Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U5.0102497
Four children have been chosen to compete in a national competition to find the tastiest confection in the country. Who will invent a candy more delicious than the Oozing Crunchorama or the Neon Lightning Chew?

Logan, the Candymaker's son, who can detect the color of chocolate by touch alone?

Miles, the boy who is allergic to merry-go-rounds and the color pink?

Daisy, the cheerful girl who can lift a fifty-pound lump of taffy like it's a feather?

Or Philip, the suit-and-tie wearing boy who's always scribbling in a secret notebook?

This sweet, charming, and cleverly crafted story, told from each contestant's perspective, is filled with mystery, friendship, and juicy revelations.
Hardcover, 480 pages
Published on May 12, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316264997
ISBN-13: 9780316264990
278 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • noone you knowMonday, April 23, 2018 at 8:18 am
    it is really good book i love it soo much i had it for week and once and reading again!
    • carmen44
      carmen44Tuesday, February 6, 2018 at 8:14 am55 stars
      This book is really good!!!!
      • cate744
        cate744Monday, February 5, 2018 at 6:02 am
        the book is so good
        • criminalcat01
          criminalcat01Thursday, January 4, 2018 at 12:19 pm
          It looked like a good book.
          • turtlenicole
            turtlenicoleThursday, January 4, 2018 at 8:16 am55 starsFeatured
            The Candymakers is definitely a sweet surprise! The story takes place in the Life is Sweet candy factory where the candy-making contest was taking place. Daisy, Philips, Logan, and Miles are the four protagonists of the story. This book is unique compared to others because it gives the same story in four different perspectives. I appreciate that Wendy Mass presented the story in that format because it gives readers a sense of what is going on without giving only one biased perspective and it helps you understand each character better. The four are oblivious to the secrets each person held. Peculiarly, the secrets they had ended up to be what kept them apart, but they used it to protect the factory and to reconcile. By the end, everyone learns something about each other and became close friends.
            • abileahbrenke
              abileahbrenkeMonday, December 4, 2017 at 7:55 am
              This is a really good book.Very long but it keeps you entertained.You have to read it. I'm only a lit bit in to the book
              • malfoylover029
                malfoylover029Thursday, October 12, 2017 at 1:53 pm55 stars
                Really good book!
                • lulubelle
                  lulubelleTuesday, September 5, 2017 at 1:50 pm55 stars
                  This was such a good book! I absolutely love it!!
                  • Goodgirl758536Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 11:02 pm
                    It is a just like the movie charlie and the chocolate factory, kindaπŸ‘πŸ˜ŠπŸ©πŸ°πŸŒ°πŸ«πŸ­πŸ¬πŸ°πŸ’ž
                    • snicker9
                      snicker9Thursday, May 11, 2017 at 8:14 am55 stars
                      The Candymakers is a wonderful story about four 11-year old children who come from very different backgrounds, and who are all invited to take part in a candymaking contest for kids. Leo is the son of the owner of a candy factory, and has lived his whole life waiting for this moment, and who hasn't met another child beyond the property line. Daisy is a bright cheerful girl who can lift 50 pounds of taffy without a sweat. Phillip is a boy in a suit who pretends to be a man. Miles is a shy boy who always carries his books and his backpack, and who has never had a best friend. Will these four kids who have so many differences come together? I like this book because it is told from all four of the kid's viewpoints, and you always know who is narrating. This book reminds of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and in every chapter my mouth waters! This book is full of surprises and twists around every turn, and secrets all around! I loved it, and I love Wendy Mass! I recommend this book to anyone 9 years and older. I am super excited to read the new sequel!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      gamer wrote:

                      She is a grate leader
                      Who Was Rosa Parks?

                      mybooksandi

                      Where, oh where should I start w...
                      Cinder

                      reader_red
                      reader_red wrote:

                      This book was a fun one that I f...
                      Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminat...

                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb wrote:

                      This newer and modern adaptation...
                      Journey on a Runaway Train (The ...