The Crossover

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X4.316888

2015 Newbery Medal Winner
2015 Coretta Scott King Honor Award Winner
New York Times Bestseller



"With a bolt of lightning on my kicks . . .The court is SIZZLING. My sweat is DRIZZLING. Stop all that quivering. Cuz tonight I’m delivering," announces dread-locked, 12-year old Josh Bell. He and his twin brother Jordan are awesome on the court. But Josh has more than basketball in his blood, he's got mad beats, too, that tell his family's story in verse, in this fast and furious middle grade novel of family and brotherhood from Kwame Alexander.


Josh and Jordan must come to grips with growing up on and off the court to realize breaking the rules comes at a terrible price, as their story's heart-stopping climax proves a game-changer for the entire family.

Paperback
Published on November 5, 2015 by Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN-10: 1783443677
ISBN-13: 9781783443673
22 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • BFFTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:06 am
    best book ever
    • dabWednesday, November 30, 2016 at 12:25 pm
      it was so awesome
      • c-breezy
        c-breezyWednesday, November 30, 2016 at 11:33 am55 stars
        This book is about 2 brothers who are trying to win the Champions, There Father ended up passing away and that made them strive even more. I recommend this book to people who LOVE basketball like me. I say this because it really makes you think about the reason to play and why you want to play it.
        • genouisking
          genouiskingThursday, November 10, 2016 at 11:15 am55 stars
          I like this book because Josh or filthy says cool rhythm when he plays Basketball and Jordan cares about Josh.
          • genouisking
            genouiskingThursday, November 10, 2016 at 10:56 am55 stars
            Crossover is one of my favorite books because the rhythm is really good. I like this book because I like Josh nickname filthy.
            • Jack4isuFriday, October 14, 2016 at 10:48 am
              Crossover is a great book it is exiting sad and has good rhythm by pages. I could read this book over and over and over it is that good of a book! And once you are done reading that there is a second book to the series, Booked
              • unknownFriday, October 14, 2016 at 7:54 am
                This book is a thrilling book because you never know what is gonna happen or what he is gonna do. Theis book is about filthy or Josh his real name and how he does his crossover in basketball.Then he gets's jealous of his brother's girlfriend because he doesn't have one.
                • catlover045
                  catlover045Wednesday, April 6, 2016 at 8:37 am55 stars
                  Really great book I love it😜
                  • table
                    tableThursday, March 3, 2016 at 3:33 pm55 stars
                    The crossover is the best book I have ever read during the second semester. It is a short book but filled with awesome parts and sad parts. IT IS THE BEST BOOK.
                    • gymnastic_beast
                      gymnastic_beastTuesday, February 2, 2016 at 2:42 pm
                      The book made me cry it is so sad at times. If you think that it is a book just for boys you are very very very wrong I love this book and I am a girly girl.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      joe wrote:

                      i really love the feel and the ...
                      Who Was Harriet Tubman? (GB)

                      marie wrote:

                      it was veryyyyyyyyyyy cool
                      Who Was Harriet Tubman? (GB)

                      marie wrote:

                      i really like it
                      Who Was Harriet Tubman? (GB)

                      wobblepenguin12

                      i dont think its for grades 9-12...
                      Boy in the Striped Pyjamas