Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X4.316888

2015 Newbery Medal Winner
2015 Coretta Scott King Honor Award Winner
New York Times Bestseller



"With a bolt of lightning on my kicks . . .The court is SIZZLING. My sweat is DRIZZLING. Stop all that quivering. Cuz tonight I’m delivering," announces dread-locked, 12-year old Josh Bell. He and his twin brother Jordan are awesome on the court. But Josh has more than basketball in his blood, he's got mad beats, too, that tell his family's story in verse, in this fast and furious middle grade novel of family and brotherhood from Kwame Alexander.


Josh and Jordan must come to grips with growing up on and off the court to realize breaking the rules comes at a terrible price, as their story's heart-stopping climax proves a game-changer for the entire family.

Paperback
Published on October 8, 2015 by Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN-10: 1783443677
ISBN-13: 9781783443673
64 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • soso17970
    soso17970Friday, May 25, 2018 at 6:12 pm44 stars
    Wow, such a great book. I love how it uses basketball to express ideas In life. The stanzas really show the story in a different way. It’s a very emotional book and I recommend it to anyone who likes sports.
    • lilpumpboi
      lilpumpboiThursday, April 5, 2018 at 6:43 am55 stars
      Its about 2 kids that have a father in the NBA and there really good to.The dad has heart problems and then he dies. Jb the son hits a game winner to win the champion ship.
      • coolFriday, January 26, 2018 at 10:35 am
        nice
        • kane2005
          kane2005Friday, November 17, 2017 at 12:00 pm55 stars
          I think this book is a really good book cause Josh and Jordan are really good basketball players.There might be people who like basketball who can read this book.
          • Basketball WizFriday, May 26, 2017 at 11:12 am
            The Crossover is about two twin brothers, JB [ Jordan Bell] Filthy McNasty [Josh Bell]. In the book they go through many problems such as when JB starts to not hang out with Filthy and only hangs out with his girlfriend. Basketball does so much for the Bell’s. Such as bringing the whole family together. It also helps them because their dad played in the euro leagues and he was the star of their team when they won the championship. My favorite part was when Filthy made 50 free throws in a row at the end of the story. I can relate to this because I know how hard it is to make 10 in a row.I recommend this book to anyone who likes basketball or has a brother. Also if you want to test a new type of writing in a book you should read this. Lastly, I recommend this book to people who want an emotional book.
            • Meme masterThursday, April 6, 2017 at 9:47 am
              it smells good to
              • Meme masterThursday, April 6, 2017 at 9:47 am
                Kwame alexander the author of the Crossover brings you into the view of a teen ager with advantages and disadvantages. The Crossover takes place in Philadelphia. The main characters in The Crossover are JB, Josh Bell and Mom, and Dad Bell. Josh bell and JB are brothers but Josh have some problem with JB’s new girlfriend. The Crossover takes place in philadelphia. The main characters in The Crossover are JB, Josh Bell and Mom, and Dad Bell. Josh bell and JB are brothers but Josh have some problem with JB’s new girlfriend. IT has some funny parts and some sad parts. It may not give you the best sense of setting but that is not the most important thing in the book “Never let anyone lower your goals. Others’ expectations of you are determined by their limitations of life. The sky is your limit, sons. Always shoot for the sun and you will shine.” “You love me? Like summer loves short nights. Get a checkup, then. Only cure I need is you. I’m serious about this, Chuck. Only doctor I need is Dr. Crystal Bell. Now come here . . . And then there is silence, so I put the pillow over my head because when they stop talking, I know what that means. Uggghh!” This book is a very good book and I highly recommend it. Also it is one of the best books I have ever read. The Crossover , which won the Newbery Honor Award and the Coretta Scott Key Award. Kwame alexander went to 13 schools.
                • gary_da_boss
                  gary_da_bossWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:07 am
                  Kwame Alexander, the author of The Crossover, lets the readers go on with JB life with him from when he got his nickname until the end.The setting of the crossover is a lot of places. Like the basketball court most of the time.The main character is Jb mom and dad.You are introduced to JB when he talks about his skills.I dislike that is in poem form.This may be Hard to read for some reader. It goes back and forth between different stories and some people won't be able to follow along with it. One of my favorites quotes was when he said “ And know that I know that there is a reason for my nickname I like it”.I like this because This shows that he needed a reason to accept it.It is an ok book I say this because i do not like that it is in poem form.But it Is also good because it has a good conflict and a good Story and good characters.This is an award-winning book in the author is worth a long time on it
                  • jasontheson
                    jasonthesonWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 10:52 am
                    For anyone who likes basketball should consider reading crossover. The setting takes place on the court.The main characters in The Crossover Jordan Bell(JB) the dad the mom and josh Readers are introduced to josh talking about his skills on the court and saying he is undefeatable.Alexanders writing is creative because he did write it in first person but it was poetry which made it better than regular. Here is a quote i found interesting “He tells her how much she's the apple of his eye and that he wants to peel her and get under her skin and give me a break.”The book is good because it has good content but if you don’t like long books this is not for you.The Crossover - which won the john newbery medal and the Coretta Scott King Award.
                    • jasonthesonWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 10:51 am
                      For anyone who likes basketball should consider reading crossover. The setting takes place on the court.The main characters in The Crossover Jordan Bell(JB) the dad the mom and josh Readers are introduced to josh talking about his skills on the court and saying he is undefeatable. Alexanders writing is creative because he did write it in first person but it was poetry which made it better than regular. Here is a quote i found interesting “He tells her how much she's the apple of his eye and that he wants to peel her and get under her skin and give me a break.”The book is good because it has good content but if you don’t like long books this is not for you.The Crossover - which won the john newbery medal and the Coretta Scott King Award.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      gamer wrote:

                      She is a grate leader
                      Who Was Rosa Parks?

                      mybooksandi

                      Where, oh where should I start w...
                      Cinder

                      reader_red
                      reader_red wrote:

                      This book was a fun one that I f...
                      Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminat...

                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb wrote:

                      This newer and modern adaptation...
                      Journey on a Runaway Train (The ...