The Austere Academy (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 5)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12V6.733697

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

As the three Baudelaire orphans warily approach their new home Prufrock Preparatory School, they can't help but notice the enormous stone arch bearing the school's motto Memento Mori or "Remember you will die." This is not a cheerful greeting and certainly marks an inauspicious beginning to a very bleak story just as we have come to expect from Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events, the deliciously morbid set of books that began with The Bad Beginning and only got worse.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 8, 2000 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064408639
ISBN-13: 9780064408639
49 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • addyl97
    addyl97Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 4:11 pm55 starsFeatured
    This book is the fifth book in the series and follows the adventures of the Baudelaire children. Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are orphans who lost their parents in a mysterious house fire. Mr. Poe, the children’s guardian, takes them to a boarding school called Prufrock Preparatory School. The school’s motto is Memento Mori, which is Latin for “Remember You Will Die.” The children go to Vice Principal Nero’s office. Nero, who is very arrogant, welcomes them to the school and explains that the academy’s advanced computer system will help keep Count Olaf, the children’s devious enemy, far away from them. Nero then tells the children that they will be living in the Orphans’ Shack because they do not have parental permission to sleep in the dormitories. I connect with this book because not knowing what's next can be scary and for the Baudelaire children, they don't have their parents there to tell them anything. I give this book five stars because of how the story is portrayed and the unknown of what's next.
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Wednesday, June 12, 2019 at 11:08 am55 stars
      Series of Unfortunate Events-Book the Fifth is as great as the others! The Baudelaire orphans are sent to boarding school, where Count Olaf finds them once again. At boarding school, the Baudelaire children meet the other pair of orphans that live there. They become fast friends, but trouble lurks the Baudelaire orphans everywhere. Count Olaf manages to escape once again, with the Quagmires, their new friends! This book is great for people who like suspense and mystery!
      • wiccanbat666
        wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:20 pm55 stars
        This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
        • zoieTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 9:36 am
          One reason i liked this book was because it tells of the challenges the Baudaliers had at schools and homes . The kids meet two children that had another but lost . this is the battle of Carmileta and the head of the school that he runs and the librarian tries to help and jkoins the vfd and fall in love with a man in the vfd .
          • olliebob
            olliebobWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 12:55 pm55 starsFeatured
            I love A Series of Unfortunate Events! I think this is my favorite book in the series. The Baudelaires have been sent to an evil villain, a reptile enthusiast, a woman who's afraid of everything, and a man called Sir who apparently does not know what child labor laws are, and now they are sent to a wretched boarding school. Vice Principal Nero is a violin-obsessed, mimicking, and very, very rude person. The orphans are forced to live in a shack with ugly wallpaper, dripping fungus, and VERY territorial crabs. However, there is one good thing about the school. They make friends with two wonderful triplets named Duncan and Isadora, who are also orphans. But when Count Olaf shows up at the school in yet another ridiculous disguise, the orphans wonder how they can ever get away from this ruthless villain. Between S.O.R.E., comprehensive exams, and owing a terrible violinist MANY bags of candy, can the Baudelaires and their friends manage to stay out of Count Olaf's clutches?
            • fnafic
              fnaficMonday, May 7, 2018 at 11:36 am55 stars
              my fave book in the series
              • Alex S.Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 8:43 am
                AMAZING
                • Alex S.Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 8:43 am
                  This book is really good and I really love this series. I even watch the show on netflix. This series is amazing i give it a 10/10.
                  • fnafic
                    fnaficMonday, May 7, 2018 at 11:38 am55 stars
                    I've also seen the Netflix series and I love it
                  • cowsarefat
                    cowsarefatTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:49 am55 stars
                    This book is awesome!
                    • cowsarefatTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:45 am
                      Hi this book is sad.