Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.171378
A hilarious, action-packed New York Times bestselling series launches with a story-within-a-story, from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.

Life is boring when you live in the real world, instead of starring in your own book series. Owen knows that better than anyone, what with the real world’s homework and chores.

But everything changes the day Owen sees the impossible happen—his classmate Bethany climb out of a book in the library. It turns out Bethany’s half-fictional and has been searching every book she can find for her missing father, a fictional character.

Bethany can’t let anyone else learn her secret, so Owen makes her a deal: All she has to do is take him into a book in Owen’s favorite Kiel Gnomenfoot series, and he’ll never say a word. Besides, visiting the book might help Bethany find her father…

…Or it might just destroy the Kiel Gnomenfoot series, reveal Bethany’s secret to the entire world, and force Owen to live out Kiel Gnomenfoot’s final (very final) adventure.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on January 20, 2015 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481409190
ISBN-13: 9781481409193
69 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • superthor
    superthorWednesday, August 26, 2020 at 11:43 am55 stars
    Lemme tell you guys that haven't read story something. If you read this book i guarantee you are gonna want the rest of the series like, immediately. YA'LL SERIOUSLY GOTTA READ THIS BOOK MAN! this book is about a normal kid named Owen. he is a normal kid... that is, until he saw a girl named Bethany. In my opinion, Bethany is kinda bossy and quick about things. Owen seriously has got to be more useful. Well anyways, Bethany gets caught trying to go into a book by Owen, so she makes her a deal; All he has to do is keep quiet and she will let him go into his favorite series, Kiel Gnomenfoot. The whole point of the series is to find Bethany's father, who is missing. It can either go uphill or downhill from there. (Also a VERY VERY special character appears in the later series. Ill give ya'll a hint: He's a total Nobody. You will understand what i mean when u get later into the series😉) Now I've told ya'll a little bit of the book. Now do me a favor and go to your library or wherever you get books and get this book right now (Or whenever you can)
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 6:48 pm55 stars
      This book. This book is the one that started it all. My love for this series started with this precious bok. I love how the author tied in everything, making Story thieves a book in story thieves, which might sound confusing, but it is not if you read the book! My favorite part is the beginning when Owen faints after seeing Bethany's hand disappear inside a book! It was so funny! I hope you guys love this book as much as I did and make sure to read the rest of the series!
      • mnmaurer
        mnmaurerTuesday, April 28, 2020 at 5:24 pm55 stars
        Amazing book! Full of adventure, comedy, and fantasy. Great for readers always wondering what people were hiding and if there was another world like ours. The fictional the to our world brings out a great book. I completely recommend it.
        • bookwave
          bookwaveFriday, February 7, 2020 at 7:16 am55 stars
          This book was AMAZING! I loved the surprise when Owen discovers Bethany's powers and took Keil's place. What happened next was even better. The magister takes Bethany's powers and Owen starts adventuring with Charm. In the end, Owen sacrifices his life and Bethany beats the Magister. I loved the book's twists and turns. 5 out of 5 stars. I recommend this book to kids 9+.
          • unicornnia
            unicornniaThursday, September 12, 2019 at 3:31 pm44 stars
            This book was incredible. The plot had great twists and turns, the adventure ad action is always high, and the characters are super lovable. I can't wait to read the second one!
            • shade256
              shade256Monday, October 8, 2018 at 5:54 am55 stars
              This is a terrific book and I recommend it for 10+. This is because sometimes it can be a bit scary but otherwise i definitley want everyone who can get books from librarys, online, and friends to read it!
              • chety
                chetyTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 10:34 am55 stars
                oh my gosh. i have always loved reading, but this book really got me started. my every spare moment is spent reading.
                • RomanMonday, October 1, 2018 at 7:08 pm
                  The main problem is Bethany is half fictional and has been looking for her father by jumping into books. One of the main events was that Owen changed the ending of the Kiel Gnomefoot book because he saved the Magister by hitting Dr. Verity over the head with a bat. Bethany didn't find her father in this book but Owen believes Nobody could actually be Bethany's father. I gave this book five stars because it makes me laugh and I like the way the characters express their feelings. I'm ready to read the next book in the series!
                  • NobodyWednesday, January 3, 2018 at 9:05 am
                    Such a great book! This book leaves you on the edge of you seat wanting more.
                    • tori3ghoul
                      tori3ghoulMonday, November 27, 2017 at 2:06 pm55 stars
                      Bethany has the power to travel into books and Owen wants in. Ever since her father disappeared on her fourth birthday, Bethany has been looking for him everywhere. Owen tells her he'll help her if he can meet Kiel, his favorite character. But can the fictional world be contained?