Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.171378
A hilarious, action-packed New York Times bestselling series launches with a story-within-a-story, from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.

Life is boring when you live in the real world, instead of starring in your own book series. Owen knows that better than anyone, what with the real world’s homework and chores.

But everything changes the day Owen sees the impossible happen—his classmate Bethany climb out of a book in the library. It turns out Bethany’s half-fictional and has been searching every book she can find for her missing father, a fictional character.

Bethany can’t let anyone else learn her secret, so Owen makes her a deal: All she has to do is take him into a book in Owen’s favorite Kiel Gnomenfoot series, and he’ll never say a word. Besides, visiting the book might help Bethany find her father…

…Or it might just destroy the Kiel Gnomenfoot series, reveal Bethany’s secret to the entire world, and force Owen to live out Kiel Gnomenfoot’s final (very final) adventure.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on January 20, 2015 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481409190
ISBN-13: 9781481409193
66 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookwave
    bookwaveFriday, February 7, 2020 at 7:16 am55 stars
    This book was AMAZING! I loved the surprise when Owen discovers Bethany's powers and took Keil's place. What happened next was even better. The magister takes Bethany's powers and Owen starts adventuring with Charm. In the end, Owen sacrifices his life and Bethany beats the Magister. I loved the book's twists and turns. 5 out of 5 stars. I recommend this book to kids 9+.
    • unicornnia
      unicornniaThursday, September 12, 2019 at 3:31 pm44 stars
      This book was incredible. The plot had great twists and turns, the adventure ad action is always high, and the characters are super lovable. I can't wait to read the second one!
      • shade256
        shade256Monday, October 8, 2018 at 5:54 am55 stars
        This is a terrific book and I recommend it for 10+. This is because sometimes it can be a bit scary but otherwise i definitley want everyone who can get books from librarys, online, and friends to read it!
        • chety
          chetyTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 10:34 am55 stars
          oh my gosh. i have always loved reading, but this book really got me started. my every spare moment is spent reading.
          • RomanMonday, October 1, 2018 at 7:08 pm
            The main problem is Bethany is half fictional and has been looking for her father by jumping into books. One of the main events was that Owen changed the ending of the Kiel Gnomefoot book because he saved the Magister by hitting Dr. Verity over the head with a bat. Bethany didn't find her father in this book but Owen believes Nobody could actually be Bethany's father. I gave this book five stars because it makes me laugh and I like the way the characters express their feelings. I'm ready to read the next book in the series!
            • NobodyWednesday, January 3, 2018 at 9:05 am
              Such a great book! This book leaves you on the edge of you seat wanting more.
              • tori3ghoul
                tori3ghoulMonday, November 27, 2017 at 2:06 pm55 stars
                Bethany has the power to travel into books and Owen wants in. Ever since her father disappeared on her fourth birthday, Bethany has been looking for him everywhere. Owen tells her he'll help her if he can meet Kiel, his favorite character. But can the fictional world be contained?
                • FftddggsxvyrFriday, August 11, 2017 at 8:10 am
                  This series copied the land of stories.
                  • MousieSaturday, June 10, 2017 at 2:45 pm
                    Wow! Such a great book! Owen sees Bethany jump out of a book, and it turns out she's have fictional! Owen and Bethany make a deal that Owen will get to go into his favorite book series while Bethany goes to look for her father. Owen thinks it's great at first, but then it turns bad! Read the book and find out what happens. Truly a wonderful adventure for kids to read.
                    • olliebob
                      olliebobMonday, June 5, 2017 at 7:07 pm55 stars
                      I loved this book! Story Theives is about a boy named Owen and how he meets a girl named Bethany. The twist? She's half fictional! She can jump in and out of books. But when they jump into Owens favorite book, things go wrong. Way wrong! The Magister a character in the book jumps out with them! And that's not even the half of it! Owen has to battle robots, and Bethany has to stop the Magister from releasing all the characters from every book, ever written!!! Can they do it?