Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 8V4.241214
A modern-day classic and New York Times bestseller that celebrates the power of individuality and personal expression from beloved Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli.

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of “Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’ s heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.

Then they turn on her. Stargirl is suddenly shunned for everything that makes her different, and Leo, panicked and desperate with love, urges her to become the very thing that can destroy her: normal. In this celebration of nonconformity, Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli weaves a tense, emotional tale about the perils of popularity and the thrill and inspiration of first love.

Don’t miss the sequel, Love, Stargirl, and Jerry Spinelli’s latest novel, The Warden’s Daughter, about another girl who can't help but stand out.

“Spinelli is a poet of the prepubescent. . . . No writer guides his young characters, and his readers, past these pitfalls and challenges and toward their futures with more compassion.” —The New York Times


From the Hardcover edition.
Mass Market Paperback, 208 pages
Published on May 11, 2004 by Laurel Leaf
ISBN-10: 0440416779
ISBN-13: 9780440416777
141 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • wewokire-158265321286
    wewokire-158265321286Wednesday, April 1, 2020 at 12:19 pm
    Stargirl is a romantic and funny novel by Jerry Spinelli.This book will make you wonder why and will make you want to know whats going to happen next.I recommend you to read this book.Why because it will entertan you and make you want to read more.
    • botakejo-158265318266
      botakejo-158265318266Sunday, March 22, 2020 at 3:35 pm55 stars
      The book Stargirl is an amazing story about a girl named Susan a.k.a Stargirl. She is different in many ways. She sings happy birthday to everybody in the lunch room on their birthday and she cheers for the other team when they score a goal. I loved the book Stargirl, but the movie not so much. The book is an astonishing adventure about being different. Leo,is Stargirl boyfriend and he wants her to be a little more normal like everybody else. She didn't want to so Leo said "nobody likes you" and Stargirl changed into Susan. I LOVED THIS BOOK!
      • shinebright
        shinebrightThursday, March 19, 2020 at 2:36 pm
        I've not read it- but it sounds cool! Who is Leo?
        • myhevoro-158265317664
          myhevoro-158265317664Thursday, March 19, 2020 at 1:41 pm
          Stargirl is an amazing book with many themes within it. If I had to rate it out of ten I would give it a ten. It is about a girl who is unique. She goes to a completely ordinary high school called Mica High where every girl follows Hillary Kimble and every boy follows Wayne Parr. One of the things she does is go around dancing on tables and singing happy birthday to people everyday. Mica High has never won a football game, which is exactly why she is their good luck charm. People actually started to like her, until they didn't. She cheered for the other basketball team and then everyone hated her. She also fell in love with a boy named Leo. They were a perfect couple. They both got shunned though. Leo's best friend Kevin kept asking him to ask Stargirl if she wanted to be on the Hot Seat. That's the show Leo and Kevin were both in charge of. Well Stargirl agreed and after that traumatic experience it was for sure that everyone was really angry at her. Except for Leo, although he did ask her to change. So she did and that's when she became Susan. She dressed like everyone else. She also ate whatever other ordinary people ate. But then she couldn't stand it she wasn't who she was. She knew she needed to be Stargirl. So she went back to being Stargirl. At the Ocotillo ball people started to realize that they were following the wrong people. So they started dancing with Stargirl and had so much fun. Then Hillary got mad and slapped Stargirl, then Stargirl kissed her gently on the cheek and no one ever saw Stargirl again.
          • animereina25
            animereina25Monday, February 10, 2020 at 12:36 pm44 stars
            It is so interesting when you stand out! Well, so does this girl, Stargirl that is! She stands out from the highschool! But the ending is wicked twisted...
            • roxanne3
              roxanne3Friday, January 17, 2020 at 7:22 pm44 stars
              this is one of my all time favorites, I love how she changes her name whenever she thinks it is a good time to, when she "grows out" of it.
              • roxanne3
                roxanne3Friday, January 17, 2020 at 7:17 pm44 stars
                I think this is such a great book, it might be one of my favorites, and trust me I have read a lot!!! I must have read it at least 4 times, when I am not stuck in another book. I am in the middle of the second book, Love Stargirl right now and I love the point if view, the way it is written in Stargirl's letters. I love this book, and I think it is great for any age!
                • ElJaySunday, September 15, 2019 at 9:50 am
                  Stargirl is now one of my favorite books.It can relate to so many kids.It can give kids more confidence to stand out and really be themselves.Leo, the introvert built up so much confidence throughout the story when he became friends with Stargirl. This book is the best.
                  • aly_spoon675
                    aly_spoon675Tuesday, May 7, 2019 at 2:00 pm55 stars
                    Many people will say a book will change your life. This one really will! I have never read such an incredible book before. An odd girl moves to a town with the name of Stargirl. She is different from all the other girls and many people don't like this about her. She eventually learns to just be herself without worrying about others. This is a truly incredible book of her journey that I think many people can relate to, many kids can feel odd and different, but this book encourages and inspires many to be their selves. It is unlike any book I have read before and I encourage everyone to read it!
                    • lightninggirl
                      lightninggirlTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 10:14 am55 stars
                      I read this in seventh grade for a class assignment. Following this, I read Love Stargirl, and was upset with the ending. It was a fantastic book don't get me wrong, but the ending left me wanting more.