Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.139141
Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos.

Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school.

But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.

In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on September 20, 2016 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803738390
ISBN-13: 9780803738393
6 Book Reviews
  • cdog877
    cdog877over 2 years55 stars
    I liked this book
    • Jared29834over 2 years
      Have you Ever Wondered what it feels like being the Best Man? Well in this book you know, Richard Peck the Author of The Best Man The Protagonist is Archer is dealing with a lot of issues is Grandpa dies in towards the end of the book and his His teacher Mr. Mcleod reveals he's gay after bullies write on a kids head GAY, Uncle Paul and his Teacher Mr. Mcleod get married and are Same Sex Marriage that's what the book is about him being the best man of his Uncle's Wedding. The Setting takes place at the School and at Archer’s House. The Antagonist is A bully named Jackson when he threatens Archer in the first grade by pulling a knife on Archer in the Boys Bathroom because he wanted to cut the Chigago cubs logo on Archer's Jersey that day but never did after he got caught. The first conflict is When we find out that Grandpa died The Second Conflict is when Mr. Mcleod and Uncle Paul get Married. The Turning point in the Book is when Archer I recommend this book to People who are interested in gay marriage and people who like suspense I Like this book because it's really interesting and shocking especially when Grandpa dies and Mr. Mcleod and Uncle Paul get Married.
      • Hoolahoopaover 2 years
        its a good book
        • pandalover0715
          pandalover0715over 4 years55 stars
          I just started this book and am halfway through it, but I instantly love it. I recommend it!
          • sanper1617
            sanper1617almost 5 years55 stars
            Have you Ever Wondered what it feels like being the Best Man? Well in this book you know, Richard Peck the Author of The Best Man The Protagonist is Archer is dealing with a lot of issues is Grandpa dies in towards the end of the book and his His teacher Mr. Mcleod reveals he's gay after bullies write on a kids head GAY, Uncle Paul and his Teacher Mr. Mcleod get married and are Same Sex Marriage that's what the book is about him being the best man of his Uncle's Wedding. The Setting takes place at the School and at Archer’s House. The Antagonist is A bully named Jackson when he threatens Archer in the first grade by pulling a knife on Archer in the Boys Bathroom because he wanted to cut the Chigago cubs logo on Archer's Jersey that day but never did after he got caught. The first conflict is When we find out that Grandpa died The Second Conflict is when Mr. Mcleod and Uncle Paul get Married. The Turning point in the Book is when Archer I recommend this book to People who are interested in gay marriage and people who like suspense I Like this book because it's really interesting and shocking especially when Grandpa dies and Mr. Mcleod and Uncle Paul get Married.
            • jaroberts
              jarobertsalmost 5 years55 stars
              This is a good book, I read it two days ago and I loved it, even with all the drama. Archer Magill is such a great character. I love Peck's books.