Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5R4.927942
Spring 2013 Kids' Indie Next List

For Ruby Pepperdine, the “center of everything” is on the rooftop of Pepperdine Motors in her donut-obsessed town of Bunning, New Hampshire, stargazing from the circle of her grandmother Gigi’s hug. That’s how everything is supposed to be—until Ruby messes up and things spin out of control. But she has one last hope. It all depends on what happens on Bunning Day, when the entire town will hear Ruby read her winning essay. And it depends on her twelfth birthday wish—unless she messes that up too. Can Ruby’s wish set everything straight in her topsy-turvy world?
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on March 5, 2013 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547763484
ISBN-13: 9780547763484
44 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • otter
    otterFriday, November 1, 2013 at 5:14 pm
    This is a really well written book,
    • frankiebaby
      frankiebabyThursday, January 8, 2015 at 6:08 pm
      would like to read it, probably girly though
    • buildergal
      buildergalMonday, October 28, 2013 at 9:54 am
      The Center of Everything by Linda Urban was such a great book. I would recommend this book for ages ten and up, for it has some challenging words. The Center of Everything was somewhat sad and a little funny at the same time. I was amazed on how descriptive Linda Urban was in her writing. She explained what everything looked, sounded, and smelled like. Linda also made the character’s traits and emotions so realistic. I would give this book five stars and a thumbs up!
      • trmoore
        Mrs. MooreSunday, September 22, 2013 at 3:52 am
        Possible 2014 Newbery Award
        • crazykat
          crazykatFriday, June 7, 2013 at 8:53 pm33 starsFeatured
          "The Center of Everything" by Linda Urban is a creative little story of a girl and her wish. Ever since her grandmother's death, Ruby Pepperdine has been haunted by her conscience. Just before she died, her grandmother tried to tell her something, but Ruby wouldn't listen. Now, she wishes with all her heart that she had listened. But are wishes enough? I thought this book was very good. It was under my grade level (8) in that the language was easy, but over my grade level in that the ideas are really complex. I will admit I often found it hard to follow, especially when Ruby gets really philosophical. For example: near the end she wonders, "Is there really a 'supposed to'?" Also, the ending was somewhat confusing. Overall though, this was a well written and deep book. I would recommend it for 6th graders. Any donut fans will definitely enjoy this!
          • Eve109Thursday, May 30, 2013 at 8:27 am
            I found this book too easy for me, but I found the plot good. I think that kids younger than me would enjoy it more. I was a little disappointed in the ending. It was also a little sad.
            • lsf1
              lsf1Saturday, May 18, 2013 at 8:59 am33 stars
              For some reason, this book didn't really sink in for me. I usually like realistic fiction books and books by Linda Urban, as I liked A Crooked Kid of Perfect, but I found this one a little boring. I was excited to read it and then the pages just went on and on. I felt like that four minutes in the actual book took up six pages. Personally, I like fast-paced books. Unfortunately, I didn't even finish this book. But, if you like slow-paced books (which some people do, and I'm not saying that's bad) and realistic fiction, I am pretty sure you will like this book.
              • buildergal
                buildergalSaturday, November 2, 2013 at 9:38 pm
                Interesting, I really enjoyed this book.
              • lsf1
                lsf1Thursday, April 25, 2013 at 5:28 pm33 stars
                This book was okay. To be honest I didn't finish it, I got to about page 30. It was just boring, it didn't really have anything going on in it. It kept but a good concept. It's about a girl who is going to tell a speech at the annual parade the town has every year. But her former best friend and her's friendship aren't going that well. Her new friend's relationship with her is pretty rocky, too. It seems interesting, but nothing really happens. Maybe something did happen after the part I put the book down, though. Now that I think about it, I never really was a big fan of the author, Linda Urban. I would say if you like this author, then you will enjoy this book.
                • imdabomb
                  imdabombWednesday, April 17, 2013 at 6:22 pm22 starsFeatured
                  I thought this was an okay book, not the best. So Ruby is the "essay girl" which she has to write an essay for a town celebration called "Bunning Day" which celebrates the making of donuts. Her grandma; Gigi, before passing away tells her to "listen" and on Ruby's birthday she makes a wish to find out what her grandma meant by that. Her friend: Lucy is also mad at her because Ruby didn't tell her what she wished for. She also starts hanging out with "Nero" a boy whose father owns the donut shop in town, and who asks the weirdest questions in class.
                  • ljboogie
                    ljboogieWednesday, April 17, 2013 at 5:07 pm55 stars
                    this book seems yummy you make me want a doughnut
                    • ljboogie
                      ljboogieWednesday, April 17, 2013 at 5:06 pm55 stars
                      I think that this book should help I am not going to spoil it but to all people who haven't red it read it peace