Take the Reins (Canterwood Crest #1)

Book 1 of 18 in the Canterwood Crest Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.445252
When Sasha Silver and her horse, Charm, arrive on the campus of the elite Canterwood Crest Academy, Sasha knows that she's in trouble. She's not exactly welcomed with open arms. One group of girls in particular is used to being the best, the brightest, and the prettiest on the team, and when Sasha shows her skills in the arena, the girls' claws come out.

Sasha is determined to prove that she belongs at Canterwood. Will she rise to the occasion and make the advanced riding team by the end of her first semester? Or will the pressure send Sasha packing?
Paperback, 256 pages
Published on January 27, 2009 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416958401
ISBN-13: 9781416958406
9 Book Reviews
  • WinterRabbitFriday, July 24, 2020 at 3:29 am
    I looovvvvveee this these books i have every single one one even specials like Chosen and Home for christmas i have read all of them at least twice i am currently rereading them but i lost my copy of city secrets. I love all the characters from Saha to Lauren i also like characters like Callie and Chloe and Paige even the mean ones like Jasmine. People in my class say igs babyish that i like these but they should try!!! Anyway its very easy to relate because I ride to. ANYWAY READ THESE BOOKS SOOO AWSOME!!!!! love your work Jesica Burkhart.
    • Lab LoverFriday, September 6, 2019 at 5:05 pm
      I love this book because ti has horses and I love horses!!!
      • hedgeguin2
        hedgeguin2Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 9:31 am44 stars
        This book is about Sasha and her horse Charm, who arrive at Canterwood Crest Academy for Sasha and Charm to learn new things about horse skills, and school work. But not everyone at Canterwood is nice, especially the Trio, who’s leader, Heather, got hit by Sasha’s horse, only to make her hate Sasha. Sasha has to be strong and defiant to go through this adventure!
        • horse4
          horse4Thursday, June 18, 2015 at 1:36 pm55 stars
          This series is the best EVER!!!!!! Right now I'm on book 15. This series has me hooked. If you have not read this book you have to. I have finally found an amazing horse book series with action and suspense. Jessica Burkhart has to be the best author ever!!!!!!!!!
          • ceecee3
            ceecee3Sunday, December 28, 2014 at 4:47 am55 stars
            I love this series. It is about a girl named Sasha who moves to a boarding school with an equestrian program, called Canterwood Crest. In the 1st super special (before book 13) they have a new main character, Lauren. I'm up to the book 14, and this whole series is great! I love your writing, Jessica Burkhart!
            • soccergirl00
              soccergirl00Saturday, December 27, 2014 at 6:30 am55 stars
              It is one of the best books I have ever read, with all the drama and suspense.
              • nene123
                nene123Tuesday, June 17, 2014 at 10:54 am55 stars
                i LOVE this book because it has lots of drama in it also all the horses!
                • iconicdreams
                  iconicdreamsWednesday, January 23, 2013 at 12:39 pm
                  i am reading this book right now and i really like it my friend recemended it and she made a really good choice thanks to her i love this author
                  • redruby
                    redrubySunday, October 21, 2012 at 8:53 am55 stars
                    This is one of my favorite books. A absolute must read. People will love. I'm in the middle of the 4th book. And I know people will love this series.