Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.656772

The book club
is about to get
a makeover....


Even if Megan would rather be at the mall, Cassidy is late for hockey practice, Emma's already read every book in existence, and Jess is missing her mother too much to care, the new book club is scheduled to meet every month.

But what begins as a mom-imposed ritual of reading Little Women soon helps four unlikely friends navigate the drama of middle school. From stolen journals, to secret crushes, to a fashion-fiasco first dance, the girls are up to their Wellie boots in drama. They can't help but wonder: What would Jo March do?

Acclaimed author Heather Vogel Frederick will delight daughters of all ages in a novel about the fabulousness of fiction, family, and friendship.

Paperback, 2320 pages
Published on September 10, 2013 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442498439
ISBN-13: 9781442498433
62 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sophiewarren3
    sophiewarren3Friday, January 10, 2020 at 6:43 am55 starsFeatured
    The Mother Daughter Book Club book 1. By Heather Vogel Fredrick. This is such an amazing book! The Mother Daughter Book Club focuses on the lives of Emma the book worm, Jess the smart one, Cassidy the sporty one, and Megan the fashion lover. They live in Concord, New England. Their lives are going great until their moms decide to create a mother daughter book club. To kick off the start of the book club, their moms pick Little Women. From bullies to stolen diaries and secret crushes, the girls can’t help but wonder what would Jo March do? This is definitely an amazing book for anyone that likes action, but it is not a world adventures kind of book. Most of the characters were highly likeable. You feel like you know the characters. I would highly recommend the whole series for anyone that is looking for a good book/ books! Anyone from age 9 and up could read this book. I would give this book a 10/10 because it’s fun to read, has multiple characters, is not like Percy Jackson where they have to go on life quests, and it’s a series of 7 books so it gives you something to read after you finish the first book.
    • lulubelle
      lulubelleWednesday, September 20, 2017 at 1:39 pm
      It was really good!
      • hummingbird1
        hummingbird1Saturday, February 4, 2017 at 5:15 pm55 starsFeatured
        Emma Hawthorne, Jessica (Jess) Delaney, Cassidy Sloan, and Megan Wong are four very different girls. When their mothers decide to start a mother daughter book club reading Little Women, none of them is thrilled with the idea. Emma has already read Little Women, Jess's mom is away in New York acting for a TV show, Cassidy would rather be playing Hockey, and Megan wants to be at the mall with her popular friends. As the girls and their moms start reading Little Women, they start to realize how much they have in common and start to become friends and get along, even Megan. In this novel, the four girls learn more about friendship and family. This book is one of my favorite books in the world. After reading this book, I was inspired to read Little Women, which is good. I recommend this book to girls ages 10+.
        • wisedog09Saturday, September 24, 2016 at 12:21 pm
          ok!
          • casgirl
            casgirlSaturday, September 24, 2016 at 9:43 am44 stars
            if you liked the 'Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants' then you'll really like this book . it had sort of the same feel to it.
            • nerdyrkewl
              nerdyrkewlTuesday, November 8, 2016 at 3:29 pm
              ^̮^I LOVED the 'Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants'! Thanks for saying that I think I will read this.(Once I get my hands on a copy anyway...)^̮^
            • bunnyzhang
              bunnyzhangWednesday, September 7, 2016 at 4:20 pm33 stars
              This book is a little boring to me. I know most people might love this book but I don’t really like it, not really my taste. (If you know what I mean.) I probably don’t like it just because I don’t get it too much. The book is about some girls, Megan, Cassidy, Emma and Jess, that are in the Mother-Daughter Book Club. They have different opinions, different friends, and diverse personalities. Some aren’t even friends with each other! (Their mothers are friends though.) Like I said, this book is just not my type.
              • bluehorse3
                bluehorse3Wednesday, August 31, 2016 at 3:21 pm55 stars
                As the sequel to an amazing book, this will not disappoint! Things get a bit rocky when Cassidy's mom decides to start dating again. It doesn't get any better when Becca Chadwick and her mother are invited to join the club! As Megan starts to drift away from Emma, Jess, and Cassidy and Half Moon Farm may be no more, all of the girls need to work together to save the farm! With Anne Shirley as the inspiration for it all! This book was so much fun to read and I can't wait to read the next book. :)
                • tbugsoccer67
                  tbugsoccer67Saturday, August 27, 2016 at 1:03 pm44 stars
                  Four girls join a book club called the Mother-Daughter Book Club and are nervous. Will it be cool? Weird? Awkward? Read to find out. YAY
                  • annabethluna
                    annabethlunaSaturday, August 27, 2016 at 7:19 am44 stars
                    Megan, Cassidy, Emma, and Jess are friends. Their moms start a book club and they have to participate in it. Instead of getting bored the girls actually learn interesting things about middle school.
                    • memoiloveit
                      memoiloveitMonday, August 22, 2016 at 6:14 pm44 stars
                      This book is good because it helps girls become closer to their moms. It reminds me of another good book I've read about 4 people who aren't like each other at all but become friends.