Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.2152785
The highly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestselling novel The Candymakers by beloved author Wendy Mass

It has been a few months since the nationwide New Candy Contest, and Logan, Miles, Philip, and Daisy have returned to their regular lives. But when the winning candy bar comes down the conveyor belt at the Life is Sweet candy factory, Logan realizes something's very wrong....

When the Candymaker announces that they will be going on tour to introduce the new candy bar, the four friends see this as an opportunity to make things right. But with a fifty-year-old secret revealed and stakes higher for each of them than they ever imagined, they will have to trust one another--and themselves--in order to face what lies ahead.

In this action-packed sequel to the bestselling novel The Candymakers, prepare to embark on a journey full of hidden treasures, secret worlds, and candy.

LOTS and LOTS of candy.
Paperback, 560 pages
Published on August 29, 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316089184
ISBN-13: 9780316089180
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ginnyweasley2
    ginnyweasley2Thursday, September 24, 2020 at 1:48 pm55 stars
    I did not like this book as much as the first one, but there is more exitement and mystery. It is still a good book. I like how it sort of continued the first book.
    • sweetcandy6
      sweetcandy6Saturday, September 12, 2020 at 9:56 pm55 stars
      It was perfect for me, maybe you could call it SWEET
      • squirrelflight
        squirrelflightSaturday, September 12, 2020 at 8:57 am55 starsFeatured
        First of all, I have to say that The Candymakers and the Great Chocolate Chase was EVEN better than the first book in this series. I immediately fell in love with the characters and storyline—this book is impossible to put down, and very enjoyable. Once again, Wendy Mass has written an amazing, candy-filled mystery that all readers will enjoy. Summary: Logan, Daisy, Miles, and Phillip are back again! After the national candy making competition that took place a few months ago, their lives have gone back to normal. But when they find out that there’s a problem with the winning candy entry, the four friends must figure this out—quickly. Then, an opportunity to make things better arises. Logan’s father, who owns the Life is Sweet Candy Factory, decides to take them on a tour so they can see what the winning candy bar looks like...and tastes like, of course! But soon, what they thought would be a fun trip starts to go haywire, and it’s up to Logan, Miles, Phillip, and Daisy to save the day. Can they do it? Read this book to find out! Overall, I totally recommend this book, and rate it 5/5 stars. I think all readers will absolutely love The Candymakers and the Great Chocolate Chase!
        • toodorky
          toodorkyMonday, June 8, 2020 at 9:19 am55 stars
          I love this book so much. It's more mysterious than the first. Logan realizes that something is wrong with the Harmonicandy, and now the four kids reunite to solve the mystery of the candy bar. Will they be able to solve the mystery?
          • blossomreader
            blossomreaderThursday, April 30, 2020 at 5:03 pm55 stars
            I love this sequel to The CandyMakers! (You can see my review for that!) This book is full of mystery and suspense, as well as lots of humor an excitement! The four kids from the previous book, Logan, Miles, Phillip, and Daisy, travel to different candy factories and need to solve the mystery of the Magic Bar, or more specifically, the cocoa bean For the Magic Bar. Yep you heard me, a magic cocoa bean! What does it do, and what could the kids do with it? Where did it come from, and who is behind this mystery? This book will surely blow your mind as you take a journey to places you've never been before, as you learn about candy that will make your mouth water. I highly recommend this book to everyone!
            • HappyFaceMonday, February 24, 2020 at 6:32 pm
              I have already read both of there books and they are a AMAZING! YOU SO HAVE TO READ THESE BOOKS! GO WENDY MASS YOU ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • lulubelle
                lulubelleWednesday, September 13, 2017 at 1:32 pm55 stars
                Super amazing! You should read the first book first, though. I loved it!
                • callie_b
                  callie_bSunday, September 10, 2017 at 9:52 am55 stars
                  Fans of The Candymakers, attention! This sequel is AMAZING! A must read for fans of the first book... I'm eagerly awaiting a third... Read it read it READ IT! It's: Exciting! Suspenseful! Surprising! Funny! And over all fabulous!! More later!😋
                  • hamsterlover5
                    hamsterlover5Sunday, September 25, 2016 at 10:13 am55 stars
                    I love her books
                    • jeffdaboss
                      jeffdabossSunday, August 7, 2016 at 4:22 pm
                      I pre-ordered this book and I cannot WAIT to read this sequel. GO CANDYMAKERS!