Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.059937
The city of Ember was built as a last refuge for the human race. Two hundred years later, the great lamps that light the city are beginning to flicker. When Lina finds part of an ancient message, she’s sure it holds a secret that will save the city. She and her friend Doon must decipher the message before the lights go out on Ember forever! This stunning debut novel offers refreshingly clear writing and fascinating, original characters.
Paperback, 288 pages
Published on August 26, 2008 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0385736282
ISBN-13: 9780385736282
150 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • aaa57
    aaa57Tuesday, August 13, 2019 at 2:41 pm55 stars
    I didn’t know about this book until my librarian recommended it and I’m glad she did
    • aaa57
      aaa57Tuesday, August 13, 2019 at 2:39 pm55 stars
      I love this book it’s soooo good it’s about 2 kids Doon and Lina who are living in a underground city and it is dyeing the generator has started to fail and they are running out of supplies. Than Lina finds a paper, instructions for egress so Doon and Lina team up to follow the instructions but while they are doing this they find out they the mayor is hoarding supplies now they have to convince everyone that he really is bad. They are now wanted criminals they finally find what they are looking for and escape. Now they are in the outside world, and they leave a message telling the other people of ember how to escape. Jeanne DuPrau did a outstanding job on this book although I think it would have been best alone she didn’t have to add the other books. Anyhow her writing is so original I think everyone who loves adventure a mystery should read this book.
      • watercolrwonder
        watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:45 am44 stars
        This book is about a futuristic town of people who have dug a city underground to escape whatever was on the surface. When their generator that powers their city starts to go awry, the city falls into panic that they will be plunged into darkness. Can they unveil the mystery behind their city and make it to the surface before their city blacks out forever?
        • zzayumi
          zzayumiSunday, May 19, 2019 at 4:21 pm55 stars
          This book is full of adventures! It is a really good book of teamwork. This book is a really good and exciting book! I loved it!
          • sgpchau
            sgpchauThursday, April 18, 2019 at 7:24 am55 stars
            Great book. The characters, Lina and Doon go exploring to find the way out of Ember. the find secret rooms and stuff. oh yeah and new words too.
            • ???Friday, March 22, 2019 at 10:26 am
              If you are into suspense... Sure. this book is perfect. It drags the storyline along soooooooooo far, and eventually gets boring. If you like adventure books (like me) although it may seem good, its really not though. I personally did not like it, but i know many people do.
              • aaa57
                aaa57Tuesday, August 13, 2019 at 2:40 pm55 stars
                I thoroughly disagree it has a slow start but the book is great.
              • yee123Thursday, March 21, 2019 at 1:35 pm
                If ur intrested in in escape books this is 4 u
                • ANNIE21Wednesday, February 27, 2019 at 12:50 pm
                  WELL THE GR. 5'S IN MY CLSSS HAD TO READ THE WHOLE BOOK FOR A BOOK TALK
                  • Bluehorses555Tuesday, February 19, 2019 at 9:14 am
                    Have you ever wondered what would happen if the world went to chaos? Well that’s exactly what The City of Ember answers. This is one of my favorite book series. It takes place in a dystopian future America. It’s after the apocalypse where everyone has taken cover underground. The only problem is, no one knows that they are underground. The “Buliders” have built a whole civilization beneath the Earth in hopes that humanity will survive. When the time is right, a specially crafted box that is meant to be passed from mayor to mayor, will open and reveal the secret to get out of Ember. A greedy and sick Mayor took the box in hopes of finding a cure for his sickness. He died before he could pass the box to the next mayor. There it lay for years until the box finally opened. No one saw it. The citizens of Ember are now past their due date for going up to the surface. Supplies are running low and blackouts are frequent. Everyone’s darkest fears are that one day the lights will cut off and never turn back on. From the perspectives of the spirited Lina and the slightly hardheaded Doon, together they find the box that holds the secrets to get out. Lina’s sister Poppy got to the message first, but that won’t stop them. They soon piece together the instructions, however, no one will believe them. With mystery, death, backstabbing mayors, and the fate of Ember in the hands of two kids and a little sister tagging along, this book will thrill you to no end. Ages 12 and up will definitely enjoy this book.
                    • bob8908765678Wednesday, October 3, 2018 at 6:05 am
                      very good book highly recremenged lovedit