Four children have been chosen to compete in a national competition to find the tastiest confection in the country. Who will invent a candy more delicious than the Oozing Crunchorama or the Neon Lightning Chew?

Logan, the Candymaker's son, who can detect the color of chocolate by touch alone?

Miles, the boy who is allergic to merry-go-rounds and the color pink?

Daisy, the cheerful girl who can lift a fifty-pound lump of taffy like it's a feather?

Or Philip, the suit-and-tie wearing boy who's always scribbling in a secret notebook?

This sweet, charming, and cleverly crafted story, told from each contestant's perspective, is filled with mystery, friendship, and juicy revelations.
Hardcover, 480 pages
Published on May 12, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316264997
ISBN-13: 9780316264990
271 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lydia_w
    lydia_wTuesday, September 5, 2017 at 1:50 pm55 stars
    This was such a good book! I absolutely love it!!
    • Goodgirl758536Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 11:02 pm
      It is a just like the movie charlie and the chocolate factory, kindaπŸ‘πŸ˜ŠπŸ©πŸ°πŸŒ°πŸ«πŸ­πŸ¬πŸ°πŸ’ž
      • snicker9
        snicker9Thursday, May 11, 2017 at 8:14 am55 stars
        The Candymakers is a wonderful story about four 11-year old children who come from very different backgrounds, and who are all invited to take part in a candymaking contest for kids. Leo is the son of the owner of a candy factory, and has lived his whole life waiting for this moment, and who hasn't met another child beyond the property line. Daisy is a bright cheerful girl who can lift 50 pounds of taffy without a sweat. Phillip is a boy in a suit who pretends to be a man. Miles is a shy boy who always carries his books and his backpack, and who has never had a best friend. Will these four kids who have so many differences come together? I like this book because it is told from all four of the kid's viewpoints, and you always know who is narrating. This book reminds of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and in every chapter my mouth waters! This book is full of surprises and twists around every turn, and secrets all around! I loved it, and I love Wendy Mass! I recommend this book to anyone 9 years and older. I am super excited to read the new sequel!
        • lolomad
          lolomadSunday, March 5, 2017 at 2:47 pm55 stars
          This is a really good book!πŸ˜„
          • hannah_kwonn
            hannah_kwonnFriday, March 3, 2017 at 1:51 pm
            The Candymakers, by Wendy Mass was truly an awesome book!! It pulled me in, and it was hard for me to stop reading it!! Not only was it cool, it was deliciously fun!
            • callie_b
              callie_bFriday, March 3, 2017 at 12:25 pm55 starsFeatured
              This has become one of my favorite books! It kept me hooked from beginning to end. Wendy Mass spins a sugary (😁) tale about 4 kids that enter a create-your-own fabulous candy contest and it starts out all innocent and you will develop so obvious likes or dislikes for the kids... Until you uncover some secrets about the contestants that might flip your entire suspicion around! Logan, the candy maker's son who just wants to prove he doesn't have an advantage in the contest because of this, shares some important information... and doesn't explain something crucial about himself, which after learning makes you see the whole character with new eyes. Daisy, a cheery girl who has some secrets to uncover and a big secret of her own, finds something out about herself that affects her greatly. Miles, a kid who just wants to get along, is bound to a mysterious past that he guilts himself about 'not saving the girl.' Finally, Philip seems like a rich snob. But read from his point of view, you'll see a whole different side to the story. With each kid comes a point of view, and with every point of view, you piece together an incredible story that will keep you reading until the end! You will connect ties with the kids that are amazing and make you say, "Oh!" It's an amazing tale of mystery, suspense, connecting secrets, and fun! Read this book! I highly recommend it for kids between 4th grade and 8th grade for a great read!
              • ready4anything
                ready4anythingSunday, January 8, 2017 at 11:47 am44 stars
                If you loooooove candy, then this book got sweet surprises waiting for you. It really make you want to have candy.
                • evasoccerlover Thursday, November 10, 2016 at 6:19 pm
                  i love this book
                  • ajg15
                    ajg15Thursday, October 20, 2016 at 3:14 pm
                    love this book!!!!
                    • No name please Sunday, October 9, 2016 at 7:29 pm
                      There was some twist I was not expecting but it was awesome I defiantly recommend this book ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      sparklingirl

                      i know everytime i say borrow eb...
                      The Isle of the Lost: A Descenda...

                      roonies
                      roonies wrote:

                      I really liked this book. I went...
                      Real Friends

                      roonies
                      roonies wrote:

                      I read this book because my brot...
                      Catching Fire (The Hunger Games)

                      roonies
                      roonies wrote:

                      I read this book because my brot...
                      The Hunger Games (The Hunger Gam...