The Blood of Olympus

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grade 6n/a5.2111748

Though the Greek and Roman crew members of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
Fans
1079 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • mybooksandi
    mybooksandiSaturday, June 17, 2017 at 7:56 am33 stars
    Okay, so you remember the prophecy right? Well if you forgot, here it is- --Seven half bloods shall answer the call Two storm or fire the world must fall An oath to keep with a final breath And foes bear arms to the doors of death-- When I started this, it was good. It started on a good note so I kept on reading. But, Riordan's style changed, I felt like the novel was rushed. It was not a satisfying conclusion. I thought that Reyna and Nico's POV was boring. Because I honestly cared about my favorites, Percy and Annabeth and they didn't even have a POV. But, it was somewhat entertaining, I would give this novel three stars.
    • bookworm1215
      bookworm1215Thursday, June 15, 2017 at 1:30 pm55 stars
      The Blood of Olympus was a very good book. I liked it because of my interest in Greek Mythology. The main part of the story took place in Athens, Greece. I also enjoyed finding out who the characters' godly parents were. For example, a character named Percy Jackson's father was Poseidon, the god of the sea. Poseidon is my favorite Greek god. Another thing that I found interesting was how the author, Rick Riordan, wrote the story from multiple characters' points of view. Overall, I would definitely recommend the Blood of Olympus.
      • cronotarion
        cronotarionThursday, June 15, 2017 at 8:11 am
        This book is an awesome ending to the Heroes Of Olympus bringing the story-arc to a close, and opens up new story possibilities.
        • annabethluna
          annabethlunaTuesday, June 13, 2017 at 3:10 pm55 stars
          This awesome book is a continuation to house of hades and the group of friends split up into 2 groups. One has to stop the war between the Greek and Roman camps, while the other stops Gaea from being awaken. They both go through many trials and finally achieve their goals. This book is filled with suspense, action, and adventure, so you should definitely read it.
          • pikachu06
            pikachu06Monday, June 12, 2017 at 5:15 pm44 stars
            The blood of olympus is the final book in the Percy Jackson series. It is about the final battle between the gods and titans. I really liked it and recommend it.
            • hannah_kwonn
              hannah_kwonnMonday, June 12, 2017 at 2:00 pm55 starsFeatured
              Amazing book!! Rick Riordan has portrayed all the possible writing styles that make you crave and wish the book never ends!! With informational text about Greek gods and goddesses, Mr. Riordan did an amazing job describing gods, goddesses, monsters, demigods, etc!! The splash of romance was so cute, but stayed appropriate for tweens and teens. The Blood of Olympus was so good, it literally pulled me into the book. This book was amazing!!
              • Kandy_KrazyMonday, June 12, 2017 at 6:30 am
                I LOVE THIS BOOOOOOOOK!!!!!! (also no one out of the argo crew dies for very long)
                • cronotarion
                  cronotarionThursday, June 15, 2017 at 8:11 am
                  Dont Spoil
                • avatar1
                  avatar1Sunday, June 11, 2017 at 2:05 pm
                  I thought that Blood of Olympus explained very nicely how the story unfolded and also how they left with a not so specific ending so that there were many possibilities.
                  • annette
                    annetteSaturday, June 10, 2017 at 5:34 pm44 stars
                    I always love the books by the author Rick Riordan. I love how greek and roman mythology are tied in, but the only thing I didn't like was how Percy Jackson was more of a sidekick. ( I love the Percy book the lighting their and the movies.)
                    • zombiedude
                      zombiedudeThursday, June 8, 2017 at 3:51 pm
                      One of the best books so far in the series, can't wait until they make more movies of the books. This books keeps you entertained every page , always action or suspense is happening.