Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U5.0102497
Four children have been chosen to compete in a national competition to find the tastiest confection in the country. Who will invent a candy more delicious than the Oozing Crunchorama or the Neon Lightning Chew?

Logan, the Candymaker's son, who can detect the color of chocolate by touch alone?

Miles, the boy who is allergic to merry-go-rounds and the color pink?

Daisy, the cheerful girl who can lift a fifty-pound lump of taffy like it's a feather?

Or Philip, the suit-and-tie wearing boy who's always scribbling in a secret notebook?

This sweet, charming, and cleverly crafted story, told from each contestant's perspective, is filled with mystery, friendship, and juicy revelations.
Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on October 5, 2010 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316002585
ISBN-13: 9780316002585
290 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Smartparty9 Tuesday, April 2, 2019 at 6:07 pm
    great book
    • unicorn6890
      unicorn6890Thursday, February 7, 2019 at 4:45 pm55 stars
      I really liked this book because it gives you each characters point of view on the story. I definitely recommend this book!
      • callie_b
        callie_bTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 4:05 pm55 starsFeatured
        I just read this book again, and I actually cannot stress how much I love this book. When I was done, there were literal tears in my eyes because I didn't want it to end! Logan, Daisy, Miles, and Philip are all kids in a new candy contest, and none are what they first appear to be. You develop opinions on each kid, until you read their perspective and your opinions change! This book teaches you not to judge a person by their looks or actions because you never know what they are going through in their life. This was a great mystery and one of my all-time favorite books. I strongly recommend this book for anyone and everyone!
        • UwUTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 1:50 pm
          this legit all of these coments helped me do my book report lol
          • officer_jenny
            officer_jennyThursday, January 10, 2019 at 3:13 pm55 stars
            sO COOL! fULL OF TWISTS AND SURPRISES
            • yellingout
              yellingoutMonday, December 3, 2018 at 1:59 pm55 stars
              this is the best book ever!!
              • freckleface04
                freckleface04Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 8:00 am55 stars
                i agree daisy is so my favorite:)
              • FrecklefacecMonday, December 3, 2018 at 8:35 am
                i love this book daisy is my favorite
                • chareatsdonuts
                  chareatsdonutsWednesday, November 28, 2018 at 1:04 pm55 stars
                  It's such a fun and exciting action packed book
                  • felicisowl
                    felicisowlTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 2:17 pm55 starsFeatured
                    "If nothing changed, there'd be no such things as butterflies." This was a sweet surprise! I mostly read adult fiction nowadays, but I've missed books like this! What surprised me is that THE CANDYMAKERS took itself surprisingly seriously - it sold itself as a mystery, and it was a mystery, and an especially good one at that! It starts out as a fun, sweet candy-making adventure, but it doesn't end on that note. It's never until it's over: THE CANDYMAKERS doesn't stop revealing secrets until the very last page. Somehow both unexpectedly funny and unexpectedly touching, THE CANDYMAKERS never turns treacly and the fun never fizzles out - it has plenty of meaningful stories to tell. There is something so nostalgic about reading something I would have enjoyed as a child. Some things never change: I will always love elaborate candy factories and child detectives, and this was the sweetest, funniest, smartest combination of both.
                    • bookstory13
                      bookstory13Tuesday, November 27, 2018 at 7:13 pm55 stars
                      Great job on your review! (It's so much better than mine...)
                    • joyfulwater
                      joyfulwaterMonday, October 15, 2018 at 1:45 pm55 stars
                      This book id amazing and extremely addictive. I couldn't stop reading The Candymakers. This book also goes into multiple peoples point of view like the book Wonder. This is so far my favorite book!!!!