Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.43607
Sunny Lewin has been packed off to Florida to live with her grandfather for the summer. At first she thought Florida might be fun -- it is the home of Disney World, after all. But the place where Gramps lives is no amusement park. It's full of . . . old people. Really old people.

Luckily, Sunny isn't the only kid around. She meets Buzz, a boy who is completely obsessed with comic books, and soon they're having adventures of their own: facing off against golfball-eating alligators, runaway cats, and mysteriously disappearing neighbors. But the question remains -- why is Sunny down in Florida in the first place? The answer lies in a family secret that won't be secret to Sunny much longer. . .
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on August 25, 2015 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545741653
ISBN-13: 9780545741651
40 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • SAY CHEESE!Thursday, May 7, 2020 at 1:14 pm
    TO: Kaia FROM: Say Cheese! This was a really good book. By the way, there are TWO new Sunny books, SWING IT SUNNY and SUNNY ROLLS THE DICE. Check 'em out!
    • Kaia Wednesday, October 9, 2019 at 9:54 pm
      This book (I just read) is really easy!! Ithink only 4th grade and older could understand the book easier. It’s really good.. and I’m in 6th grade!!! Thank you. Hopefully maybe number 2 will come out. πŸ˜‹
      • princessari
        princessariTuesday, October 1, 2019 at 11:23 am44 stars
        I think that this book is amazing for 5th grade . This is a simple book that anyone can read you should read this book because i is about a vaction. A girl named sunny went on a plane to florida by herself to visit her grandfather. She thougt she was going to disney land but no she went to an elderly home. She did not enjoy her summer at first but then she did she meet a boy at the golf center and they started to have fun. read sunny side up to find what the rest of her summer was.
        • shayshaygirl25
          shayshaygirl25Wednesday, August 21, 2019 at 6:17 am55 stars
          sunny goes to florida to stay with her grandpa!!
          • inmemoryofcpr
            inmemoryofcprSunday, June 30, 2019 at 12:37 pm44 stars
            When Sunny goes to Florida to where her grandpa lives, Sunny recounts the stories of her brother taking drugs. Every time she sees her grandpa smoking, it makes her worry even more so Sunny tells him not to. While she tries to keep her sunny side up, Sunny finally realizes something. I would recommend this for fans of Raina Telgeimer and Lisa Greenwald. This book was very fun to read but it could use some improvement. Some parts were sort of boring and the flashbacks weren't easy to seperate. Other than that, I really enjoyed this book.
            • dancergirl1010
              dancergirl1010Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at 10:08 am55 stars
              Very easy read! The story kept my interest and I wish it was longer so that I could have kept reading. It was a very good book.
              • zzayumi
                zzayumiTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 1:57 pm55 stars
                I really like this book! It is about a girl named Sunny, who has and older brother named Dale, who is negative and always grumpy and does bad things like smoking when nobody is watching. Poor Sunny, who used to love Dale, who used to be very nice, but now he doesn't even care about Sunny. One Day, Dale punched Sunny, so her parents said that she should go to her grandpa's house, which is in Florida. In Florida, she met a boy named Buzz. He loved superheroes just like Sunny, and Sunny now hangs out with Buzz. Sunny tries everything she can do to make Dale happy to be with her again. Will Dale ever be happy being with Sunny one day?
                • pizzagirl7
                  pizzagirl7Tuesday, August 20, 2019 at 12:40 pm55 stars
                  Great review πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸΏπŸ‘πŸΏπŸ‘πŸΏ
                • Spaced outThursday, February 28, 2019 at 6:35 pm
                  I love this book! I mean, it is sad. Especially the bro.
                  • pizzagirl7
                    pizzagirl7Thursday, December 20, 2018 at 1:31 pm55 stars
                    OMG THIS IS LIKE THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!
                    • HiMonday, February 26, 2018 at 2:41 pm
                      It's drama and crazy which I luove.\