Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.844960
In the first book in the Guardians of Ga'Hoole series, readers will meet Soren, a barn owl who discovers a great evil in the owl kingdom which he must work to vanquish. When Soren is pushed from his family's nest by his older brother, he is rescued by representatives from a mysterious school for orphaned owls, St. Aggie's. When Soren arrives at St. Aggie's, he suspects there is more to the school than meets the eye. He and his new friend, a clever female elf owl named Gylfie, find out that St. Aggie's is actually a training camp where the school's leader is grooming young owls to help achieve her goal, which threatens the lives of owls everywhere. First Soren and Gylfie must escape. Then they embark on a long and perilous journey to find a way to save all owls from the danger that lurks at St. Aggie's.
Library Binding, 226 pages
Published on June 1, 2003 by Perfection Learning
ISBN-10: 0756915821
ISBN-13: 9780756915827
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • angelpaw
    angelpawThursday, January 24, 2019 at 6:18 am55 stars
    I’m reading this book now great so far recommended for you if you like animals and adventure
    • crystaldolphin
      crystaldolphinTuesday, March 14, 2017 at 5:10 pm55 stars
      FAVORITE SERIES! omg this book has literally everything: drama, horror, points where ur heart swells with happiness... #RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • owlver136
        owlver136Tuesday, March 14, 2017 at 1:47 pmFeatured
        Anyone looking for a book? Book series? Or just like owls - or animals in general? Here you are! At the perfect length and with just the right amount of excitement, this book will keep you on your toes guessing and holding your breath. Join Soren as he is taken from his family to St. Aggie's, a school for "orphaned" owls. But Soren knows something is going on here, and with the help of his new friend Gylfie, he is going to find out. Once you start this book, you won't be able to stop until you've read the whole series and uncovered every secret of this amazing flight!
        • brightheart4evrSaturday, October 22, 2016 at 7:08 am
          I guess this book was okay, but I just gave up on the second book because it makes NO SENSE what so ever, and OWLS CAN READ!? I thought it would be like warriors, but it isn't. I like Horses of the Dawn better. Owls are just not a good thing to write about. :/
          • pngmeri3
            pngmeri3Monday, July 25, 2016 at 8:17 pm55 stars
            I love this book and its one of my all time favorites. It never got too boring and kept me on my toes. I highly recommend it to people who like adventure. Even though there were some difficult words here and there I love it!
            • desiwes
              desiwesMonday, March 16, 2015 at 8:39 am44 stars
              The only thing I don't like about this book is that it has a lot of words I don't know. I still think this book is interesting!
              • bigmelo
                bigmeloSunday, January 4, 2015 at 8:51 am55 stars
                An easy read & a phenomenal start to the renowned 'Guardians of Ga'Hoole' series, The Capture seizes an enormous feeling of suspense & drama. Soren, a barn owl fledgling of the Forest Kingdom of Tyto, is spirited away to St. Aegolius Academy, an orphanage for young owls. There, he meets Gylfie, a quick-witted elf owl whose lack in size is made up for in vocabulary. Both in pursuit of reuniting with their families, escape is their only answer. But since the only way out of St. Aggie's is up, the unlikely duo will have to accomplish a feat they think is beyond their league - fly.
                • lcoolkid526
                  lcoolkid526Tuesday, September 9, 2014 at 5:38 pm55 stars
                  So awesome I mean the characters were amazing the plot was cool all around good book. you must read this next time you can it was absolutely the best. But i advise against reading for a project read on your own time You won't regret if you do
                  • candyexpress
                    candyexpressSunday, February 16, 2014 at 12:59 pm
                    In the beginning it was boring and awfully confusing but now I'm in the middle and it's getting better!!
                    • lunamoonamare
                      lunamoonamareSaturday, November 2, 2013 at 6:49 am55 stars
                      This is a great book to read. Soren and Gylfie are captured and sent to st. Aggies. Some owls there are pretty cruel. After they get there they get a new name. For instance, Soren's is: 12-1. I've read part of it though.