Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 8V4.241214
A modern-day classic and New York Times bestseller that celebrates the power of individuality and personal expression from beloved Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli.

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of “Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’ s heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.

Then they turn on her. Stargirl is suddenly shunned for everything that makes her different, and Leo, panicked and desperate with love, urges her to become the very thing that can destroy her: normal. In this celebration of nonconformity, Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli weaves a tense, emotional tale about the perils of popularity and the thrill and inspiration of first love.

Don’t miss the sequel, Love, Stargirl, and Jerry Spinelli’s latest novel, The Warden’s Daughter, about another girl who can't help but stand out.

“Spinelli is a poet of the prepubescent. . . . No writer guides his young characters, and his readers, past these pitfalls and challenges and toward their futures with more compassion.” —The New York Times


From the Hardcover edition.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published on January 4, 2007 by Orchard Books
ISBN-10: 1846165997
ISBN-13: 9781846165993
166 Book Reviews
  • brianbaek33
    brianbaek33Friday, July 9, 2021 at 3:41 am55 stars
    Stargirl is about a school. Leo Bullock has an ordinary life in that school until a girl with amazing abilities comes to the school, Stargirl eventually starts to try to fit in but will it work? And will her relationship with another girl work out? Read Stargirl to find out.🤩🌠(I am from South Korea🇰🇷🇰🇷🇰🇷)
    • dream_beyond
      dream_beyondMonday, July 5, 2021 at 10:00 am55 starsFeatured
      Sometimes, I wish I had the same personality as Stargirl. She shows you that being different is good, and not something to be afraid of. Stargirl is the new kid at Mica High. She always has her ukulele and her pet rat with her, has a wacky sense of style, and is always doing something other people wouldn't do. She also turns into the so called "popular girl"- for a while. Meet Leo, just a regular, normal boy who wants to fit in and be like everyone else. Definitely the opposite of Stargirl. Stargirl and Leo meet in a very..... lets just say in a very unusual way. Their feelings grow for each other, but that is when the walls start to crack. And Stargirl's popularity suddenly vanished and she becomes hated by the whole school. Leo then wants her to be like everyone else, to be normal. But normal was not what Stargirl was meant for. She was meant to show everyone that you don't always have to fit in. Just be yourself. It doesn't matter what everyone else thinks, because everyone is different, and being different is not bad! I love this book a lot, but sometimes, books don't always have the ending you are hoping for! P.S. You might see the same summary again but from someone else but I promise that someone else is me! I wrote it with my own words! I PROMISE!!!
      • dream_beyond
        dream_beyondWednesday, July 7, 2021 at 9:39 am55 stars
        Please ignore the P.S.!
      • wolfy_blue
        wolfy_blueFriday, June 18, 2021 at 7:53 am
        Looks like a good book!
        • thesleepywriter
          thesleepywriterThursday, June 17, 2021 at 12:03 pm55 stars
          so cute but really sad
          • kittylover111
            kittylover111Thursday, June 10, 2021 at 8:38 am44 stars
            Stargirl just moved into Mica, Arizona, a small town in Arizona, and she's already noticed. She's completely different, than other students at the high school. Flower backpacks, a rat, her ukulele, you name it. But to Leo Borlock, she's a good different. At first, people are gossiping about her, and making fun of her, but at one of the football games, she comes out of her shell. She starts cheering, and everyone notices. The next day, Stargirl's the most popular girl, and a cheerleader now. Leo's friend, Archie, from the children's Dino camp, knows Stargirl, and gives him info. It's almost like . . . Leo's fascinated with her? Well, I won't give it all away! Read Stargirl, to find out!
            • bookworm9999
              bookworm9999Tuesday, April 20, 2021 at 3:05 pm11 star
              This book was sooooooooooooooo great! I really like Stargirl, and now my nickname is Pocket Mouse (one of her previous names). The reason that I put one star is that I hate the ending. I will not say it for those who have not read it, but I will say this: it changes the whole way you look at it.
              • kittylover111
                kittylover111Thursday, June 10, 2021 at 8:35 am44 stars
                If you liked it, how come only one star?
                • starlord_luvr
                  starlord_luvrFriday, June 11, 2021 at 11:59 am
                  She said it was because of the ending
                  • kittylover111
                    kittylover111Friday, June 11, 2021 at 12:38 pm44 stars
                    Oh! Okay
              • red_rasberry007
                red_rasberry007Thursday, February 25, 2021 at 11:50 am33 stars
                "She was elusive. She was today. She was tomorrow. She was the faintest scent of a cactus flower, the flitting shadow of an elf owl." As Roxanne3 said. This was a beautiful book it's hard to explain words, though. This was an amazing way to pass my time, and it helped me build my vocabulary.
                • fairytale574
                  fairytale574Thursday, February 25, 2021 at 10:13 am55 stars
                  Oh this book is great Jerry Spinelli's Stargirl is great I like how Stargirl expresses herself and I play the ukulele too!!
                  • roxanne3
                    roxanne3Thursday, February 25, 2021 at 9:53 am55 stars
                    "She was elusive. She was today. She was tomorrow. She was the faintest scent of a cactus flower, the flitting shadow of an elf owl." Jerry Spinelli wove a beautiful story. It's hard to explain in words, you really must feel the story. There's something about this book that can settle deep into your bones, and change you forever. It sure did for me. This is a book I could read every day for years, and never get tired of it. There's always more- more small details, more beautiful poetry, more lessons to learn. This is the book that changed my life and made me see the world from a different perspective!! Everyone needs to try Stargirl, and if it's not for you, that's fine. But really, pay attention to the small things, to the words, to the feelings you get from the book. Think about how you can be like Stargirl, and think about how you're not like Stargirl. Remember to be yourself <3
                    • yena-marie
                      yena-marieFriday, January 22, 2021 at 11:11 am
                      I've read this book before!!! I loved it