The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.967484
At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster--lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he's not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out . . . different. Or they don't come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it's Victoria--even if it means getting a little messy.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on August 28, 2012 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442442913
ISBN-13: 9781442442917
4 Book Reviews
  • ladybug4560almost 8 years
    this book is good
    • cottoncandyfluf
      cottoncandyflufalmost 8 years55 starsFeatured
      The Cavendish home for boys and girls is a truly creepy and sinister book. But that's not a bad thing. This book is great for reading when you're looking for something to really give you a scare! The books protagonist, Victoria, is quite different to all your other book heroines. She won't do with nonsense and is always striving for success. So when she is faced with the most ridiculous situations, she finds them hard to believe. Even so, she won't give up trying to save her best friend Lawrence. Throughout the book, you feel Victoria developing not just as a character, but a real person. The adventure she goes on changes her for the better. This book is popular not only with the middle grade audience, but with adults too! To sum this all up, it's a brilliant book that needs to be read with an English accent.
      • spinnypeeps
        spinnypeepsover 7 years
        Thanks for your review! I want to read it soooo bad!
        • happypug12
          happypug12over 7 years11 star
          This wasn't that creepy for me; I'm beyond that. I thought it was disgusting.