Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a3.125208
That's the way the cookie crumbles!

Yum! Our magic mirror has dropped me and my brother, Jonah, into the story of Hansel and Gretel. If we're lucky, we may even get to taste the cake-house...

But we didn't count on accidentally getting trapped. The real Hansel and Gretel are on the run, and Jonah and I have taken their place. And the witch is making a kid casserole for dinner...

Now we have to:
- Avoid being eaten
- Pretend our dog is a cat
- Learn to make kale smoothies
- Befriend a talking duck

Or we may never make it back to our home sweet home!
Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on November 29, 2016 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545851068
ISBN-13: 9780545851060
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jahin muntahaWednesday, June 10, 2020 at 10:55 am
    this is the first book I ever read in whatever after series I love it a lot and now I only have a few books left in the series. good as gold (sadly not made yet) sink or swim and bad hair day!
    • ileen
      ileenWednesday, June 10, 2020 at 8:37 am44 stars
      This book was a fun one, but I have read books that are still better. Abbey and her brother goon adventures together, and this time they are in the story of Hansel and Gretel, and Hansel and Gretel change places with Abbey and her brother.
      • bookfan2008
        bookfan2008Wednesday, May 20, 2020 at 7:09 am55 stars
        Great book! So today Abby, her dog, and brother get dropped into the story of hansel and gretel! They were really excited because they thought they would see a candy house... But instead they got trapped! The real actual Hansel and Gretel have escaped and now Abby and Jonah have tooken there place. And worse that that they might be eaten because the witch is making kid casserole for dinner!! UH OH! They have to figure out so many things to help them get home that are really hard for example try not to become eaten a nd more!
        • cupcakeq
          cupcakeqThursday, April 23, 2020 at 7:22 pm
          I have to read this I've never read this book in the series but it looks GREAT if u follow me ill follow u XOXO_Cupcakeq
          • ccswishingstar
            ccswishingstarSaturday, July 20, 2019 at 11:27 am33 stars
            The magic mirror brings Abby, Jonah, and Prince into the story of Hansel and Gretel! They might even get a taste of the witch's cake house! But they didn't
            • natcat13
              natcat13Friday, May 31, 2019 at 9:50 am55 stars
              In this book Abby and Jonah go into the story of Hansel and Gretel. When Hansel and Gretel switch places with Abby and Jonah what will happen?
              • hollowitz
                hollowitzMonday, July 23, 2018 at 7:41 pm44 stars
                It was a really good read!
                • jackie2008
                  jackie2008Friday, May 4, 2018 at 8:51 am
                  my favorite book series ever can't wait for book 11
                  • jackie2008
                    jackie2008Friday, May 4, 2018 at 8:51 am
                    my heart was beating so fast when hansel and gretel went through the mirror.
                    • ahsu
                      ahsuThursday, March 30, 2017 at 6:42 pm
                      The adventures Abby has with the magic mirror and her brother are literally the BEST!