Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6T5.544825

Jake Semple is a scary kid. Word has it that he burned down his old school and then was kicked out of every other school in his home state. Only weeks into September, the middle school in Traybridge, North Carolina, has thrown him out, too.

Now there's only one place left that will take him -- a home school run by the most outrageous, forgetful, chaotic, quarrelsome family you'll ever meet. Each and every Applewhite is an artist through and through -- except E.D., the smart, scruffy girl with a deep longing for order and predictability. E.D. and Jake, so nearly the same age, are quickly paired in the family's first experiment in "cooperative education."

The two clash immediately, of course. The only thing they have in common is the determination to survive the family's eccentricities.

In Stephanie S. Tolan's hilarious tale, a local production of The Sound of Music directed, stagecrafted, choreographed, and costumed by Apple-whites -- brings the family together and shows E.D. and Jake the value of the special gifts they've had all along.

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on April 24, 2012 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064410447
ISBN-13: 9780064410441
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • dragonfireboss
    dragonfirebossFriday, June 1, 2018 at 2:53 pm55 stars
    The book is supper the best. You should really check it out it is interesting and funny. I love the ending. YOU SHOULD READ THE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • armcginn
      armcginnWednesday, September 27, 2017 at 5:44 pm55 stars
      this book is EXTRAORDINARY and irresistible, this book is also an amazing, inspiring tale of change
      • huntermoon
        huntermoonWednesday, June 17, 2015 at 7:30 am
        This book is funny and not quite as low-reading-level as it looks. I recommend this book to anyone between the ages of 8 and 13.
        • princesspopular
          princesspopularThursday, February 26, 2015 at 12:45 pm55 stars
          I loved it. It is so funny.I would recommend it to anyone under the age of 18. It fol of of exsiting avents. you will love it.
          • abbez
            abbezTuesday, July 16, 2013 at 8:43 am
            This book was amazing the ending was the best because it teaches you that a really rude kid like Jake can change his ways. He turned out to be a really nice person and an excellent actor. My favorite character was E.D. She was a very organized person like me!!!!
            • hannajuku
              hannajukuSaturday, June 22, 2013 at 7:41 am55 stars
              "Surviving the Applewhites" is a funny and unique story. It is about a bad-mannered teenager named Jake Semple who is sent to live with a quirky family - the Applewhites. Here, he discovers his true self and talent, and even makes new friends. I would definitely recommend this novel!
              • christin
                christinWednesday, May 30, 2012 at 2:14 pm
                i love thiss it is so awesome and socool i cant wait for suummer vacation i am going to wisconsen my name is christina

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                e06
                e06 wrote:

                This is perfect for summer! I l...
                The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale o...

                applemango
                applemango wrote:

                To me this book just seemed unin...
                Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...

                applemango
                applemango wrote:

                The reason why, in the first pla...
                Samantha Spinner and the Super-S...

                MYSTERYGAL7 wrote:

                So good and it was really relata...
                Ghosts