Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.769306

Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny Swift, an up-and-coming race car driver.

Through Denny, Enzo has gained tremendous insight into the human condition, and he sees that life, like racing, isn't simply about going fast. Using the techniques needed on the race track, one can successfully navigate all of life's ordeals.

On the eve of his death, Enzo takes stock of his life, recalling all that he and his family have been through: the sacrifices Denny has made to succeed professionally; the unexpected loss of Eve, Denny's wife; the three-year battle over their daughter, Zoë, whose maternal grandparents pulled every string to gain custody. In the end, despite what he sees as his own limitations, Enzo comes through heroically to preserve the Swift family, holding in his heart the dream that Denny will become a racing champion with Zoë at his side. Having learned what it takes to be a compassionate and successful person, the wise canine can barely wait until his next lifetime, when he is sure he will return as a man.

A heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope, The Art of Racing in the Rain is a beautifully crafted and captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life . . . as only a dog could tell it.

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on May 3, 2011 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062015745
ISBN-13: 9780062015747
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ellieThursday, November 8, 2018 at 9:43 am
    i love it
    • frecklefacec
      frecklefacecThursday, November 8, 2018 at 7:06 am
      i would like to read this book it sounds interesting
      • school_for_life
        school_for_lifeTuesday, November 6, 2018 at 2:42 pm33 stars
        I am reading the book Racing in the Rain right now and its pretty good so far. It gets kinda sad when the mom has a head injury but its been pretty good so far. I stoped reading it because right now im reading a dogs purpose but when im done with that book im gonna jump straight to this book.
        • Brian SmargiassFriday, September 14, 2018 at 11:00 am
          Simply the most amazing book i’ve ever read. Enzo tweaked my soul.
          • MayaSaturday, June 16, 2018 at 2:28 pm
            Very good book!! It is heartwarming, sweet, sad, and funny. Definetly a good summer reading book! I love this book and do not remember an inappropriate, but this story id a harder read for some kids. This book makes you think deeper. Stay healthy!!
            • PandaMonday, December 25, 2017 at 7:31 pm
              I have just started the book, and it is really good so far, I'm only 11 but, I'm fine. The words are really meaningful, some of the words, aren't some words I would pronounce, but they make the story funny, I just now realized that there is a scene that is not very appropriate for kids, and what page is that on because I really want have a heads up on that scene. I really seggest this book, doubt the one scene, it is very heart warming, kind, and loving, if you animal lovers are searching for a book, I recommend this book.
              • mysteryTuesday, August 29, 2017 at 5:42 am
                so sad :(
                • spagetti
                  spagettiMonday, November 9, 2015 at 9:27 pm
                  I loved this book. It does have one scene is not appropriate for younger kids. but the story is heart warming and beautifully told by the perspective of a dog. It weaves in a very strong racing auto racing metaphor (actually describes a lot of elements which were quite interesting) throughout the book that parallels life. Highly recommend you find a copy.
                  • rosethorn
                    rosethornSunday, March 24, 2013 at 10:49 am55 stars
                    A heartwarming story, you can't help but love it!
                    • fencingchick
                      fencingchickSunday, March 24, 2013 at 9:34 am55 stars
                      It is so sweet and I have read it like 10 times!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Huffypuf wrote:

                      Wow, this is an awesome book!
                      Squirm

                      Huffypuf wrote:

                      Wow, this is a super awesome book!
                      Squirm

                      Nathan wrote:

                      The book is amazing after i read...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      not that cool wrote:

                      i would not by this it will be s...
                      Weird But True Christmas: 300 Fe...

                      Our Apps and Plugins