The Bell Bandit (The Lemonade War Series)

Book 3 of 5 in the The Lemonade War Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.526419

Everything about this trip to Grandma’s house was different:

First, because of the fire, Mrs. Treski, Evan, and Jessie had driven up to Grandma’s two days after Christmas instead of the day before, missing Christmas with Grandma entirely.

Second, the fire had left a hole in the back kitchen wall big enough to drive a car through! And with Grandma in the hospital and not in her house, everything felt off.

Third, someone had climbed the long, slow slope of Lovell Hill to the top and had stolen the old iron bell hanging on its heavy wooden crossbeam.

Who on earth would steal the New Year’s Bell? And how could Grandma, Mrs.Treski, Evan, Jessie, and their neighbors ring in the New Year without it?

Like a modern-day Beverly Cleary, Ms. Davies writes with heart, humor, and honesty about the inevitability of profound change and reveals just how well she understands the complex emotions of the children.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on May 1, 2012 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547567375
ISBN-13: 9780547567372
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jini0710
    jini0710Sunday, June 23, 2019 at 8:34 am
    This is a Series of Lemonade War. The story is continued but I think this is the 3rd book. The main character is still Evan and Jessie. However, they are visiting there grandmother who burned her house with the stove.
    • cufyporepy
      cufyporepyTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 7:50 am
      it was good and I liked how it was a mystery
      • roscolover12
        roscolover12Thursday, September 15, 2016 at 2:47 pm
        Want to read this book. 1&2 were really good!!!!! ;)
        • memoiloveit
          memoiloveitFriday, June 17, 2016 at 12:18 pm
          After getting this book a few days ago, I think that even if you read the Lemonade War series books out of order, you still will be able to understand it well because the books can stand on their own without prior knowledge. It's more fun to read the books in order, but it doesn't matter since some of the books are part of the series just because of the characters, but not the plot.
          • nflchampion36
            nflchampion36Thursday, February 11, 2016 at 2:10 pm
            My teacher has the series
            • iggy303
              iggy303Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 7:38 am
              love it so much
              • b18
                b18Thursday, May 14, 2015 at 12:29 pmFeatured
                This is honestly a great book to read anytime you have time to read, or free time. All the characters have special personalities, and the characters aren't dull. If you loved the other Lemonade books then you'll also love this book so much! It is one of the best books I've seen in my whole entire life. The title totally fits within the book, "The Bell Bandit" it is perfect, then other than something else like "The Bell Theft". Once you've read like a chapter or so, you're gonna want to read more and more and more!
                • swimmer_girl02
                  swimmer_girl02Sunday, November 23, 2014 at 10:37 am33 stars
                  This is my rating
                  • swimmer_girl02
                    swimmer_girl02Sunday, November 23, 2014 at 10:37 am33 stars
                    OK. This title is the weirdest. First we had the lemonade conspiracy, then the who likes who, and then a bell thief.
                    • clairecreekside
                      clairecreeksideMonday, March 17, 2014 at 10:18 am55 stars
                      I loved this book. It's the third book in the lemonade sires. It starts out as a okay vacation and it doesn't get better! I loved this book!