Star Wars: Jedi Academy, Return of the Padawan (Book 2)

Book 2 of 4 in the Jedi Academy Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.214153
Author/illustrator Jeffrey Brown returns in the highly anticipated sequel to the NY Times Bestseller Star Wars: Jedi Academy!

It's time to return to middle school in a galaxy far, far away. . . .

After surviving his first year at Jedi Academy, Roan Novachez thought his second year would be a breeze. He couldn't have been more wrong. Roan feels like he's drifting apart from his friends, and it's only made worse when Roan discovers he's not the amazing pilot he thought he'd be. When the school bullies take him under their wing, he decides they aren't so bad after all--or are they?

This year, Roan will have to face alien poetry tests, menacing robots, food fights, flight simulation class, online bullies, more lightsaber duels, and worst of all . . . a girl who is mad at him.

This incredible, original story captures all of the humor, awkwardness, fun, and frustrations of middle school--all told through one boy's comics, journal entries, letters, sketches, e-mails, and more.
Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on July 29, 2014 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545621259
ISBN-13: 9780545621250
23 Book Reviews
  • horse123456
    horse123456Sunday, February 28, 2021 at 8:58 am44 stars
    So cool. I just finished re-reading it!
    • adonikus
      adonikusSunday, January 10, 2021 at 8:31 am55 stars
      This is an incredible book i have read every book in the series except attack of the furball I love this series
      • LolaHarrington2Saturday, June 6, 2020 at 2:09 am
        My sister loves this book
        • marrigold137
          marrigold137Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at 5:28 pm44 stars
          I thought this book was funny. The fact that he was starting to be meaner and wearing dark robes was starting to worry me for a bit . Was he going to go to the dark side? I was relived at the end of the book.
          • brawlstarschamp
            brawlstarschampSunday, May 26, 2019 at 9:59 pm55 stars
            This is probably the book I've read most this year! Roan is feeling good about his second year at Jedi Academy. But things get complicated when his best friend does not like him anymore.
            • power224
              power224Monday, January 29, 2018 at 5:13 pm
              i love your star wars book they are amasing
              • hejyhexeza
                hejyhexezaWednesday, November 29, 2017 at 6:18 am55 stars
                In a far far far away galaxy everyone thought this was the best book ever
                • comanderkitten
                  comanderkittenTuesday, February 28, 2017 at 9:13 am55 stars
                  book is cool and amazing
                  • jakerbaker02
                    jakerbaker02Thursday, October 20, 2016 at 7:26 am
                    Roan continues his journey to jedi academy who knows maybe he will become a starfighter pilot
                    • StevenFriday, April 1, 2016 at 11:21 pm
                      I like this book but I wonder what if Bruce Lee was in it