Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U5.0102497
Four children have been chosen to compete in a national competition to find the tastiest confection in the country. Who will invent a candy more delicious than the Oozing Crunchorama or the Neon Lightning Chew?

Logan, the Candymaker's son, who can detect the color of chocolate by touch alone?

Miles, the boy who is allergic to merry-go-rounds and the color pink?

Daisy, the cheerful girl who can lift a fifty-pound lump of taffy like it's a feather?

Or Philip, the suit-and-tie wearing boy who's always scribbling in a secret notebook?

This sweet, charming, and cleverly crafted story, told from each contestant's perspective, is filled with mystery, friendship, and juicy revelations.
Hardcover, 480 pages
Published on May 12, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316264997
ISBN-13: 9780316264990
286 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hogwartstudent
    hogwartstudentMonday, December 3, 2018 at 1:59 pm55 stars
    this is the best book ever!!
    • frecklefacec
      frecklefacecTuesday, December 4, 2018 at 8:00 am55 stars
      i agree daisy is so my favorite:)
    • FrecklefacecMonday, December 3, 2018 at 8:35 am
      i love this book daisy is my favorite
      • chareatsdonuts
        chareatsdonutsWednesday, November 28, 2018 at 1:04 pm55 stars
        It's such a fun and exciting action packed book
        • felicisowl
          felicisowlTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 2:17 pm55 starsFeatured
          "If nothing changed, there'd be no such things as butterflies." This was a sweet surprise! I mostly read adult fiction nowadays, but I've missed books like this! What surprised me is that THE CANDYMAKERS took itself surprisingly seriously - it sold itself as a mystery, and it was a mystery, and an especially good one at that! It starts out as a fun, sweet candy-making adventure, but it doesn't end on that note. It's never until it's over: THE CANDYMAKERS doesn't stop revealing secrets until the very last page. Somehow both unexpectedly funny and unexpectedly touching, THE CANDYMAKERS never turns treacly and the fun never fizzles out - it has plenty of meaningful stories to tell. There is something so nostalgic about reading something I would have enjoyed as a child. Some things never change: I will always love elaborate candy factories and child detectives, and this was the sweetest, funniest, smartest combination of both.
          • bookstory13
            bookstory13Tuesday, November 27, 2018 at 7:13 pm55 stars
            Great job on your review! (It's so much better than mine...)
          • joyfulwater
            joyfulwaterMonday, October 15, 2018 at 1:45 pm55 stars
            This book id amazing and extremely addictive. I couldn't stop reading The Candymakers. This book also goes into multiple peoples point of view like the book Wonder. This is so far my favorite book!!!!
            • bookstory13
              bookstory13Wednesday, June 27, 2018 at 11:55 am55 starsFeatured
              The Candymakers is a hilarious book with lots of twists, developed characters, and is written in unusual form (But I LOVE it!) Every year 32 kids who have turned twelve are selected to enter a candy making contest. They are divided into groups and go to different candy making factories, then meet at the contest. The winner of this most famous contest will have their candy made for all and their name mounted on a golden plaque. But before you read --Yes, I ask you to restrain from running to the nearest library and hear this -- be prepared to love this book like you never have loved a book before! --BKS reviews
              • noone you knowMonday, April 23, 2018 at 8:18 am
                it is really good book i love it soo much i had it for week and once and reading again!
                • raven4life
                  raven4lifeTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 8:14 am55 stars
                  This book is really good!!!!
                  • cate744
                    cate744Monday, February 5, 2018 at 6:02 am
                    the book is so good
                    • criminalcat01
                      criminalcat01Thursday, January 4, 2018 at 12:19 pm
                      It looked like a good book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      olliebob
                      olliebob wrote:

                      Once is a heartbreaking, beautif...
                      Once (Once Series)

                      Racer95 wrote:

                      OMG THIS IS SO AWESOME!!
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Double Down

                      rainawave
                      rainawave wrote:

                      When I read an amazing book, the...
                      One White Dolphin

                      Tess wrote:

                      You should read Ellies story
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      Our Apps and Plugins