The city of Ember was built as a last refuge for the human race. Two hundred years later, the great lamps that light the city are beginning to flicker. When Lina finds part of an ancient message, she’s sure it holds a secret that will save the city. She and her friend Doon must decipher the message before the lights go out on Ember forever! This stunning debut novel offers refreshingly clear writing and fascinating, original characters.
Paperback, 288 pages
Published on August 26, 2008 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0385736282
ISBN-13: 9780385736282
131 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • aunthtoo8896lol
    aunthtoo8896lolWednesday, May 24, 2017 at 7:01 am
    I like it. it's good.............-_-
    • KhloeWednesday, May 24, 2017 at 7:00 am
      I think The City Of Ember is a pretty good book. I rate it 4 out of 5 stars. It's about a girl named Lina and a boy named Doon. And one day at school they all got jobs. Doon was messenger and Lina had to work in the pipeworks. They both switched there jobs. So Doon had to work in the pipeworks. One day when he was down in the pipeworks he discovered a door. They didn't know what it led to. On the other hand Lina was delivering messages, she had to deliver one to the mayor. It was "Dilivery at eight from Looper." They end up figuring out what was behind the door and who was behind it. Read the book to figure out do they ever escape out of Ember and how. And who was the guy stealing all the food.
      • my225
        my225Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 6:55 am
        I really recommend this book it has a lot of suspense that makes you want to read more. Lina discovers a message that has been chewed by her little sister Poppy. When she looks at the message she sees some words that make her think the way out. She and her friend Doon Harrow are on a mission to get the people of Ember and themselves out. Will they do it? Will they find the way out? Read The City Of Ember by Jeanne Duprau to find out if you like it there are other books in the series.
        • /\/4T3 Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 6:54 am
          I really enjoy this book.The only thing though is at the end it just stops.Other than that it is a fantastic book.The two main characters are Lina Mayfleet and Doon Harrow.I would reccomend this book,but right after you read it get the 2nd book The people of sparks.
          • taylor Thursday, May 18, 2017 at 5:30 am
            cool book love it
            • BenThursday, May 18, 2017 at 5:30 am
              the book is good who would survivie in a mountain
              • BenThursday, May 18, 2017 at 5:29 am
                best book ever
                • snowyowl
                  snowyowlTuesday, May 16, 2017 at 4:44 pm44 stars
                  Great book! I loved it!
                  • demosthenes
                    demosthenesFriday, May 5, 2017 at 8:35 am
                    I loved the writing! Jeanne DuPrau is such a great writer! even if the story and characters stunk I still would have liked it! BUT! the story was great and the wide variety of characters gave this dark city a brightness that wasn't acctually visable! this will always be one of my top obsessions! Great read!
                    • lailacat46
                      lailacat46Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 10:02 am55 stars
                      This book was amazing

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      D.R wrote:

                      I think that Tales of a Fourth G...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                      LR wrote:

                      It was pretty interesting becaus...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                      J.B wrote:

                      The reason I say it was a excell...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...

                      c.k.w wrote:

                      This was just an OK book because...
                      Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing ...