Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.851847
When the Ku Klux Klan’s unwelcome reappearance rattles Stella’s segregated southern town, bravery battles prejudice in this Depression-era tour de force from Sharon Draper, the New York Times bestselling author of Out of My Mind.

Stella lives in the segregated South—in Bumblebee, North Carolina, to be exact about it. Some stores she can go into. Some stores she can’t. Some folks are right pleasant. Others are a lot less so. To Stella, it sort of evens out, and heck, the Klan hasn’t bothered them for years. But one late night, later than she should ever be up, much less wandering around outside, Stella and her little brother see something they’re never supposed to see, something that is the first flicker of change to come, unwelcome change by any stretch of the imagination. As Stella’s community—her world—is upended, she decides to fight fire with fire. And she learns that ashes don’t necessarily signify an end.
Paperback, 352 pages
Published on March 29, 2016 by Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
ISBN-10: 1442494980
ISBN-13: 9781442494985
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kruzingwithk9s
    kruzingwithk9sFriday, July 12, 2019 at 10:33 am55 stars
    Stella is a black girl, in fact her whole village is, white and black go to different schools.. and there are some shops Stella cannot go in. At school, Stella hates writing and is bad at it, but she goes out at night to practice. One night, Stella sees a bunch of white people burning a cross. The Klu Klux Klan. It's not safe to vote if you are black, but Stella's father still does. What should happen to Stella and her family?
    • sweetlemmon
      sweetlemmonSaturday, January 19, 2019 at 7:18 pm55 stars
      Great historical fiction book! If you're looking for a great book, this may be the one for you. I could read it over and over. It's very touching, I wish they made a sequel. Read to be amazed!!!
      • foodreviewz
        foodreviewzSaturday, November 17, 2018 at 9:26 am44 stars
        Stella is so nice! I would compare this to green grapes. They're just like the other color, except not treated right. Well, in 1936. They are just like the other, except appearance wise. Please follow me, I'll follow you back! I comment weekly, always comparing a topic and food. Thanks!
        • bookworm15Thursday, March 22, 2018 at 10:09 am
          I find this book very interesting
          • yeonjae0819
            yeonjae0819Wednesday, August 3, 2016 at 10:43 pm33 stars
            This book has a clear story, which means that the whole story is upon one solid topic about the terrorist group I guess in my words. It would really help you understand the history(?) of this particular topic which I believe would be the KKK. If you have a homework related to this, I recommend you to read this...
            • swifte
              swifteSaturday, July 16, 2016 at 4:47 pm
              LOVE IT
              • lia06
                lia06Tuesday, June 14, 2016 at 4:58 pm
                This was about a time in history when things weren't fair or right but amazing people lived though that time . It a really amazing book if you are about to be in fourth grade.
                • kjtennis
                  kjtennisSaturday, October 17, 2015 at 2:50 am55 stars
                  Stella lives in Bumblebee, North Carolina. Her town has been quiet for all these years until she and her brother spot the Ku Klux Klan just in their backyard! Her town is turned upside down in this wonderfully-written novel by Sharon M. Draper.