The Boy Project: Notes and Observations of Kara McAllister

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.547584
For anyone who's ever felt that boys were a different species....



Wildly creative seventh grader Kara McAllister just had her best idea yet. She's going to take notes on all of the boys in her grade (and a few elsewhere) in order to answer a seemingly simple question: How can she get a boyfriend?

But Kara's project turns out to be a lot more complicated than she imagined. Soon there are secrets, lies, and an embarrassing incident in the boy's bathroom. Plus, Kara has to deal with mean girls, her slightly spacey BFF, and some surprising uses for duct tape. Still, if Kara's research leads her to the right boy, everything may just be worth it. . . .

Full of charts and graphs, heart and humor, this hilarious debut will resonate with tweens everywhere.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on January 1, 2012 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545345154
ISBN-13: 9780545345156
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • destinyMonday, October 24, 2016 at 8:01 am
    its okay i mean kindaf nice
    • iris Tuesday, March 8, 2016 at 10:07 am
      this book very great
      • outlatar001
        outlatar001Tuesday, March 8, 2016 at 9:18 am55 stars
        love it
        • k_cinderella_k
          k_cinderella_kWednesday, November 11, 2015 at 9:49 am
          This book is so funny yet amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          • cutiepuppys
            cutiepuppysFriday, October 25, 2013 at 5:30 am44 stars
            well i desided to read this book fuse my friend read it and liked it and we have a lot of the same likes and simerlaredys
            • lagoona9018
              lagoona9018Saturday, December 15, 2012 at 2:20 pm
              This is a wonderful book and funny
              • lolsmartie
                lolsmartieWednesday, May 30, 2012 at 2:10 pm55 stars
                i loved this book so far it is a great novel about a boyfriendless girl that really wants one and she goes a little far to get it from facing of with the queen of popularity to the boys bathroom read and tell me what you think
                • cadie
                  cadieTuesday, May 1, 2012 at 5:16 pm55 stars
                  Kara Mcallister is so funny i would reccomend it to everyone over the age of 9. read it read it read it
                  • kstar
                    kstarTuesday, May 1, 2012 at 11:42 am55 stars
                    THIS BOOK IS HILARIOUS!!! i TOTALLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU READ IT RIGHT NOWWW! and plus i love her name; Kara McAllister.