The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 4)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 2 - 8W4.185079

NOTE: Cover art may vary and cannot be selected.

As an incoming freshman, Percy isn't expecting his high school orientation to be any fun. But when a mysterious mortal acquaintance appears, followed by demon cheerleaders, things quickly move from bad to worse.

In this fourth installment of the blockbuster series, time is running out as war between the Olympians and the evil Titan lord Kronos draws near. Even the safe haven of Camp Half Blood grows more vulnerable by the minute as Kronos's army prepares to invade its once impenetrable borders. To stop them, Percy and his demigod friends will set out on a quest through the Labyrinth-a sprawling underground world with stunning surprises at every turn. Full of humor and heart-pounding action, this fourth book promises to be their most thrilling adventure yet.
Hardcover, 361 pages
Published on May 6, 2008 by Hyperion Books for Children
ISBN-10: 1423101464
ISBN-13: 9781423101468
165 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nala1019
    nala1019Sunday, February 16, 2020 at 12:20 am55 stars
    I think this book is super! Full of action and drama! The characters are brave in the book. Anyone who dares to fight Cronus, lord of time, is brave to me.
    • gosuknowitall
      gosuknowitallSaturday, February 1, 2020 at 7:50 pm55 stars
      The Battle of Labyrinth is super fun. You get surprises and excitement from reading! You definitely would enjoy it if you have read the PJO series.
      • 13iamgroot
        13iamgrootWednesday, November 13, 2019 at 2:32 pm33 stars
        I only read this book because I wanted to finish the Percy Jackson series even though I didn't like it very much. Out of all the books in the series, I thought this one was the most creative. The idea of a big maze underground was pretty cool, and I liked that they included the mortal girl in the end as the key to getting through the maze. There was a lot of mystery in this book, because not every body was how they seemed and there were some characters that seemed unimportant but, in the end, they were key parts in the resolution of the story. In this particular addition to the series, Percy has to go on another quest (you guessed it) but this time he is not leading it, Annabeth is. They have to go into the underground labyrinth to try and stop Luke from finding a way to navigate it, and the crew faces many obstacles along the way. They meet many different creatures, find unexpected challenges, fight monsters, and are surprised to learn that characters you would have least expected to be important rise to the occasion and save the not-so-perfect half-bloods. Even though the Percy Jackson series did not live up to what I expected it to be, the fourth book was so far the best because it had deeper meanings behind the generic plot line that so many books are based off of. This book would be a good read for elementary to middle schoolers who enjoy fantasy.
        • heavytoothpaste
          heavytoothpasteWednesday, October 30, 2019 at 9:02 pm55 stars
          Percy, Annabeth, and Grover have to go into the labyrinth and save Nico de Angelo, who is the brother of Bianca de Angelo.
          • xeta
            xetaTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 8:50 am55 stars
            With fast-paced plot movement and nonstop laughs Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Battle of the Labyrinth was a great read. ~ Xeta <3
            • mcastudent
              mcastudentFriday, July 5, 2019 at 5:09 am55 stars
              This is is fun, witty and unmistakably one of the best books I've ever read - Xavier Gordon
              • lavoiem
                lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:43 pm44 stars
                Great book!! I love the series so much!!!!!!!!! I wish I could reread all of them without knowing what happens next but I’m not big on rereading books I e already read. Still I love this book so much and the characters all together make this book amazing and the whole series is just incredible!!!!!
                • pokemonlover405
                  pokemonlover405Saturday, March 16, 2019 at 4:17 pm55 stars
                  I love this book
                  • maireSunday, February 10, 2019 at 12:55 pm
                    I love rick! he is sooo cool.
                    • maidenkr
                      maidenkrWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 9:51 am55 stars
                      In this Percy Jackson book, it is different at camp. There is a new swords teacher, Quintes, and Mr.D is gone. When playing capture the flag Percy and Annabeth find an entrance to the Labyrinth, a Greek underground maze made by Daedalus. When they find out that the titan army has Kronos rising and is going to attack camp, Percy and his friends must do whatever it takes to keep Camp Half Blood safe. Who will win? Who will die in battle? Read “Percy Jackson: The Battle of the labyrinth” to find out. I really liked this book because it was full of action and adventure. The reading level is grades 2-8 but the interest level is grades 5-8. I think that people who are interested in Greek mythology and action would really enjoy this book.
                      • sdl
                        sdlThursday, January 31, 2019 at 11:05 am
                        love it I red all of the Percy Jackson books !