The Boxcar Children (The Boxcar Children Mysteries)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 2 - 5Grades 1 - 5O3.917087

Orphaned and alone but determined to stay together, Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden set off on their own and turned an abandoned boxcar into their home. The Boxcar Children, published over sixty-five years ago in 1942, has captured the imaginations of generations of readers. This Collector's Edition features the original artwork plus additional information about Gertrude Chandler Warner's life and work as it appeared in the 60th Anniversary Edition.

Hardcover, 168 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Albert Whitman & Company
ISBN-10: 0807508500
ISBN-13: 9780807508503
156 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nac
    nacWednesday, July 29, 2020 at 9:52 am55 stars
    Henry, Jesse, Violet, and Benny Alderare orphans. The only living relative they have left is their grandfather, but they are afraid that he wouldn't treat them right. So the four sibling live on the run, only to discover an old abandoned boxer and make it their home. These creative kids take junk and turn it into treasure. But when Violet gets sick, they are forced to go to a resident doctor, who cares for them. But then Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny are finally reunited with their grandfather, who they love. I enjoyed this book especially for the way they turned useless looking things into useful, fun, treasures. I enjoyed it alot.
    • annafantastic
      annafantasticThursday, July 16, 2020 at 12:43 am55 stars
      This is a super good book I loved it and started reading the other boxcar children books if I could I would give it a TEN star rating! This is one of my favorite series!
      • annafantastic
        annafantasticThursday, July 16, 2020 at 12:09 am55 stars
        Who loves a good book? I do and If you are looking for one then check this one out! Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden are siblings their parent's died and they have only one other relative to go to their grandfather. And they think he is mean only to discover later that he is a kind. The Alden's need some place to stay and they find a boxcar in the woods and during that time there was a storm. When it passed Henry went looking for a job while the other's went looking for a dump for anything useful when they went back to their home they went to pick blueberry's most of Benny's blueberry's went in his mouth. When Henry got home they had a surprise they found a dog! Well what happens next your wondering. Read the book to find out!
        • belle10
          belle10Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 12:22 pm55 stars
          I LOVED IT READ IT 17 TIMES!!!!!πŸ˜…πŸ€£πŸ˜„πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜πŸ˜†πŸ˜πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‹πŸ˜˜
          • Sofia LongThursday, February 13, 2020 at 1:05 pm
            Sharkboy and Lavagirl
            • ghost_dk_diemx
              ghost_dk_diemxFriday, December 20, 2019 at 6:28 pm55 stars
              (Review for Toono) So I saw one of my followers had wrote a review on the boxcar children and series and I started reading this series a few years ago. I am really enjoying and my followed is right it is a good series and there's so many. She said "You will never run out" which is absolutely true. Although some of the parts can be sad and a lot exciting I just think it's a good series for any ages and I think all the big mystery ones are my favorite. Thanks for writing that review toono and the idea. Read on!
              • toono
                toonoWednesday, December 18, 2019 at 8:31 pm55 stars
                I could never find a good book until I found these I totally recommend the whole series. there are about 200 of them so you will never run out. you can find them at almost all libraries. hope this helped!
                • lmhewlett
                  lmhewlettFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:52 am55 stars
                  This book is about Henry, Violet, Benny, and Jessie - they are orphans. These kids are working in the bakery, but they are forced to find somewhere else to go. They find a boxcar to live in and they learn to take care of themselves. This book is awesome because it’s surprising and full of excitement. It keeps you wanting more.
                  • herinixikakezu
                    herinixikakezuThursday, December 20, 2018 at 7:41 am55 stars
                    The Boxcar Children By Gertrud Chandler Werner Four children walked by a bakery. They were on an adventure and a few mystery along the way. If you’re an orphan, you might like this book because you can relate to it. They have a Grandfather but they think he is mean. They have lots of fun in there new home. [ I won't tell were or wot they live in] They are very independent in the next book they sleep on an island all by them self. I’ll bet you'll love this book.
                    • dragonk1ll3r
                      dragonk1ll3rFriday, October 26, 2018 at 10:14 am55 stars
                      like best book EVER : )