Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.096054
What if there were a place where you could get magical candy? Moon rocks that made you feel weightless. Jawbreakers that made you unbreakable. Or candy that gave animals temporary human intelligence and communication skills. (Imagine what your pet would say!) Four young friends, Nate, Summer, Trevor, and Pigeon, are befriended by Belinda White, the owner of a new candy shop on Main Street. However, the gray-haired, grandmotherly Mrs. White is not an ordinary candy maker. Her confections have magical side effects. Purposefully, she invites the kids on a special mission to retrieve a hidden talisman under Mt. Diablo Elementary School. However, Mrs. White is not the only magician in town in search of the ancient artifact rumored to be a fountain of youth. She is aware that Mr. Stott, the not-so-ordinary ice cream truck driver, has a few tricks of his own.
Hardcover, 358 pages
Published on September 11, 2007 by Shadow Mountain
ISBN-10: 159038783X
ISBN-13: 9781590387832
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tori3ghoul
    tori3ghoulTuesday, November 28, 2017 at 10:37 am
    I've read some of Brandon Mull's work before and am interested in this series. Magical candy that gives you unstoppable powers? Awesome! I would like to read this book soon.
    • littlegirl800
      littlegirl800Tuesday, November 7, 2017 at 4:14 pm
      this book is AMAZING! full of and fun action! its about a three boys pigeon and Trevor nate and summer who like to go on missions. but when the missions start to get dangerous will he friends split up?
      • kiriayakazuto
        kiriayakazutoThursday, April 7, 2016 at 5:26 pm55 stars
        If you like magic candy, ferocious villains, and humour then this is the book for you. The main character Nate is the best.
        • jolly hollyTuesday, April 7, 2015 at 10:35 am
          great book hope they mahe more besides the first and 2 and 3 ones!
          • bookloverforevTuesday, April 7, 2015 at 10:29 am
            If you like action magic candy that you wish was real ? Then this is the book for you ! don't forget if your Brandon's fan of his books read The Candy Shop War Arcade Catastrophe
            • ?Friday, November 7, 2014 at 11:57 am
              I think the candy shop war is one of the best books ever
              • otter
                otterFriday, January 3, 2014 at 3:18 pm
                This is very fun to read!
                • spring
                  springThursday, November 28, 2013 at 5:32 am55 stars
                  I read this book it is very fun.Like you do not know what will happen next.It was very surprising I think my little sister would get scared if she read it. I loved it ; D !!!!!
                  • algebra8591
                    algebra8591Wednesday, November 13, 2013 at 2:20 pm55 stars
                    amazing book. can't believe so few people have heard of it. read the whole series
                    • 20tmessine
                      20tmessineTuesday, December 11, 2012 at 2:14 pm55 stars
                      this book is about a kid named Nate and his friends. Nate and his friends have to stop evil miss white and make it so miss white doesn't get to the fountain of youth. Willmiss white be stopped or will miss white ruel forever.