Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.059937
The city of Ember was built as a last refuge for the human race. Two hundred years later, the great lamps that light the city are beginning to flicker. When Lina finds part of an ancient message, she’s sure it holds a secret that will save the city. She and her friend Doon must decipher the message before the lights go out on Ember forever! This stunning debut novel offers refreshingly clear writing and fascinating, original characters.
Paperback, 288 pages
Published on August 26, 2008 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0385736282
ISBN-13: 9780385736282
158 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • almondmilk
    almondmilkSaturday, October 10, 2020 at 9:45 am55 stars
    This book was great!
    • the_wolf
      the_wolfWednesday, July 8, 2020 at 4:55 am55 stars
      Good book! I love how Jean DuPrau made the characters, and the story itself is so good!
      • bookfan2008
        bookfan2008Wednesday, July 1, 2020 at 6:25 am
        Looks very good!
        • helloEmberSaturday, June 20, 2020 at 1:04 pm
          Very interesting topic, really good!
          • effie302
            effie302Friday, June 12, 2020 at 6:56 am
            very interesting book, I so recommend this one as well, please read this book its super interesting you don't have to read the book if you dont want to tho, anyways its super cool book, I recommend !
            • blossomreader
              blossomreaderMonday, June 8, 2020 at 9:03 am55 stars
              This was one of my favorite books back at the beginning of summer reading 2020. It's about a girl named Lina Mayfleet and her best friend Doon Harrrow. They are on a mission to save their city from dying out. The lights are dyiing and soon their will be n electricity. Food supplies are also running low. Will they be able to save their city from dying, or will there be another solution?
              • gianna632
                gianna632Friday, February 21, 2020 at 11:53 am44 stars
                I gave this book a 4-star rating because it was a great book but not the best I've read. I connect with the book because me Lina both have younger siblings. This book is about a city that is underground and is running out of supplies for the people and their health. Two kids, Lina and Doon, want to do something about it. After trying and trying, they are about to give up. Just then, Lina finds something that may help find a way out. Is this mysterious object linked with escaping? Is what Lina thinks the truth? If so, will the people of Ember make it out in time? Read City of Ember to find out!
                • amie_hoover
                  Mrs. HooverTuesday, January 7, 2020 at 6:16 am55 stars
                  In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is it was interesting because the characters went through a lot of obstacles to try to get out of the city of Ember. Another reason why is it was a mystery trying to find out what happened next. The last reason why is it was very suspenseful. *****Spoiler Alert***** My favorite part is when the characters went down the stream and got to see the new city. You might like this book if you like action and adventure. You should read this book because its mysterious and will keep you on your toes throughout the whole book.
                  • aaa57
                    aaa57Tuesday, August 13, 2019 at 2:41 pm55 stars
                    I didn’t know about this book until my librarian recommended it and I’m glad she did
                    • aaa57
                      aaa57Tuesday, August 13, 2019 at 2:39 pm55 stars
                      I love this book it’s soooo good it’s about 2 kids Doon and Lina who are living in a underground city and it is dyeing the generator has started to fail and they are running out of supplies. Than Lina finds a paper, instructions for egress so Doon and Lina team up to follow the instructions but while they are doing this they find out they the mayor is hoarding supplies now they have to convince everyone that he really is bad. They are now wanted criminals they finally find what they are looking for and escape. Now they are in the outside world, and they leave a message telling the other people of ember how to escape. Jeanne DuPrau did a outstanding job on this book although I think it would have been best alone she didn’t have to add the other books. Anyhow her writing is so original I think everyone who loves adventure a mystery should read this book.