The Adoration of Jenna Fox (The Jenna Fox Chronicles)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 8Y3.862853

Who is Jenna Fox? Seventeen-year-old Jenna has been told that is her name. She has just awoken from a coma, they tell her, and she is still recovering from a terrible accident in which she was involved a year ago. But what happened before that? Jenna doesn't remember her life. Or does she? And are the memories really hers?

This fascinating novel represents a stunning new direction for acclaimed author Mary Pearson. Set in a near future America, it takes readers on an unforgettable journey through questions of bio-medical ethics and the nature of humanity. Mary Pearson's vividly drawn characters and masterful writing soar to a new level of sophistication.

The Adoration of Jenna Fox is a 2009 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on April 29, 2008 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0805076689
ISBN-13: 9780805076684
6 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nellie01
    nellie01Tuesday, May 7, 2019 at 2:28 pm55 stars
    the best book every
    • mysteryturtle24
      mysteryturtle24Wednesday, September 19, 2018 at 8:26 am55 starsFeatured
      I found this book at my school library and picked it up because I needed a book to read. It turned out to be so much more than a time-filler, however. The story begins with Jenna Fox, who has just woken up from a year-long coma. She now lives in a house in California with her parents and grandmother, who do not let her leave. Jenna is regaining her memory and she starts to find herself again, find out what happened to her, and who she really is. A great book for middle-grade readers who love a mix of sci-fi and realistic fiction.
      • pinkpupWednesday, March 1, 2017 at 11:01 pm
        love this book
        • sonia15
          sonia15Tuesday, March 8, 2016 at 7:22 am
          This book review will state everything you need to know about this book in order to decide if you want to read it. The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson is one of the most unique books I have ever read. This book is amazing, it's nothing like I have ever read before. I would give it five stars! I think this book is so unique because of the story behind it. The characters are one of a kind, especially Jenna, you never really figure her out in this book she's always a mystery. The setting is different too, from the start you can tell something's different about this book. In the book it shows that Jenna doesn't really know what's going on. Her parents have given her all these home videos but she still doesn't remember anything from before the terrible car accident she was in. There is a lot of thinking in this book but, even with that you never know what's going to happen next.As far as I know there really isn't anything like this book around, it is a one of a kind. Although there are two more books in this series. This book is really truly amazing, it just drags you in and you can't stop until you've read the whole book. This is definitely more of a girly book, but not completely. It's more for people who like novels set in the future, kind of like dystopian books.This is the first book in the series the two books after it are The Fox Inheritance and Fox Forever.
          • 13ao
            13aoWednesday, October 7, 2015 at 3:56 pm
            i thnk this is a really good book because its about a girl who has just woken up from a coma and i liked that because she didnt let nothing get in her way of going to school and keep on studing , i cant wait to read the next book
            • mamic
              mamicThursday, November 7, 2013 at 4:50 pm44 stars
              This book was an interesting story, how a teenage girl named Jenna Fox wakes up from an year-long coma to find that she can't remember who she was. The truth is beyond impossible, and this book is a great adventure.