The Carnivorous Carnival (A Series of Unfortunate Events # 9)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V6.643681

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

Everybody loves a carnival! Who can fail to delight in the colourful people, the unworldly spectacle, the fabulous freaks?

A carnival is a place for good family funโ€”as long as one has a family, that is. For the Baudelaire orphans, their time at the carnival turns out to be yet another episode in a now unbearable series of unfortunate events. In fact, in this appalling ninth installment in Lemony Snicket's serial, the siblings must confront a terrible lie, a caravan, and Chabo the wolf baby. With millions of readers worldwide, and the Baudelaire's fate turning from unpleasant to unseemly, it is clear that Lemony Snicket has taken nearly all the fun out of children's books.

Hardcover, 286 pages
Published on October 1, 2002 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064410129
ISBN-13: 9780064410120
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • addyl97
    addyl97Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 3:40 pm55 stars
    Following the events of The Hostile Hospital, Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire arrive at Caligari Carnival in the trunk of Count Olaf and his theatre troupe's car, unknown to them. Olaf and his associates speak of seeking Madame Lulu, a mysterious fortune-teller and owner of Caligari Carnival, for answers of the whereabouts of the Snicket files, which apparently contains crucial information on V.F.D. I made a connection for text to text because it reminds me of books that I've read that leave wondering until you read more. I give this book five stars because of how it is written and how every time you read it you find out something new about the characters and their journey. To find out if the Baudelaires escape read the Carnivorous Carnival.
    • smartbunnyMonday, September 2, 2019 at 9:46 am
      I read this book awhile ago and that was my 5th favorite out of the whole series. I liked it very much.
      • wolfchildren
        wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:08 pm55 stars
        9 year old: Best book series ever, but Count Olaf is a jerk. Lemony Snicket has lots of great books, but this series is my favorite. 7 year old: I liked it, because we read it together. 12 year old: It is the best book series, Lemony Snicket is a great author. Mom: Reading this series together as a family was incredible. We paused and discussed theories so much. We did end up watching both the film and Netflix show after, neither do the series justice, but it was fun to see how film portrayed our favorite series of all time.
        • hedgeguin2
          hedgeguin2Thursday, June 20, 2019 at 11:17 am55 stars
          This book is awesome so far! I am at the part where the Baudelaires are disguised as freaks, so they can get in the carnival as freaks in the House of Freaks. Every book of this series is the best! I canโ€™t wait to finish this book, so I can start reading the next one!
          • wiccanbat666
            wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:20 pm55 stars
            This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
            • cocoaFriday, June 15, 2018 at 12:44 pm
              the book is amazing!!!
              • cocoaFriday, June 15, 2018 at 12:42 pm
                the story is amazing!
                • olliebob
                  olliebobFriday, May 25, 2018 at 5:44 pm55 stars
                  In this ninth installment in the Baudelaire's woeful tale, the plucky youngsters end up in a run-down carnival. Their best bet in staying out of Count Olaf's grimy clutches is to disguise themselves as freaks and perform in the carnival. Violet and Klaus become Beverly and Elliot, a two-headed person, and Sunny is transformed into Chabo the wolf baby, a half-wolf infant. They try to find out more about VFD and the fire that killed their parents and destroyed their home. Can the siblings find a way to stay out of Count Olaf's hands?
                  • eyp
                    eypFriday, September 30, 2016 at 7:41 am44 stars
                    ๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜ข.A good,suprising,funny, and sad book.
                    • cuddles13
                      cuddles13Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 7:05 pm55 stars
                      Loved the series. LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!