Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.528618
The first in a middle-grade action-adventure series from Roland Smith!

Chase Masters and his father are "storm runners," racing across the country in pursuit of hurricanes, tornadoes, and floods. Anywhere bad weather strikes, they are not far behind. Chase is learning more on the road than he ever would just sitting in a classroom. But when the hurricane of the century hits, he will be tested in ways he never could have imagined.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on March 1, 2011 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545081750
ISBN-13: 9780545081757
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mclark2020
    mclark2020Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 6:38 pm44 stars
    I recommend this book to readers who like to be on the edge of their seats. It definitely kept my interest the entire time. It was an intense story of a boy and his father who chase storms.
    • cmansell
      cmansellFriday, January 10, 2020 at 9:46 am44 stars
      This book was pretty good, at the beginning it was kind of bland. The middle was action packed with the storm. To me the end was the best it had more action than the whole book. Chase has many skills, so he was prepared the others only a little. Other than that nothing else, the book was pretty good.
      • ajg16
        ajg16Friday, April 12, 2019 at 7:46 pm44 stars
        2 years ago Chase Masters mom and little sister died in a car wreck. One year ago his father got struck by lightning when he was cleaning up tools Chase left in the yard during an early morning thunderstorm. Ever since that day Chase his father and his father's friend Tomás have lived in the road going to different towns that had (or about to have) been struck by disasters. In the past year Chase has been to 3 different schools and they are heading towards the fourth in Saint Petersburg, Florida. Hurricane Emily is making its way towards the town and chases father is helping prepare while Chase is staying where Tomás brother works a farm...but not any farm, a place where circus animals are kept (like lions, giraffes, elephants, ect.) Anyways, after the storm hits Chase, Nicole (she lives in the farm), and Rashawn (a girl who lives a few miles away from nicole) are on the school bus ride home. But when there bus flips a couple of times into water and they are really on there own in the storm of the century. Great book 1/3 books recommended for ages 11+ thanks for reading Ajg16's reviews
        • brayden33
          brayden33Friday, September 16, 2016 at 7:06 am55 stars
          I decided to read this book because I think that Roland Smith Books are the best so I thought this would be a good book and I was right. Chase would move place to place while his dad was protecting houses from hurricanes until now when they have to face the hardest hurricane yet, Hurricane Emily. Read to find out how Chase and hs dad handle it.
          • Brayden33Friday, September 16, 2016 at 6:43 am
            I enjoyed this book because it keeps you on the edge of your seat with all of the excitement and how Chase helps keep people safe. Leopard on the loose and a huge circus. Read to find out the rest
            • s36666
              s36666Thursday, January 15, 2015 at 7:08 am
              This book has a lot of adventure in it because Chase swims with Alligators, Their is a tiger trapped in the shop, and A leopard that is loose. I think that you should read this because of the adventure that will put you at the edge of your seat.
              • dominick32
                dominick32Wednesday, November 14, 2012 at 2:56 pm44 stars
                this book is really good it has a lot of action and adventure.
                • kanna2001
                  kanna2001Tuesday, December 13, 2011 at 1:37 pm
                  lots action, but not so much at the beginning