Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3U2.934852
Ten-year-old Sugar lives on the River Road sugar plantation along the banks of the Mississippi. Slavery is over, but laboring in the fields all day doesn't make her feel very free. Thankfully, Sugar has a knack for finding her own fun, especially when she joins forces with forbidden friend Billy, the white plantation owner's son.

Sugar has always yearned to learn more about the world, and she sees her chance when Chinese workers are brought in to help harvest the cane. The older River Road folks feel threatened, but Sugar is fascinated. As she befriends young Beau and elder Master Liu, they introduce her to the traditions of their culture, and she, in turn, shares the ways of plantation life. Sugar soon realizes that she must be the one to bridge the cultural gap and bring the community together. Here is a story of unlikely friendships and how they can change our lives forever.

From Jewell Parker Rhodes, the author of Ninth Ward (a Coretta Scott King Honor Book and a Today show Al's Book Club for Kids pick), here's another tale of a strong, spirited young girl who rises beyond her circumstances and inspires others to work toward a brighter future.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on May 7, 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316043052
ISBN-13: 9780316043052
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kerehoxenasocy
    kerehoxenasocyTuesday, November 20, 2018 at 7:38 am
    So far I have read about this girl named sugar and she hates sugar and I think that is weird because her name is sugar
    • blackcat23
      blackcat23Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 9:43 am44 stars
      I like this book because it's about a 10 year old girl who's parents aren't there for her; her dad went north and her mom died of pnemonia. So the book is generally about a girl brings two 'worlds' together. At the end when she was in the house fire I didn't think she would make it.
      • FriendFriendluvFriday, June 2, 2017 at 6:55 pm
        This book is super cool! I fell in deep love with the main character and the plot is so interesting and thought provoking! This book hooks you on the very beginning and takes you on a amazing historical fiction ride! Sugar's story is so inspiring and unique. The book is so special and deserves to become a movie! There is so many likable characters and so much character development! This book could not get any better! Anybody will love this book it is just too good to be true! So many jaw-dropping moments and it is such an enjoyable read and absolutely worth your time!!!!! :) LOVE IT!!!!!
        • curry23
          curry23Wednesday, February 8, 2017 at 11:06 am55 stars
          It a really good book if you are looking for an adventure book, this is the right book for you!!.
          • dancegirl_j2006
            dancegirl_j2006Wednesday, January 11, 2017 at 11:44 am55 stars
            OMG!!! this book is soooo good. You guys have to read. it is about an african american slave working and having a rough life. You will go along with her in her adventures.
            • dancegirl_t2005
              dancegirl_t2005Wednesday, January 11, 2017 at 11:35 am55 stars
              I read this book because everything that people had told me about it made it sound very interesting and so once I got it i read it and I personally really liked it. I have also recently read other books by the author Jewell Parker Rhodes and the books that I read were very good.
              • CuteBunniesWednesday, December 21, 2016 at 9:19 am
                There are few books about the evil of slavery. This is one of those few books. There are also even fewer books with Chinese people in them. This is one of those even fewer books. However, this is the only book that significantly combines African American slaves with Chinese slaves and tells you that sugar (the food) is not so sweet after all. This book tells you the stories of be'er rabbit without the extras like the tar baby and the dumb bear so you can hear the real version of Briar Rabbit. Before I read this, I thought that only African Americans were enslaved.
                • diana23
                  diana23Friday, November 4, 2016 at 6:40 am55 stars
                  I liked this book a lot. This book talks about a girl name Sugar in slavery times and she faces a lot of different things.
                  • Diana23Friday, September 16, 2016 at 6:44 am
                    I liked this book a lot. This book talks about a girl name Sugar in the slavery times and she faces a lot of different things
                    • zzzxxx
                      zzzxxxSunday, April 3, 2016 at 9:39 am55 stars
                      This book takes you though a journey of a black girl named sugar in the slavery times. Sugar faces a lot of different things and is a wonderful book for 4-5 graders. I recommend this book for 4-5 graders.