Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 12Z5.327007
"'La frontera'...I heard it for the first time back in the late 1940s when Papa and Mama told me and Roberto, my older brother, that someday we would take a long trip north, cross la frontera, enter California, and leave our poverty behind." So begins this honest and powerful account of a family's journey to the fields of California -- to a life of constant moving, from strawberry fields to cotton fields, from tent cities to one-room shacks, from picking grapes to topping carrots and thinning lettuce. Seen through the eyes of a boy who longs for an education and the right to call one palce home, this is a story of survival, faith, and hope. It is a journey that will open readers' hearts and minds.
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on October 25, 1999 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0395979021
ISBN-13: 9780395979020
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kaira30
    kaira30Wednesday, April 11, 2018 at 4:30 pm55 stars
    I recommend this book since many of our parents are immigrants. So this book, talks about how Francisco and his family move to California to have a good life. They have a hard time adjusting to the American world but manage. They were always scared to be caught by the immigration patrols since they were undocumented immigrants. One day, Francisco and his family get deported since the immigration patrols went around to see undocumented immigrants.
    • cupcakes12
      cupcakes12Friday, October 16, 2015 at 1:57 pm
      It is a pretty good book and I will recommend this book to whoever that wants to read tragedy books.
      • alishaaa22Thursday, October 15, 2015 at 11:44 am
        In the book, The circuit, I liked that there’s always something exciting. The only thing that I did not like was that the son had almost died. That was very sad. It must have been hard to raise seven kids when you are very poor. It skipped many years but had every bit of details. I recommend this book.
        • raydog16Thursday, October 15, 2015 at 11:41 am
          I think that The Circuit is a good book but it is a little boring. Still, it's a nice book. Sometimes, it can get really intense with all the bad things that happen. They just keep moving and moving non-stop. The author is the kid in the story. The rest of his family including his mom and dad are also in the book. The book, The Circuit is a good book, I would read the book again, and other people should really read the book.
          • flark
            flarkThursday, October 15, 2015 at 11:35 am
            In the book, The Circuit, a boy was born in Mexico. When he was very young, his family moved to California for a better life. They went on a train. It wasn't the wonderful life they thought they would live. They had to work in fields, as if they were slaves. I do recommend reading this book.
            • alishaaa22Thursday, October 15, 2015 at 11:34 am
              The book The circuit, I liked that there’s always something exciting.The only thing that I did not like that the son had almost died that was very sad. It mustve been hard to raise 7 kids when u are very poor. It skiped every year and had every bit of an detail. i recommend this book
              • Lamar1234Thursday, October 15, 2015 at 11:29 am
                The Circuit by Francisco Jimenez This book is pretty cool, but I didn’t like that they had to move a lot because it gets a little confusing. I would recommend that people read this book.
                • tom_riddle
                  tom_riddleWednesday, October 14, 2015 at 12:01 pm
                  The Circuit By Francisco Jimenez is a charming tale. The book consists of descriptions for what it would be like to work at migrant camps. The book is full of hard times and times of joy. The Circuit is a very good book and hard to put down.
                  • elrey17
                    elrey17Wednesday, October 14, 2015 at 12:00 pm
                    The book, The Circuit by Francisco Jimenez, was a good book. It was probably the best book I’ve ever read. It all started when Francisco came across the Mexican-American border to make a living. Throughout the book, they moved a lot. Four of the children were born in the U.S. and two in Mexico. The end is very suspenseful which leaves it all to the sequel, Breaking Through, to tell you.
                    • elrey Wednesday, October 14, 2015 at 11:59 am
                      The book, The Circuit by Francisco Jimenez, was a good book. It was probably the best book I’ve ever read. It all started when Francisco came across the Mexican-American border to make a living. Throughout the book, they moved a lot. Four of the children were born in the U.S. and two in Mexico. The end is very suspenseful which leaves it all to the sequel, Breaking Through, to tell you.