Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 8V4.241214
A modern-day classic and New York Times bestseller that celebrates the power of individuality and personal expression from beloved Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli.

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of “Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’ s heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.

Then they turn on her. Stargirl is suddenly shunned for everything that makes her different, and Leo, panicked and desperate with love, urges her to become the very thing that can destroy her: normal. In this celebration of nonconformity, Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli weaves a tense, emotional tale about the perils of popularity and the thrill and inspiration of first love.

Don’t miss the sequel, Love, Stargirl, and Jerry Spinelli’s latest novel, The Warden’s Daughter, about another girl who can't help but stand out.

“Spinelli is a poet of the prepubescent. . . . No writer guides his young characters, and his readers, past these pitfalls and challenges and toward their futures with more compassion.” —The New York Times


From the Hardcover edition.
Mass Market Paperback, 208 pages
Published on May 11, 2004 by Laurel Leaf
ISBN-10: 0440416779
ISBN-13: 9780440416777
157 Book Reviews
  • bookworm9999
    bookworm9999Tuesday, April 20, 2021 at 3:05 pm11 star
    This book was sooooooooooooooo great! I really like Stargirl, and now my nickname is Pocket Mouse (one of her previous names). The reason that I put one star is that I hate the ending. I will not say it for those who have not read it, but I will say this: it changes the whole way you look at it.
    • red_rasberry007
      red_rasberry007Thursday, February 25, 2021 at 11:50 am33 stars
      "She was elusive. She was today. She was tomorrow. She was the faintest scent of a cactus flower, the flitting shadow of an elf owl." As Roxanne3 said. This was a beautiful book it's hard to explain words, though. This was an amazing way to pass my time, and it helped me build my vocabulary.
      • fairytale574
        fairytale574Thursday, February 25, 2021 at 10:13 am55 stars
        Oh this book is great Jerry Spinelli's Stargirl is great I like how Stargirl expresses herself and I play the ukulele too!!
        • roxanne3
          roxanne3Thursday, February 25, 2021 at 9:53 am55 stars
          "She was elusive. She was today. She was tomorrow. She was the faintest scent of a cactus flower, the flitting shadow of an elf owl." Jerry Spinelli wove a beautiful story. It's hard to explain in words, you really must feel the story. There's something about this book that can settle deep into your bones, and change you forever. It sure did for me. This is a book I could read every day for years, and never get tired of it. There's always more- more small details, more beautiful poetry, more lessons to learn. This is the book that changed my life and made me see the world from a different perspective!! Everyone needs to try Stargirl, and if it's not for you, that's fine. But really, pay attention to the small things, to the words, to the feelings you get from the book. Think about how you can be like Stargirl, and think about how you're not like Stargirl. Remember to be yourself <3
          • yena-marie
            yena-marieFriday, January 22, 2021 at 11:11 am
            I've read this book before!!! I loved it
            • artsysunflower3
              artsysunflower3Thursday, January 21, 2021 at 8:35 pm55 stars
              So good!! Be yourself....and don't be embarrassed when you are!!! My friend on my softball team will probably dance in front of 100 people without being embarrassed!!.be yourself!!
              • girlpower4ever
                girlpower4everTuesday, November 3, 2020 at 1:41 pm55 starsFeatured
                Jerry Spinelli's description is absolutely unbelievable. "Stargirl" is a tapestry of words and spaces and ink, conglomerating into a sensory masterpiece. The book follows a Mica High student named Leo Borlock, who has long accustomed himself to the social conformity of his school. But when Stargirl, a new student with fluttering silks, a guitar, and a rat arrives at Mica High, the status quo begins to shift. Everyone is attracted to Stargirl's antics - at first. But after she goes too far, the students begin to turn on her, and Leo - hopelessly in love - urges her to become more "normal," despite how much he loves her for who she is. A beautiful, lavishly-worded story about prepubescent feelings and being true to yourself.
                • KkkkkkTuesday, October 27, 2020 at 3:57 pm
                  it is good so far I have not read the whole thing though.
                  • thistle912
                    thistle912Friday, October 16, 2020 at 9:05 am44 starsFeatured
                    When I was in fourth grade, my teacher assigned this book for me to read. At first, I didn’t think it would be my piece of chocolate cake—I wasn’t sure whether Stargirl would be the right read for me. But as soon as I read the first five chapters, I was hooked. It’s amazing how Jerry Spinelli can take just a few strands of loose thread but weave it into something magical. As usual, his writing did not disappoint, and I feel like this was one of his best books! Summary: Mica High School is divided into two sections; The Hillari Kimbles and the Wayne Parrs. Hillari and Wayne are the ones everyone looks up to and wants to be. Sixteen-year-old Leo is somewhere in between all the “popularity tiers”, an ordinary teenager starting his sophomore year. But when new student who goes by the name of Stargirl comes to Mica High, his life is catapulted into strangeness and oblivion. Stargirl’s not one of the “typical” high schoolers. She has a pet rat, gives people ukulele serenades, and somehow knows everyone’s birthdays. As more and more people start to shun her because of her differences, Leo might be the only friend she has. Overall, I really liked this book, and rate it 4/5 stars. I recommend it for readers who like to find themselves surprised by a truly good book. This dazzling tale will surely enthrall fans of Jerry Spinelli, or people who read realistic fiction!
                    • sydney_zepp
                      sydney_zeppFriday, September 4, 2020 at 1:40 pm55 stars
                      I loved this book! It's about a homeschool girl who goes to public school for a year and everyone thinks she's odd, but she's also extremely nice! She plays the ukulele (so do I, I'm also homeshooled, but have never been to public school) and has a pet rat.