Kids Books - Classics Books

Matilda (Random House Modern Classics)

Matilda (Random House Modern Classics)

By Roald Dahl
4.69
250 ratings299 reviews
  • valench
    valench33 stars
    Written by: Roald Dahl Illustrated by: Quentin Blake Reviewed by: Valentina Ch (age: 9) Matilda is a five year old girl that has two bad, evil, nasty, ugly parents. She learns to read and write on her own. She also starts going to school with the other five year old children but she is very...
The Dark Is Rising

The Dark Is Rising

By Susan Cooper
4.33
6 ratings6 reviews
  • elliotl20
    elliotl2055 stars
    This was a really good book. This is a book where they combined the whole series into one book. Although it's a little long, it's really good. I think that this is one of the more special and interesting books I have read. The author has a really good idea where he incorporates so many characters...
After the Funeral (Agatha Christie Collection)

After the Funeral (Agatha Christie Collection)

By Agatha Christie
4.0
1 ratings1 reviews
  • eyp
    eyp44 stars
    It is a classical christe mystery.
Pat the Bunny

Pat the Bunny

By Dorothy Kunhardt
4.67
3 ratings3 reviews
  • godismybff
    godismybff55 stars
    I read this when I was very little. It kept me very busy, for hours. I recommend giving this to your little brother or sister.
The Giver (The Giver Quartet)

The Giver (The Giver Quartet)

By Lois Lowry
4.45
241 ratings243 reviews
  • callie_b
    callie_b55 stars
    I just finished reading this book, and it was great! Pale-eyed Jonas grew up in a world of Sameness, where colors and feelings don't exist, and there are many rules. When each child of the community turns 12, there is a ceremony in which the town Elders assign each child a job that will continue ...
Sarah, Plain and Tall

Sarah, Plain and Tall

By Patricia MacLachlan
3.57
7 ratings6 reviews
  • jhughes
    Ms. Hughes55 stars
    Anna, the brother to Caleb and the daughter of Jacob tells a beautiful story of their life on the plains out west. Mama died after giving birth to Caleb and their happiness faded. There was no singing...until Papa put an add in the paper for a wife. Sarah takes a chance and responds back. Thi...
Mr. Popper's Penguins

Mr. Popper's Penguins

By Richard and Florence Atwater
4.0
2 ratings7 reviews
  • mnmgod1
    to me this is a classic when mr. popper gets a present from his hero in antartica and you'd never guess what it was ill give you a hint its in the title ... a penguin they name this penguin captin cook but when they found out that captain cook was a girl they ended up with 8 more penguins. Then ...
Where the Red Fern Grows

Where the Red Fern Grows

By Wilson Rawls
4.54
79 ratings109 reviews
  • leap415
    leap41555 stars
    SPOILER ALERT!!! IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS STORY, DO NOT READ! SPEAK NOW OR FOREVER HOLD YOUR PEACE!!! 3...2...1...Where the Red Fern Grows is a heart-melting story about two coon hounds, Little Ann the brains and Old Dan the brawn, that can't survive without each other. Billy, their determined t...
The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

By Jeanne Birdsall
4.43
21 ratings27 reviews
  • smileyguy246
    smileyguy24644 stars
    With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. The Penderwick sisters are home on Gardam Street and re...
The Penderwicks at Point Mouette

The Penderwicks at Point Mouette

By Jeanne Birdsall
4.75
4 ratings4 reviews
  • bluff
    I found this book at the school library and when I read the back, it seemed really interesting so I borroed it for winter break.

Recent Kids Book Reviews

booklover wrote:

oh and witches and magic evil magic
Warren the 13th and The All-Seei...

booklover wrote:

this a great book for people who...
Warren the 13th and The All-Seei...

booklover wrote:

best book ever
The Lemonade War (The Lemonade W...