Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z4.640202
Amy learned a lot in her babysitting course, but not what to do if two thugs show up, intent on kidnapping. Armed with misinformation and a weapon, the men take Amy and little Kendra to a remote cabin in the woods. There they make videos of the girls and mail them to Kendra’s wealthy parents in an effort to get ransom money. After several of her escape attempts fail, Amy is forced to make one last, desperate move. Award winner Peg Kehret crafts a suspenseful thriller with a spunky heroine who uses her wits to save herself and the toddler.
Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on October 16, 2008 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0525478353
ISBN-13: 9780525478355
50 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • MirihawkWednesday, August 30, 2017 at 7:02 pm
    I just finished reading this book. It is a perfect kidnapping thriller for young readers. I find it so hard to come by this kind of thing, so it was amazing. If you don't know, Peg Kehret is the BEST children's thriller author of all time. I love this book, and the book Abduction. This one is about a 14-year-old girl named Amy, and the child she is babysitting, Kendra (age 3), and then Amy realizes she is gone. Gone. Until she finds someone who can help. That turn out to be the kidnappers. Nope, no more reveals for you! Read it if you wanna find out what happens. :)
    • skyelil
      skyelilThursday, January 26, 2017 at 9:44 am
      I love this book
      • hummingbird1
        hummingbird1Sunday, October 23, 2016 at 5:49 am55 stars
        This is hands down the best Peg Kehret book. If you have read all the other Peg Kehret books, read it. If you have never read a Peg Kehret book, read it. Just trust me. It's a great book. READ IT!!!
        • memoiloveit
          memoiloveitThursday, September 8, 2016 at 3:17 pm44 stars
          This book is unlike others-although it is a realistic fiction book, it is so descriptive and different that it feels like fantasy. I read this book three years ago, but since it's such a vivid book, I can still remember that it was one of my favorite books back then.
          • banderson
            bandersonFriday, May 20, 2016 at 7:56 am55 stars
            Great book
            • ryuFriday, May 13, 2016 at 11:04 pm
              wow!!!
              • kelly4lyfe
                kelly4lyfeSaturday, April 23, 2016 at 2:48 pm
                This book sounds interesting!
                • sloane
                  sloaneWednesday, April 13, 2016 at 11:09 amFeatured
                  Stolen Children by Peg Kehret is one of my new favorite books. Top 5 maybe. The story is realistic fiction. In the story the main character, Amy, is babysitting for the Edgerton's. The Edgerton’s are very orderly. On Amy’s first day of work after she sets Kendra to sleep, she accidentally falls asleep by the pool. While she is sleeping, two guys with a gun show up and kidnap Kendra. Amy wakes up in time to find Kendra in the back of the car. Amy then runs in the house to call the police. One of the guys points a gun at Amy, then kidnaps her too. I wonder why Amy doesn’t signal anything to the people they pass on the freeway. I really liked the part where Amy and Kendra “ran away”. I think that Amy shouldn’t have stayed where she was when she heard the car. She should have grabbed Kendra and ran. Then, when she knew for sure that they were being chased she should camoflage themselves. I have Also read Abandoned also by Peg Kehret. It was also a very good book my brother tried to steal both of the books. (He only succeeded in stealing one). I think that it is a book most people should read. I typically HATE mysteries. I picked up that one and couldn’t put it down. It was so suspenseful. Go Peg Kehret!
                  • Ms.AwesomeThursday, March 24, 2016 at 1:17 pm
                    I really want to read this book!!!!!
                    • cater
                      caterThursday, March 24, 2016 at 8:24 am
                      This book is like the book Abduction by Peg Kehret. You should read both books!