Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X4.316888

2015 Newbery Medal Winner
2015 Coretta Scott King Honor Award Winner
New York Times Bestseller



"With a bolt of lightning on my kicks . . .The court is SIZZLING. My sweat is DRIZZLING. Stop all that quivering. Cuz tonight I’m delivering," announces dread-locked, 12-year old Josh Bell. He and his twin brother Jordan are awesome on the court. But Josh has more than basketball in his blood, he's got mad beats, too, that tell his family's story in verse, in this fast and furious middle grade novel of family and brotherhood from Kwame Alexander.


Josh and Jordan must come to grips with growing up on and off the court to realize breaking the rules comes at a terrible price, as their story's heart-stopping climax proves a game-changer for the entire family.

Paperback
Published on October 8, 2015 by Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN-10: 1783443677
ISBN-13: 9781783443673
68 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • a-panda
    a-pandaThursday, October 10, 2019 at 6:25 pm44 stars
    I love this book. It is a novel in verse(that means poems!). I read it for school and I want to read more of this author's books.
    • sofi_juarez
      sofi_juarezThursday, May 16, 2019 at 10:35 am55 stars
      I read this book for a book club and I was hooked to it. Even if the book 's ending wasn't really great, it was still really good.
      • PanchoBeast2013Wednesday, April 24, 2019 at 9:05 am
        This was a really good book i recommend it for people who like basketball
        • tcwgaming
          tcwgamingTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 12:03 pm55 stars
          This amazing book is a mix of poetry and rap. It is about Josh Bell and his brother Jordan Bell (JB). This book is about their strive to become better basketball players like their dad, who was an NBA player. Now for those who watch NBA, Jordan Bell is now one of the best players in the league. In this book Josh is trying to improve his shot and crossover. Every time during a game when he misses a shot, his dad makes him go to the rec. and work on free throws.
          • Mr. ShafferWednesday, September 26, 2018 at 10:45 am
            This is a moving book of poetry that basketball fans with love. The movement of the poems captures the action on and off the court in this emotional story.
            • lilpumpboi
              lilpumpboiThursday, April 5, 2018 at 6:43 am55 stars
              Its about 2 kids that have a father in the NBA and there really good to.The dad has heart problems and then he dies. Jb the son hits a game winner to win the champion ship.
              • coolFriday, January 26, 2018 at 10:35 am
                nice
                • kane2005
                  kane2005Friday, November 17, 2017 at 12:00 pm55 stars
                  I think this book is a really good book cause Josh and Jordan are really good basketball players.There might be people who like basketball who can read this book.
                  • Basketball WizFriday, May 26, 2017 at 11:12 am
                    The Crossover is about two twin brothers, JB [ Jordan Bell] Filthy McNasty [Josh Bell]. In the book they go through many problems such as when JB starts to not hang out with Filthy and only hangs out with his girlfriend. Basketball does so much for the Bell’s. Such as bringing the whole family together. It also helps them because their dad played in the euro leagues and he was the star of their team when they won the championship. My favorite part was when Filthy made 50 free throws in a row at the end of the story. I can relate to this because I know how hard it is to make 10 in a row.I recommend this book to anyone who likes basketball or has a brother. Also if you want to test a new type of writing in a book you should read this. Lastly, I recommend this book to people who want an emotional book.
                    • Meme masterThursday, April 6, 2017 at 9:47 am
                      it smells good to