Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.361192
Like many kids, Ben Ripley imagines life as a secret agent would be pretty awesome -- so when he learns he's been recruited to the C.I.A.'s top secret Academy of Espionage, it sounds too good to be true. And it is. From the moment he arrives -- and ends up in the middle of an enemy attack -- Ben finds Spy School is going to be far more difficult, dastardly and dangerous than he expected. Even worse, he soon discovers that he hasn't been recruited to become a top agent; instead, he's been brought in as bait to catch a devious double agent. Now, Ben needs a crash course in espionage so that he can catch the mole, prove his worth -- and get the girl. It won't be easy, but it'll be a very fun -- and very funny -- ride.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on April 2, 2013 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442421835
ISBN-13: 9781442421837
141 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jb9
    jb9Saturday, October 24, 2020 at 5:35 am44 stars
    This is such a great book and book series and you should really read this book and this series. 2020
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 5:13 pm55 stars
      The Spy School series is about spies, obviously. Ben is the main character. He has been recruited to a spy espionage to take down an evil organization called SPYDER, and he has help. Erica is the legendary daughter of famous spies, and is the best there is. Together, she and Ben have to take down this organization and stop their evil ways. I liked this book and can't wait for the next book to come out!
      • squirrelflight
        squirrelflightSunday, August 2, 2020 at 2:07 pm44 stars
        Ben Ripley has always dreamed about being a spy—don’t you?—but he never thought it would actually happen. Well, imagine the surprise on his face when a CIA agent came to his house! Soon, this completely ordinary twelve-year-old is recruited for...yes indeed, a spy school! But of course, it’s top secret, and as far as everyone else knows, he’s attending a science academy for boys and girls. Sound boring? Ben definitely thinks so. But when he finally starts spy school, it’s anything but boring—in fact, it’s action-packed, a bit strange, and more than a bit terrifying. Instead of learning math and reading, the kids learn how to shoot guns and get out of life-or-death situations. Soon, Ben starts to reconsider his decision to attend the spy school...because secrets lie in wait. On his first day, he’s bullied and disappointed with the school—and to make matters worse, someone—an evil someone—sends an assassin to his dorm room! Here, survival is at stake. Can he stay alive? Read this book to find out!
        • starsabove
          starsaboveSunday, July 19, 2020 at 7:10 pm55 stars
          When Ben Ripley founds himself in a spy school, he does what he did best in middle school-survive without any problems. This plan turned out to be a bust when SPIDER (group of terrorists) attack. Yay to a new start I guess?
          • demigod3000
            demigod3000Wednesday, June 17, 2020 at 4:16 pm44 stars
            This book is great for any kid who ever dreamed of being a secret agent. Spy School tells the story of young Ben Ripley as his dream to be a spy comes true, only for him to realize, he's not that great at it. As the plot progresses, we learn that him being there might be a mistake and he has to prove that he deserves a spot. We also get to meet an amazing cast of characters, including Erica Hale, an amazing and extremely competent student and spy who is a great role model for boys and girls out in the world. This book was super great, and I enjoyed reading it!
            • pondla
              pondlaMonday, June 1, 2020 at 2:28 pm
              This book is very funny and it makes you want to read it again. I am starting Spy Camp. I strongly recommend this book.
              • sylvie55555
                sylvie55555Friday, May 29, 2020 at 7:30 am55 stars
                This book is written by the author Stuart Gibbs. 12 year old Ben Ripley leads a normal life. That is, until the CIA legend Alexander Hale appears in his living room and offers him training to be in the CIA. Ben accepts and is quickly whisked off to the training camp for the CIA or “Spy School”. Starting the moment that Ben arrives weird and suspicious things start to happen. With the help of Erica, the star student of Spy School, Ben sets out to find the secrets of Spy School, and the real reason Ben was asked to join Spy School.This book makes you laugh, because there is a lot of funny parts.This book makes you think of the world a different way, especially when the author describes everyday things, like the Washington Monument, in a completely different way. You would like this book if you like mysteries, with a side of humor. Read the book to find out more! Happy Reading!
                • bookfan2008
                  bookfan2008Saturday, May 2, 2020 at 3:05 pm55 stars
                  I really like this series! It's amazing! It's about a boy named Ben Ripley. He's a spy and he goes to spy school. But it's kinda like an undercover one, tha'ts cause the parents think it's a science school. usally most of the time he get's within some trouble with his enemy spyder group! I recomend this!
                  • pennsylvania
                    pennsylvaniaWednesday, March 18, 2020 at 9:10 am55 stars
                    This book is a good book for kids 7 and up. This book is full of funny jokes and pranks. Pranks may include making the President’s son wet his pants. Main characters: Ben The Hale family Ben’s friends Story summary: First, they are in the library when Zoe comes in and says Spyder is back (Spyder is an evil organization).Next, they figure out Spyder is plotting to assassinate the president so Ben (the main character) gets put on the case, but Spyder put a bomb in Ben’s jacket so when he investigates the President it explodes. Then, Ben quickly throws the jacket in the oval office. After that, he gets blamed for trying to kill the President (who is ok), but Ben gets arrested, but he gets away and gets his friends to help him figure out that the plot was really to kill the Joint Chiefs chairmen (who is an undercover agent for Spyder), so now Spyder has control of the nuclear weapons. Last, Ben stops their plans, gets a medal, and makes the President’s son wet his pants.
                    • bookfan2008
                      bookfan2008Saturday, January 25, 2020 at 6:23 pm55 stars
                      I loved this book I read the whole spy school series and all of the funjungle books!