic_beast
                    gymnastic_beastTuesday, February 2, 2016 at 2:42 pm
                    The book made me cry it is so sad at times. If you think that it is a book just for boys you are very very very wrong I love this book and I am a girly girl.
                    • camronThursday, January 28, 2016 at 10:22 amFeatured
                      Kwame Alexander Crossover The story Crossover is a book about a kid named Jb who had confidence of a superstar NBA basketball player and good guy when it comes to handles. He goes through a lot with his life with basketball, girls, and family and his loving of his team and coach Kwame Alexander is guy who inspire kids of making and reading books at their level. made many books like acoustic rooster and indigo blume. He has recorded CD’s and published the CD’s and he has preformed schools. he loves and cares for kids and their communities The character that I relate to is Jb because are basketball skills are alike and our lack of homework for girls is something that i would have done in the real world and his love for his game is the same The POV of the story is third person and a little of first person because when he is in his game mode they describe him his third person and first person because through his normal life he says word like I in his poetry I personally would give this book 5 stars because of his good wording and his style of his words and also the way he makes the character that relates to me (Jb) is absolutely fantastic I think the THEME or the moral of the story is to focus on what your goal is in life because a lot of stuff like girls and parties and lack of homework and really bring your skills of life down.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      callaway2005

                      Wild River by: P.J. Peterson. In...
                      Wild River

                      s916532
                      s916532 wrote:

                      I love Descendants,but I only sa...
                      Descendants: Junior Novel

                      emmam14
                      emmam14 wrote:

                      Boost is an amazing book about a...
                      Boost

                      heyhey432 wrote:

                      i love this book it's freakin aw...
                      Freakling