Four children have been chosen to compete in a national competition to find the tastiest confection in the country. Who will invent a candy more delicious than the Oozing Crunchorama or the Neon Lightning Chew?

Logan, the Candymaker's son, who can detect the color of chocolate by touch alone?

Miles, the boy who is allergic to merry-go-rounds and the color pink?

Daisy, the cheerful girl who can lift a fifty-pound lump of taffy like it's a feather?

Or Philip, the suit-and-tie wearing boy who's always scribbling in a secret notebook?

This sweet, charming, and cleverly crafted story, told from each contestant's perspective, is filled with mystery, friendship, and juicy revelations.
Hardcover, 480 pages
Published on May 12, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316264997
ISBN-13: 9780316264990
275 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • criminalcat01
    criminalcat01Thursday, January 4, 2018 at 12:19 pm
    It looked like a good book.
    • turtlenicole
      turtlenicoleThursday, January 4, 2018 at 8:16 am55 starsFeatured
      The Candymakers is definitely a sweet surprise! The story takes place in the Life is Sweet candy factory where the candy-making contest was taking place. Daisy, Philips, Logan, and Miles are the four protagonists of the story. This book is unique compared to others because it gives the same story in four different perspectives. I appreciate that Wendy Mass presented the story in that format because it gives readers a sense of what is going on without giving only one biased perspective and it helps you understand each character better. The four are oblivious to the secrets each person held. Peculiarly, the secrets they had ended up to be what kept them apart, but they used it to protect the factory and to reconcile. By the end, everyone learns something about each other and became close friends.
      • abileahbrenke
        abileahbrenkeMonday, December 4, 2017 at 7:55 am
        This is a really good book.Very long but it keeps you entertained.You have to read it. I'm only a lit bit in to the book
        • malfoylover029
          malfoylover029Thursday, October 12, 2017 at 1:53 pm55 stars
          Really good book!
          • lulubelle
            lulubelleTuesday, September 5, 2017 at 1:50 pm55 stars
            This was such a good book! I absolutely love it!!
            • Goodgirl758536Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 11:02 pm
              It is a just like the movie charlie and the chocolate factory, kindaπŸ‘πŸ˜ŠπŸ©πŸ°πŸŒ°πŸ«πŸ­πŸ¬πŸ°πŸ’ž
              • snicker9
                snicker9Thursday, May 11, 2017 at 8:14 am55 stars
                The Candymakers is a wonderful story about four 11-year old children who come from very different backgrounds, and who are all invited to take part in a candymaking contest for kids. Leo is the son of the owner of a candy factory, and has lived his whole life waiting for this moment, and who hasn't met another child beyond the property line. Daisy is a bright cheerful girl who can lift 50 pounds of taffy without a sweat. Phillip is a boy in a suit who pretends to be a man. Miles is a shy boy who always carries his books and his backpack, and who has never had a best friend. Will these four kids who have so many differences come together? I like this book because it is told from all four of the kid's viewpoints, and you always know who is narrating. This book reminds of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and in every chapter my mouth waters! This book is full of surprises and twists around every turn, and secrets all around! I loved it, and I love Wendy Mass! I recommend this book to anyone 9 years and older. I am super excited to read the new sequel!
                • lolomad
                  lolomadSunday, March 5, 2017 at 2:47 pm55 stars
                  This is a really good book!πŸ˜„
                  • hannah_kwonn
                    hannah_kwonnFriday, March 3, 2017 at 1:51 pm
                    The Candymakers, by Wendy Mass was truly an awesome book!! It pulled me in, and it was hard for me to stop reading it!! Not only was it cool, it was deliciously fun!
                    • callie_b
                      callie_bFriday, March 3, 2017 at 12:25 pm55 starsFeatured
                      This has become one of my favorite books! It kept me hooked from beginning to end. Wendy Mass spins a sugary (😁) tale about 4 kids that enter a create-your-own fabulous candy contest and it starts out all innocent and you will develop so obvious likes or dislikes for the kids... Until you uncover some secrets about the contestants that might flip your entire suspicion around! Logan, the candy maker's son who just wants to prove he doesn't have an advantage in the contest because of this, shares some important information... and doesn't explain something crucial about himself, which after learning makes you see the whole character with new eyes. Daisy, a cheery girl who has some secrets to uncover and a big secret of her own, finds something out about herself that affects her greatly. Miles, a kid who just wants to get along, is bound to a mysterious past that he guilts himself about 'not saving the girl.' Finally, Philip seems like a rich snob. But read from his point of view, you'll see a whole different side to the story. With each kid comes a point of view, and with every point of view, you piece together an incredible story that will keep you reading until the end! You will connect ties with the kids that are amazing and make you say, "Oh!" It's an amazing tale of mystery, suspense, connecting secrets, and fun! Read this book! I highly recommend it for kids between 4th grade and 8th grade for a great read!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      milavictoria

                      I think this is a really good book
                      The Bad Kid

                      mircat wrote:

                      SO AWESOME I LOVED THIS BOOK SO ...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      scarletnews101

                      Of course this book was stupendo...
                      Drama

                      scarletnews101

                      I loved this book. I would give ...
                      Because Of Winn-Dixie Plush & Sc...