Claudia and Mean Janine: Full-Color Edition (The Baby-Sitters Club Graphix #4)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3U2.59257
This graphic novel adapted by Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of Smile, is now available in full color!

Claudia and her sister, Janine, may as well be from two different planets. Claudia, who pays more attention to her artwork and The Baby-sitters Club than her homework, feels like she can't compete with her perfect sister. Janine studies nonstop, gets straight As, and even takes college-level courses! But when something unexpected happens to the most beloved person in their family, will the sisters be able to put aside their differences?

Raina Telgemeier, using the signature style featured in her acclaimed graphic novels Smile and Sisters, perfectly captures all the drama and charm of the original novel!

Paperback, 176 pages
Published on November 1, 2008 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0439885175
ISBN-13: 9780439885171
60 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pinkmonkey9
    pinkmonkey9Friday, July 24, 2020 at 11:07 pm55 stars
    So I thought that this might have been one of my Favorite BSC books so far. In this book Claudia and Janine are fighting a lot, But It worked out. They where fighting Because Claudia thinks that Janine is a Know it all and Janine is always acting like she is dumb, But Janine Didn't mean to make her feel that way That is Just what Claudia thought. But it all worked out and they got to know each other better and Understand each other. One thing I was kind of sad about is Mimi had a stroke, But she was fine after a while she just did not know how to talk correctly or write and Some other things. But I was Kind of Worried about her but Then she was fine just needed to learn some things over again.
    • mistycool
      mistycoolTuesday, July 21, 2020 at 3:55 pm55 stars
      its about two sisters who cant get along when their granny falls ill and goes to the hospital and then they learn to get along finally.
      • willow123goma
        willow123gomaTuesday, June 23, 2020 at 2:54 pm55 stars
        This is the last one of these books with Raina Telgemier's art. I really will miss it. I really liked this book. It is about how Claudia and her ever-so-smart sister Janine learn to understand each other instead of being disagreeable to each other all the time. This is one of my favorites from Raina Telegemier, and I hope in the future I will ve able to find books just as good as this one.
        • swirlycool
          swirlycoolThursday, June 11, 2020 at 3:41 pm55 stars
          Claudia and her sister, Janine, are very different. They argue, and even though they do not know it, they both are jealous of each other in a way. When something happens, they realize they must put their differences aside and unite. Overall, I think this book was really funny, and I recommend it to people who enjoy other Baby Sitters Club books. I rate this book 5/5.
          • pizzagirl7
            pizzagirl7Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 12:58 pm55 stars
            Claudia and her sister Janine are always fighting ...one night Janine was helping Claudia study.Claudia started to be mad then they just where arguing again.Claudia thinks she acts like she is dumb and Janine thinks it's easy.after that Claudia goes to her grandma Mimi she helps her and explains it .Claudia and Mimi get worried my so well.they are pretty much bffs.after mimi falls and has to go to hospital Claudia thinks it's her fault since they are always arguing.does everything go ok???you'll have to read the book to find out!I recommend this book to all ages and I rate this book 5/5 stars 😁thanks for reading 📚!!!-Pizzagirl7
            • kensiethecutie2
              kensiethecutie2Friday, May 1, 2020 at 9:48 am55 stars
              Amazing book! A great read on how sisters can’t get along sometimes. A heart touching story of teamwork and friendship! I totally recommend this whole book series because I mean who isn’t obsessed!
              • sylvie55555
                sylvie55555Friday, May 1, 2020 at 9:38 am55 stars
                In the book Claudia and mean Janine, Claudia is having problems with her sister. She feels as if she is always being compared to her, and that everyone like her better than they like Claudia. But Claudia is also having problems with grades, and feels intimidated by Janine's genius. But when something happens to their beloved grandmother, Mimi, they must come together. Both for themselves and for Mimi. Through Baby-sitting, friendship, and family, Claudia learns an important lesson on life: that you are always lucky to have your family. I think that Raina Telgemeier did a great a great job adapting the book into Graphic novel form. The illustrations are amazing and they really add to the story. I love hoe the plot was not changed too much from the original story. There is still the same basic plot but there are subtle changes that make the book more modern. If you liked this book, check out the original Baby-Sitters Club series! Happy Reading!
                • sylvie55555
                  sylvie55555Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 8:26 am55 stars
                  In this fourth book of the baby sitters club series Claudia and the baby sitter club decide to have a playgroup. However, Claudia's grandmother Mimi has a stroke. Will Mimi get better? Will the playgroup be a success? Read the book to find out! This is an amazing book!!
                  • 3bears
                    3bearsMonday, June 24, 2019 at 12:54 pm44 stars
                    Claudia and her older sister fight over many things, showcasing how siblings do not always get along. As with the rest of the books in the Baby-Sitters Club series, I recommend this book for ages 7+.
                    • avalonlover31
                      avalonlover31Thursday, June 13, 2019 at 11:23 am
                      This is a book where you can pretty much just relate to if you have a sibbling like I have 3 sisters and 3 brothers like it’s just that or if you don’t it kind of tells you what it’s like.